KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Out-U-Go!

Is this your company?

Out-U-Go!

Add a Review

Out-U-Go! Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 of over 25 reviews

2.4
28%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Out-U-Go! CEO David Lipschultz
David Lipschultz
2 Ratings
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Awful Exploitative Job

    Jul 1, 2021 - Dog Walker in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    cute dogs, cats, other pets. biked a lot

    Cons

    abysmal pay, no health insurance, did not care when I got bitten by a cat and it got infected, required me to have a working bike and smartphone but I had to pay for all of it out of pocket, $6/walk should be illegal!!!!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Dog walker

    Jan 22, 2021 - Pet Sitter/Dog Walker in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay the most for house sitting compared to any other dog walking company I have worked with. And most of the management is nice.

    Cons

    You make no money. It’s $6 every twenty five minute walk but that doesn’t include your transportation time and the travel time to get the keys. Which you have to grab new keys at least every day or every other day. It’s almost impossible to get a full schedule unless you have a car. But the parking situation is always a struggle, so if your looking for 15 minutes for parking you don’t get paid for that. Plus you don’t get reimbursement for wear and tear/gas for the car. So you maybe will make $8-9 an hour if you are lucky. And most of the time you are only working a full schedule for 4 hours. Which is spread out throughout the day. It is also frustrating that they charge a decent amount towards the customer and yet the walkers make no money. So if you want this as your full time job, I do not recommend it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Out-U-Go Experience

    Mar 11, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours and relatively simple work.

    Cons

    Low compensation and no benefits

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I absolutely loved this job!

    Jan 8, 2020 - Dog Walker and Pet Sitter in Downers Grove, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved working with dogs, cats and other house pets. Co-workers, boss and clients were amazing! I loved getting extra exercise, kisses and cuddles from pups. I also loved seeing this job from the inside. Not only did I love working for them they are the only ones I would trust with my home and pets. I liked that you're employee not a contractor like other companies.

    Cons

    Not being paid for milage.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Not the best job.... but the managers are amazing!

    Aug 15, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work outside, dog walk discounts, love the pups

    Cons

    Barely paid, understaffed, no benefits

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Stay Away.

    Mar 4, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Seeing animals all day, discounted dog walks.

    Cons

    No benefits even for salaried employees, no room for growth, poor pay, no leadership or compassion from owner.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    incredibly supportive and flexible

    Jul 29, 2018 - Pet Sitter in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The office team (Chicago location) is always available to help you while you are out in the field. They check-in on your well being and are really understanding of travel issues, dealing with different dog and cat personalities, time off needed, and general inquiries. Great communication.

    Cons

    Travel time is not compensated for and it can really add up! Sometimes it felt like I am always on call, hard to make enough money to take any days off, burnout was always immanent.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Loved the work

    Jul 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with the animals and their owners

    Cons

    Not paid very much for how much the clients are charged. Can be asked to drive far.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    IT'S A TRAP!

    Jan 18, 2018 - Pet Sitter in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a wonderful place if you truly love dogs and cats and don't care at all about pay. You meet some truly wonderful animals and some wonderful pet owners as well; I have made some lasting friendships with a handful of clients that I met on the job. So, if you really love hanging out with dogs and cats all day, and have your own disposable source of income, this is ideal for you. This would be the ONLY scenario in which I would suggest working here, because this is NOT a job that will pay you a decent working wage by any stretch of the imagination.

    Cons

    Where do I start... 1. The PAY vs. what they charge clients. This is an absolute joke. You are paid on average $7 for a visit that the client is charged upwards of $20 for. You are not paid per hour, but rather per visit. You drive using your own vehicle to these visits and are not reimbursed for gas or distance traveled regardless of how far out of your way you go. 2. House-sitting/ Overnight Stays- a client is charged $90 on a per-night basis for a sitter to stay at their home and care for their pet. The sitter themselves, (you know, the ones who do ALL the work during this stay) are paid a measly $35 per night. Please explain to me how this is fair for the employee who is the one actually caring for the animals when the company pockets $55 per night for, essentially, SCHEDULING the visit. Pathetic. Every client who found out about that pay structure were horrified when I told them. Thankfully the clients are usually so thunderstruck by this highway robbery that they will leave you a good tip. You know, for actually working. 3. Taking employee safety into account- there is none of that. They will send you on visits with scared or improperly trained animals that will attempt to bite you without any warning of what you are walking into. They will brush off your requests not to be sent to visit certain animals and bend the the every whim of demanding pet owners, however damaging they may be to employee doing the visit. 4. Scheduling- you won't know your schedule more than a day in advance, leaving no opportunity for scheduling second jobs or plans outside of work. They demand perfect performance in attendance, meaning that you must begin and end every visit within a time window and if you stray outside of that for any reason (even if the animal required extra care or there was a problem) not only are you not paid for this extra time, but you get REAMED for going over. All this to make a whopping $7. What a joke. 5. AND FINALLY- the "report cards." These are mandatory slips that are left at the end of each visit updating the pet owner on how the visit went and generally what happened during the sitter's time there. It makes sense from every angle until they tell you that no matter what happens on a visit, be it good or bad, you must stay upbeat and positive and say only wonderful things. This includes if the animal was aggressive, or difficult to control, or had explosive diarrhea. You keep the pet owner completely in the dark and lie and say what a fantastic time you had. Supposedly the office staff will reach out to the owners with any real concerns that a sitter might have, but the proof of that was nonexistent, as most problems that I brought up were swept under the rug or never addressed at all.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Terrible pay!

    Sep 19, 2017 - Dog Sitter in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    there are no pros

    Cons

    Terrible pay, sleazy managers who sit at their desk all day watching videos on YouTube and watch you on webcams set up in houses. Turn over rate is terrible! $7 a visit when they charge over $20 to the consumer. Should be considered a scam. Out-U-Go more stands for how many sisters go out the door and leave the company...

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

Popular Careers with Out-U-Go! Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Out-U-Go!? Share Your Experiences

Out-U-Go! logo
or