Overstock.com Customer Care Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Overstock.com Customer Care Representative Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.2
4%
Recommend to a Friend
Overstock.com Interim CEO Jonathan Johnson
Jonathan Johnson
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fantastic culture, decent compensation, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Monotonous work, difficult to advance at times

    Overstock.com2017-04-12
  2. Helpful (9)

    "One team, One dream mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative in Satsop, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Utah LEED Gold Certified 19-acre Campus & Global HQ Weekend's Off, 3 day weekends on Monday holidays Onsite Daycare Center Onsite Cafeteria Onsite Health Clinic Flexible Schedules Onsite Fitness Center with Group Fitness classes and trainers Indoor Bike Storage Onsite Greenhouse, providing fresh fruits & Vegetables for the cafe Overstock Women's Network Promotion and advancement opportunities within other departments located in Utah

    Cons

    Washington State, Elma Location 15 miles to no where Split Weekends off, only closed on official holidays Unable to change your schedule permanently, even after 1 year of employment Upstairs venting machines Mandatory overtime Zero promotion and advancement opportunities, there are no other departments in the Elma location.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-06-15
  3. Helpful (28)

    "Lots of empty promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative in Elma, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full benefits, decent pay, training was okay.

    Cons

    We were told in training overstock is not like any other call center. We were told that they would be interviewing people for floor support and team leader positions that would be posted on workday. We got to the floor skipped tier 1 nesting and tossed in to production. Management was annoyed that a new class was asking so many questions. Did not have computers for the first 4 weeks of training, Got in the new building 2 months later no evacuation plans. Management pulled people off the phones they liked and were friends with to promote up to team leaders and floor support no interviews involved. lots of nepotism and disorganization. Overstock is not like any other call center I have worked at because every call center I worked at job performance is what got you promoted not how well Management liked you.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2017-05-05
  4. Helpful (40)

    "Not taking it anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Overstock.com part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with good people. They let us make decisions on how to resolve customer problems. Not a bad name on your resume. Supposedly some options for moving up to other jobs in corporate. If you're okay playing politics and do what Stormy wants, you can move up pretty quickly, get invited to "non-company" events, and have some, um, interesting stories to tell. lol

    Cons

    It's a busted culture, and you can read about that in Patrick's long response to a review (which is exactly the heart of the problem, but not as he sees it). The fact that sr. management cares (and makes you care) as much as they do instead of letting diverse employees work and act like adults do in society outside of work is what causes this weird tension. If there wasn't some crusade Stormy deluded Patrick about, no one would care. Period. Next, word is out among Stormy's team/people to rite good reviews on here. In fact, a team lead told me that's what they're hearing from looooong time/old timers of Stormy's over in Marketing. The fact that sr. management is fixing company reviews just proves all the other ones are right about our sr. mngt. Can you imagine Amazon or Walmart leaders giving a crap about these reviews. All this to say it's a scary work environment and you never know what invisible political line you'll cross and end up fired or quickly forced out. Lastly, family is another bad thing, with like seriously a couple dozen relatives of sr. management violating company hiring policy.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2015-12-11
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Customer Care Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Co-Workers, Fun Activities, food trucks available during day shift, discounts

    Cons

    Low Pay for what a employee has to do, low pay in general, promise you things in interview then do not keep their promises, have their favorites

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2015-06-10
  6. Helpful (10)

    "A three ring circus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent and the benefits are pretty good.

    Cons

    I've worked here for over 5 years and at first I really loved my job and the company. I used to tell everyone what a great company overstock.com was to work for. I was told when I was hired that I would only be required to work weekends occasionally. And at first that was true. But after 5 years, I'm working solid weekends for months and I can't get a straight answer as to why and if/when that will change. We were also promised that there is always room for advancement, but unless you have a certain family status or know someone that can pull strings, good luck. Also, a few of us had ideas on how to make the company better. At first they seemed to listen and we even had lunch with upper management because our ideas were so good. But years later, the simple changes that we suggested are still unchanged, making customers frustrated and our jobs harder. But they don't answer the phones, so it makes sense that they don't care. Thinking that things would get better, I've stayed. But where they keep getting worse, I'm looking for a new job.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2014-04-02
  7. "Incredible great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Happy and Honest Environment is more than 90% of america can say about their employer, in reality. This is the best job ever.

    Cons

    A little out of the way for location. Needs to be more central and would be easier for a daily commute currently 30 miles round trip daily.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2013-11-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews