Ovative/group Reviews

Updated Mar 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Ovative/group CEO and Founder Dale Nitschke (no image)
Dale Nitschke
29 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company

    Mar 4, 2021 - SEO/SEM Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good support system and feeedback

    Cons

    a bit overwhelming at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Ovative Group

    Mar 1, 2021 - Digital Marketing Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company culture, exciting work, and smart, hardworking people!

    Cons

    I love working for Ovative!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ovative/group Response

    Senior Analyst

    Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience working at Ovative! We pride ourselves on our culture, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. We are thrilled that you are enjoying your time at Ovative and we wish you continued success!

  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Unsustainable Workload

    Feb 1, 2021 - Senior Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun parties, lots of untraditional perks like free parking & snacks.

    Cons

    People do not want to help others because it is a constant fight to the top. Managers/Management/Directors made me feel like nothing I did was good enough and that I wasn't providing smart ideas. Micromanaging is out of control here. You are really on your own, and if you ask for help people think you are incapable. Pay is LOW, and hours worked is very high.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Ovative/group Response

    Senior Analyst

    Hello, thank you for sharing this constructive feedback with us on your experience working at Ovative. We strive to provide our team members with the encouragement, support, and tools they need to be successful and achieve a healthy balance between work and personal time. We apologize if your experience did not match your expectations. We encourage you to reach out to our Talent Operations team to discuss any ongoing issues. Thank you!

  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Pretty good

    Jan 20, 2021 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company great people fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times

    1 person found this review helpful

    Ovative/group Response

    Senior Analyst

    Hello! Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We pride ourselves on our culture, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. We are thrilled that you are enjoying your time at Ovative and wish you continued success!

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Know what you're getting into

    Oct 13, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    High energy, employee perks (snacks, drinks, events) good location, paid parking. Sit/stand desks for everyone. Fun interaction on slack channels and (pre/post covid) great company events.

    Cons

    Always over capacity with intense work, management has favorites and ignores other teams, team manager was not a good people leader (no hands on skills but could deliver new biz). The current hiring effort is party due to not managing capacity well and partly due to some teams having 40% turnover annually

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun, Energetic, and Stimulating

    Nov 27, 2019 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Management cares about your growth as an employee and your career - Some flexibility on the projects you'd like to work on - Good work life balance - Kombucha, Beer, and sparkling water on tap - Start up culture

    Cons

    - Lots of ambiguity at times - Lower pay for similar roles at larger companies

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good place to start out of college. Not as great for experienced hires.

    Aug 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Nice new office. The actual office is a bit sterile in my opinion but the workspace itself is great and the rooftop is fantastic. - The CEO (Dale) is hands on and cares a lot about his employees. The company generally treats its employees well. Benefits are good, pay can be very good (and sometimes bad, see cons) - If you're fresh out of school or relatively young, you'll probably have a good time. There's an almost frat/sorority like environment which is common among younger agencies. But there's enough professionalism to where its not too overbearing. I personally didn't care all that much about having beer on tap or having a ping pong table but I can appreciate that some people like that sort of thing. - Ovative (at least when I was there) is growing pretty rapidly. We usually hit our bonus targets and got full (or nearly full) bonus payouts. - If you want to make a career out of working in marketing, this is a good place to put on your resume.

    Cons

    - There are tons of downsides to rapid growth and Ovative is experiencing all of them. A lot of people are in senior management roles that have no business there. Good people management skills aren't really cultivated and sustainable business practices aren't really pursued. It's still very much an attitude built around rapid growth and addressing short term needs without any thought to long term strategy and growth. - The client base is still heavily focused on retail which is a problem as brick and mortar retail is still on a downward trajectory. - Lets talk about the engineering side of the business. Ovative is simultaneously trying to be an agency and an IT provider. I applaud the boldness of the vision but the execution on MAP is beyond awful. Far from building a product that will turn into a future profit center, MAP remains a massive loss leader and there's no sign of that changing. Everything is focused on keeping the system alive rather than actually building a long term solution that will work and fit the company's vision. - To further this problem, none of the leadership has any understanding of technology. That's fine as the leadership primarily comes from a marketing background. But the fact that the leadership doesn't acknowledge this as a problem or attempt to install a CTO (who has a software background) that can lead the engineering side of the business is a problem. - Pay can be all over the place. I think new joiners get relatively equal starting salaries but the work that they do can vary dramatically and pay should reflect that. Raises tend to follow equal trajectories as well. Really this hurts the data scientists and developers more than anyone else. On the flip side, the pay can vary quite dramatically at higher levels which gives experienced hires the opportunity to make good money. - Get used to meetings. There's no concept of delegation and empowering people to own pieces of work. Everyone meets constantly to litigate every decision and to create opportunities to provide "feedback." Also one downside to this is that it makes it really hard to work from home. Ovative isn't good at successfully managing meetings where people aren't there in person. Also in general there are too many meetings that don't result in an actual outcome. - Similarly, expect the same sort of thing when it comes to management. The culture essentially embraces micromanagement. You'll be asked 8 different ways what you're doing to address a particular project or problem and good luck if your manager doesn't understand the type of work you do. You'll get stuck trying to explain work that they don't have any background on. - Lastly, Ovative has the mindset that smart people can do anything which is largely true. But there are exceptions. You can't keep rotating the same group of people into different roles and just expecting things to just magically work. There needs to be some respect for tangible skills in a given area. This is most pronounced when Ovative moves people with no tech background into one of the MAP teams but you see this elsewhere as well.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place

    Feb 27, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers and environment

    Cons

    Long hours, especially during the winter holiday months

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company, Great People

    Jan 21, 2019 - Senior Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Have worked here for 2 years now and my career development surpasses any experience I've had in the past. Great leadership with a focus on growth, employee trust, and talent development. Competitive pay and amazing benefits.

    Cons

    Average employee works about 45-50 hour weeks

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Highly talented people doing awesome things!

    Mar 24, 2019 - Senior Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of deep expertise in performance media, strategy consulting and advanced analytics. Very fun culture, President is awesome. The senior leaders genuinely want to be the best and have the best employees!

    Cons

    Very little opportunity outside of performance and retail and that is where the expertise and growth is. Unless you grew up at Ovative or came from similar background it’s tough to move forward in your career if you have different experience.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 English Reviews

Work at Ovative/group? Share Your Experiences

Ovative/group logo
or