Overstock.com Customer Service Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Overstock.com Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated Feb 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

1.7
23%
Recommend to a Friend
Overstock.com Interim CEO Jonathan Johnson
Jonathan Johnson
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I enjoyed a very organized and effective training program. I achieved 90% Quality Satisfaction and was promoted quickly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Table Tennis at SLC headquarters. A very large friendly team, fun games and prizes, excellent training, company ethics, great brand reputation, great customers, upper management was supportive, encouraging and available, CEO, Patrick Byrne is cool and inspiring. He threw a large party for us, good pay, and great work environment.

    Cons

    The location in Salt Lake City is quite bland, very strict and timely regarding clocking in and out for breaks and such. You spend a lot of time with your co workers so I remember clashing with one of supervisors and it led to me quitting the company.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2014-06-18
  2. "Highly recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Elma, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've loved working here. If your personable and competent then you will go far.

    Cons

    Upper management seems to be out of touch with reality at times.

    Overstock.com2020-02-23
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (13)

    "Plays favorites, very hard to move up."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in West Valley City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people were great to work with and they did have a lot of lunches come in (that you had to pay for) like a bunch of food trucks

    Cons

    I worked there for 2 years and my whole entire training class got a “freeze” to be able to move up or get any kind of raises. They kept saying they were “working on a new system” and after two years of them saying that I had enough.

    Overstock.com2019-02-24
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Customer service was fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends

    I worked at Overstock.com for more than a year

    Pros

    You really got to enhance multitasking and people skills. I learned a lot about computers while working here and legitimately enjoyed my job. if you can focus on the customer and enjoy working with people this will be a great job for you.

    Cons

    Said they were pro education but when it came down to it they were unable to be flexible with school schedule. Some policies make customer service agents feel like numbers which can make morale low.

    Overstock.com2018-09-01
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Confused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing corporate culture and coworkers

    Cons

    Lack of strategy from upper management Too much them/you between departments Depending on your role, there is no real investment in employees looking to further career/education goals

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2017-09-28
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The food is good. Management at Peace building is more helpful and better

    Cons

    The place went down hill after Stormyleft. Its sad CS was a great place once but everyone stopped caring about people, its only about numbers. They dont care about the people who have been here, working their tails off for years. They set unreal expectations.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2017-10-03
  8. Helpful (5)

    "If you have to work at a call center, work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Thorough paid training Excellent employee incentives Really good entry level pay

    Cons

    Hours (either super early or super late) It's a call center, so...

    Overstock.com2017-08-15
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company, poor management and even worse floor supervisors. Would give 3 stars if it wasn't for immature atmosphere.

    Cons

    Actual job is okay, if People there don't like you they make it horrible for you to be there.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2017-08-01
  10. Helpful (22)

    "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com

    Pros

    Got to learn a lot about life and how it's the big people that win

    Cons

    Pay is the worst. Depressing work place and people. Patrick Byrne the CEO is the the worst.

    Overstock.com2017-01-23
  11. Helpful (9)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly it was great when they were local but they moved to salt lake and became horrible.

    Cons

    They became firing people for no reason. They also demoted people for no reason as well.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2016-11-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 52 reviews