Overstock.com Copywriter Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Copywriter

Overstock.com Copywriter Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
0%
Recommend to a Friend
Overstock.com Interim CEO Jonathan Johnson
Jonathan Johnson
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Shortlived Product Content Copywriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copywriter in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company spirit, team camaraderie, nice co-workers, great break room with fun activities to de-stress, employees are valued, lots of downtime, free to listen to music/watch internet TV/movies while working in this position, easy to advance, pay for this position is decent, management was pretty good when I was there

    Cons

    Lots of downtime (this can be good and bad in my opinion), location of warehouse offices, position is very monotonous and dull, advancements only seem to be reserved for the "boss's pets"

    Overstock.com2012-12-13
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Some of What You Want, for Less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Marketing Copywriter in Midvale, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cool corporate campus, fun monthly events, good insurance options, generous 401k match, on-site health clinic & daycare, and a reasonably priced cafeteria with tasty food.

    Cons

    Nepotism really is as rampant as other reviewers say. It's leadership roulette, some seem capable and confident while others... are less so. Building trust in leadership is a constant, company-wide struggle. Direct management is also a toss-up. In my time at Overstock, I had managers that were empowering and trusting as well as managers that seemed to enjoy belittling, shaming, and criticizing others. A lot still needs to be done to improve psychological safety in the workplace. Early on, compensation was fair and competitive, but Overstock has developed a habit of permanently increasing job responsibilities without increasing pay. It's easy to get stuck in a dead-end position. Not enough opportunities for advancement. There's a perception that management's only willing to create new positions for friends.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-10-07
  3. Helpful (12)

    "A mixed bag."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Copywriter in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com

    Pros

    The best thing about working at Overstock are the friends you'll make. Lots of interesting, genuine people with varied interests. Many teams feel like families and many of my dear friends are former Overstock coworkers. I also appreciate that they take chances on good people and big ideas. And the company overall is progressive, tolerant, and multicultural.

    Cons

    There is very little structure within the departments. Groups and whole departments are restructured several times a year. In five years there, I had 13 different desk locations, 8 different directors, and 7 different managers. At the time of my termination, I didn't have a manager or directors. I didn't have a job description or general process guidelines. Turnover is painfully high.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2015-01-31
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Not a question of if, but when..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copywriter in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits and perks like employee discounts.

    Cons

    I've never worked at a company with so much constant turnover. It isn't a question of if you will be laid off, but when. It's only been a few years since I worked there but virtually everybody I knew who worked there when I did is gone, either by attrition or layoff.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2014-03-06
  5. Helpful (5)

    "poor pay, micromanaging, poor communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Copywriter in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com

    Pros

    easy to take time off, daily food trucks, great co-workers

    Cons

    promotions are given randomly to those not exactly qualified, while passing up long-term hard working employees. management seems removed from lower-rung workers and doesn't understand what exactly people do. few incentives, little praise when doing well but swift when someone makes a mistake. the feeling of being monitored constantly (online and offline); not being treated like adults. The benefits are also pretty expensive and terrible (Select Health - I had an HSA - I paid $30 a month, deposited $50 a month with no monthly employer contribution)

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2011-03-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Copywriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Copywriter in Salt Lake City, UT
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com

    Pros

    Great benefits for all employees

    Cons

    Corporate culture is really bad

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2010-07-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "I am not sure what is needed here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Copywriter 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com

    Pros

    Overstock prides itself on being a customer service-oriented company that helps consumers save money. The atmosphere is fairly fun and yet professional. On a personal level I look forward to seeing my co-workers and being at work every day. I think my manager and others over me are interested in utilizing my skills and ultimately promoting me.

    Cons

    I've never seen a company that waffles so much on so many issues. Several promises made to me have not been fulfulled. I feel I am not evaluated on all key aspects of my position (and therefore not fairly) and the pay is downright lousy--I cannot live on this entry-level salary, even with roommates.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2010-01-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews