Ovative/group Reviews | Glassdoor

Ovative/group Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Ovative/group CEO Dale Nitschke (no image)
Dale Nitschke
26 Ratings
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ovative/group full-time

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers and environment

    Cons

    Long hours, especially during the winter holiday months

    Ovative/group2019-02-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start out of college. Not as great for experienced hires."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ovative/group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Nice new office. The actual office is a bit sterile in my opinion but the workspace itself is great and the rooftop is fantastic. - The CEO (Dale) is hands on and cares a lot about his employees. The company generally treats its employees well. Benefits are good, pay can be very good (and sometimes bad, see cons) - If you're fresh out of school or relatively young, you'll probably have a good time. There's... an almost frat/sorority like environment which is common among younger agencies. But there's enough professionalism to where its not too overbearing. I personally didn't care all that much about having beer on tap or having a ping pong table but I can appreciate that some people like that sort of thing. - Ovative (at least when I was there) is growing pretty rapidly. We usually hit our bonus targets and got full (or nearly full) bonus payouts. - If you want to make a career out of working in marketing, this is a good place to put on your resume.

    Show More

    Cons

    - There are tons of downsides to rapid growth and Ovative is experiencing all of them. A lot of people are in senior management roles that have no business there. Good people management skills aren't really cultivated and sustainable business practices aren't really pursued. It's still very much an attitude built around rapid growth and addressing short term needs without any thought to long term strategy and growth.... - The client base is still heavily focused on retail which is a problem as brick and mortar retail is still on a downward trajectory. - Lets talk about the engineering side of the business. Ovative is simultaneously trying to be an agency and an IT provider. I applaud the boldness of the vision but the execution on MAP is beyond awful. Far from building a product that will turn into a future profit center, MAP remains a massive loss leader and there's no sign of that changing. Everything is focused on keeping the system alive rather than actually building a long term solution that will work and fit the company's vision. - To further this problem, none of the leadership has any understanding of technology. That's fine as the leadership primarily comes from a marketing background. But the fact that the leadership doesn't acknowledge this as a problem or attempt to install a CTO (who has a software background) that can lead the engineering side of the business is a problem. - Pay can be all over the place. I think new joiners get relatively equal starting salaries but the work that they do can vary dramatically and pay should reflect that. Raises tend to follow equal trajectories as well. Really this hurts the data scientists and developers more than anyone else. On the flip side, the pay can vary quite dramatically at higher levels which gives experienced hires the opportunity to make good money. - Get used to meetings. There's no concept of delegation and empowering people to own pieces of work. Everyone meets constantly to litigate every decision and to create opportunities to provide "feedback." Also one downside to this is that it makes it really hard to work from home. Ovative isn't good at successfully managing meetings where people aren't there in person. Also in general there are too many meetings that don't result in an actual outcome. - Similarly, expect the same sort of thing when it comes to management. The culture essentially embraces micromanagement. You'll be asked 8 different ways what you're doing to address a particular project or problem and good luck if your manager doesn't understand the type of work you do. You'll get stuck trying to explain work that they don't have any background on. - Lastly, Ovative has the mindset that smart people can do anything which is largely true. But there are exceptions. You can't keep rotating the same group of people into different roles and just expecting things to just magically work. There needs to be some respect for tangible skills in a given area. This is most pronounced when Ovative moves people with no tech background into one of the MAP teams but you see this elsewhere as well.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Empower your employees. Ovative loves saying things like"fearlessly unlocking potential" but that remains nothing more than a catchy slogan. Stop micromanaging and start letting people do their jobs. - Separate the MAP teams and hire an actual technology leader to run the group. What Ovative is doing doesn't work and needs to stop. If you want MAP to be a core part of the business, invest in outside... technology leadership and give them the opportunity to succeed. - Just do some self-reflection. Ovative is a great company with some great leadership but there are challenges and they require solutions larger than just moving a few people around. The people who got you this far can't be the solution to everything going forward. Growth brings new challenges that require specialized skills and a cultural evolution.

    Show More
    Ovative/group2019-08-06
  3. "Highly talented people doing awesome things!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ovative/group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of deep expertise in performance media, strategy consulting and advanced analytics. Very fun culture, President is awesome. The senior leaders genuinely want to be the best and have the best employees!

    Cons

    Very little opportunity outside of performance and retail and that is where the expertise and growth is. Unless you grew up at Ovative or came from similar background it’s tough to move forward in your career if you have different experience.

    Advice to Management

    Keep having fun, but also find new ways to empower your middle managers. Deepen transparency practice to include more human conversations at every level.

    Ovative/group2019-03-25
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Happiness is Mandated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ovative/group full-time

    Pros

    If you are a young professional you could definitely learn the trade and get a resume started before you move on to somewhere more freeing. If you like to get drunk you should work here- lots of free booze all the time.

    Cons

    Very cult mindset- there is lots of rigidity. I'd say that many managers are not open to change except within a small range which is causing friction. During onboarding i was very optimistic that i had found an open and fearless culture but it became quickly apparent that the theory of an open culture was more important than practice. One of my managers (expect to be cross managed and report to multiple people)... heard that i had critical feedback for him from another of my managers (something that should have been held in confidence) and from there on the relationship became retaliatory. The model employee here is a yes man who will work more than 45 hours a week for market rate pay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you dictate that "happiness" be a company value then you are impeding your crew from bringing their whole selves to work and contributing to a "yes man" culture. People can crush it while feeling and showing emotions other than happiness, and will in fact be more productive without needing to mask those emotions because Happiness is Mandated

    Ovative/group2019-03-07
  5. "Great Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ovative/group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have worked here for 2 years now and my career development surpasses any experience I've had in the past. Great leadership with a focus on growth, employee trust, and talent development. Competitive pay and amazing benefits.

    Cons

    Average employee works about 45-50 hour weeks

    Ovative/group2019-01-21
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Not Worth It for Experienced Professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ovative/group full-time

    Pros

    If you join as a recent college grad or a young professional with little to no experience you will learn the digital trade quickly and make good money. The environment is very frat-like so you may do well if you come from that world. Plenty of booze and snacks in the office and weekly pep rallies. The bonuses are solid. Its also nice working on name brand clients that you care about. To be fair I don't know much... about the engineering side of the house so the culture might not be so inclined to lick boot.

    Show More

    Cons

    I've never been more micromanaged in a professional workplace. The belief that micromanagement springs efficiency is rooted into the minds of too many leaders at this company. I tried discussing this at all levels and they don't care. Expect manager meetings where they "coach" you on how to make a three hour task into two hours. While working remotely, managers will watch your status "lights" on slack and skype to... make sure you are active. They would send me the same message over multiple mediums within minutes if I wasn't fielding requests in real time. Most of the reasons that I joined this company either turned out not to be true or were eroded very quickly as they are in a major change period. I think the biggest thing for me was that I was under-hired for my experience level and had no ways to make changes I believed in. Most lower level employees are fresh out of school and have no expectation of autonomy, which makes dissent more pointless.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Dissolve the two sides of house so that engineers can meet team needs in a dedicated fashion. Take action when you have feedback about your leaders.

    Ovative/group2019-01-14
  7. "Great culture, inexperienced and ineffective management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ovative/group

    Pros

    Culture CEO is an incredible guy Pay is competitive People are mostly great New office Coffee + snacks Performance based work

    Cons

    Management is inexperienced and it shows. Clients are hit and miss. Most aren’t doing well generally, so it is extremely difficult to hit their goals no matter how well you perform. Too many interns/analysts are hired at one time. Promotions appear political.

    Advice to Management

    Work on hiring experienced managers. Especially ones that have had subordinates vouch for their development skills.

    Ovative/group2019-01-12
  8. "Long days and nights"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ovative/group full-time

    Pros

    Smart people who do smart work.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is non-existent.

    Ovative/group2018-12-05
  9. "Analyst Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ovative/group full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers and a fun but hardworking atmosphere.

    Cons

    Staffing and work doesn't always balance between groups.

    Ovative/group2018-09-16
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ovative/group full-time

    Pros

    Hands on experience with clients

    Cons

    Expected to do all outside work activities

    Ovative/group2018-08-09
Found 33 reviews