Overstock.com Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Overstock.com Director Reviews

Updated May 30, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
33%
Recommend to a Friend
Overstock.com Interim CEO Jonathan Johnson
Jonathan Johnson
0 Rating
  1. "still my favorite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com

    Pros

    Innovation, opportunity, and growth. Everyone works for common goals, with the most passion I have ever experienced anywhere. Things get done at this company. From conception to inception, you can watch your ideas grow and come to fruition. You work hard, show passion and drive, and you are rewarded and recognized. So many companies now have people just collecting pay checks, but Overstock is different, it's a family. They support their employees in both career and personal growth, and in the community. They invest in their people, and in the business. On any given day, you could see a team busily getting a new process in place, planning a fun community event, or new ways, positive ways to support customers and partners. I would never have gained the experience and knowledge I have had I not taken this job. I was able to grow and thrive in a way I hadn't ever thought possible.

    Cons

    If you are a sensitive type of person, you must understand that when it's time to get something done, you cannot take things personal. They expect you to be strong and powerful, and apeak your mind. You have to learn to separate the fun from the business. You cannot become complacent just because everyone is 'friends'. There are times of stress and just plain hard work. You have to be able to keep things separate. And as management, you have to learn to adapt quickly. There is a lot of passion behind why they do what they do. You have to be on board and sometimes just understand you must do what needs to get done, no matter what.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2015-07-23
  2. Helpful (31)

    "Director of Application Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director of Software Development in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com

    Pros

    401k is aggressive and vests immediately.

    Cons

    Everything else is a problem.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2017-05-30

    Overstock.com Response

    July 11, 2017Vice President

    We’re sorry you weren’t happy with your employment experience here. If you’re willing to give specifics, we’ll have an opportunity to improve the areas you find problematic.

    Continue reading
  3. "Proper Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Midvale, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time

    Pros

    Overstock has a data driven Leadership team, a change from the past that was more trial and error based on a gut feeling. I like that fact we are encouraged to take calculated risks and that we run our own teams within the business. G&A is a guideline, and if you need more to deliver more, that is your decision to make. There is inherent risk / reward with the philosophy, but it makes the work place exciting.

    Cons

    Sometimes it feels like we are a mile wide and an inch deep. We are e-tailer; and the money and focus should follow accordingly.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2017-02-14
  4. Helpful (79)

    "What a mess ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Director in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time

    Pros

    I worked at the O for 8 years and loved the people I worked with. I worked in the IT organization and got to touch so many parts of the business, and work with many different technologies. Working there truly was fun. If you want to learn a ton, work with energetic, driven people, it is very rewarding from that perspective.

    Cons

    There is exactly ONE thing that sucks about working at OSTK and it's the "senior" leadership. I won't trot out all the horror stories, but will confirm that other negative reviews of senior leadership are accurate. The main issues are these: - The CEO is distracted by shiny objects and constantly changes course, projects constantly get halted, restarted, and are often abandoned. - There is no institutional memory (largely due to high turnover, as well as constant change in direction) - the same mistakes get repeated over and over again. This is often referred to as "O-volution" by internal employees. - The organization has a highly dysfunctional dynamic where direction is expected to be followed without question. If it's a bad idea, and you don't speak up, you get blamed for not speaking up. If you do speak up, you are "insubordinate." In either case the end result is the same, folks are exited and blamed for the failure of the bad idea. - There is no such thing as an amicable departure. If you resign of your own volition, you are labeled as "couldn't hack it" or similar. If you are let you go, you were "incompetent." - People are regularly promoted far beyond their level of capability. Oddly, when someone fails, it is their fault, instead of management realizing that they made a mistake and promoted someone too quickly. - Fully half the board is OSTK senior leadership. The balance are external patsies who are happy to collect their advisory compensation. They do NOTHING to hold the leadership accountable. - The CEO readily reminds folks that he speaks for 70% of the outstanding shares of the company. Because he is neither accountable to the board, nor to a majority of shareholders, he can and does act completely unchecked. Only the legal department can keep him in the guard rails, and even that only lasts so long before they exit the general counsel and bring in a new one (as has happened in the last year) because he/she isn't "fun" enough.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2015-11-25
  5. Helpful (54)

    "Beware...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Marketing in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pros....becoming very hard to find. Still lots of good employees who want to be successful...

    Cons

    Overstock has lost its leadership. Patrick is off chasing his Cryptocurrency dreams and the ship is sinking quick with Stormy at the helm. Loss of long term employees at all levels should be an alarm to the executive team (those who are still there or not lined up to leave). Good employee's do not leave good employers and a healthy work atmosphere at the rate OS is loosing key people. It's toxic and as mentioned in multiple reviews, management by bullying and fear from Stormy. The reports here are not exaggerated. You'd be shocked to be a fly on the wall....

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2015-06-11
  6. Helpful (24)

    "Great place to learn ecommerce. Dangerous place to build a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overstock is the last of a dying breed. It is the last broad-line etailer left that makes all of its money from e-commerce. While Ebay and Amazon make most of their profits from enterprise products, Overstock soldiers along making every dollar selling sheets, shoes and DVDs. As a result, you have to be good at etail because that's all there is at Overstock. And there are / were some good employees that know it well. Working at Overstock will help you learn ecommerce inside and out.

    Cons

    Senior Management - CEO and current President - have no interest in building a profitable business. There is a strange desire to follow a dream that will never come to fruition. Unlike Amazon's CEO, who is an engineer and a "doer", Overstock CEO is a philosopher, so majority of strategy or ideas follow the path of philosophy - words, but no clear actions. There is no real strategy, no real interest in pursuing a clear path to long-term profitability. The goal is to play in any sandbox the CEO is interested in - its a fun game for him, and he doesn't care because he has inherited hundreds of millions from his father. Executives who oppose this approach are terminated or pushed out. During my time there I saw some of the best leaders and executives walked out the door for opposing the CEO in even the most subtle ways. Pay is relatively low - it is Utah, so people are willing to take a cut to work there. Work-life balance is amazing - no reason to work hard when there is not real incentive to deliver results, or your own projects are killed. Politics are rampant - but they are easy to understand - they all center around doing exactly what the CEO and President say, no matter how inane.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2014-07-02
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Must be part of the SLC Clan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Director in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work Very Agile shop Great interaction with business

    Cons

    Your not Mormon then your on the outside in SLC.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2013-12-13
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Sweet Bitter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company moves at a fast pace and you will be able to acquire some great experience with a fairly big player in e-commerce. The company acquires many good, intelligent people at HQ and is always seeking new, "outside-the-box" idea generators. The company encourages hard work and tends to compensate at market levels (salary not bonus).

    Cons

    The company claims to project a culture of honesty and integrity, but I believe the exact opposite is true. Conflicting direction abounds. So-called company policies are executed on an arbitrary basis. A verbal commitment/promise from a SVP/VP means absolutely nothing. Paranoia prevails as non-compete agreements are part of the company's mission statement. SVP's & VP's are very egotistical, incompetent, and strong political machines. Only the CEO and CFO have any foresight into discovering and supporting new ideas and talent. No one can challenge any directive, opinion, or position of any SVP/VP as they will be punished (e.g. demoted, passed over for promotion, or fired, etc.). Manage by intimidation is the company's mantra.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2013-02-13
  9. "Improving culture, but concerns about long-term prospects of the Brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Marketing in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Strong work/life balance -Opportunity for growth - prove that you can own & grow the business and doors will open up for you (up to the director level). -Great location, very attractive for locals and people who like the outdoors

    Cons

    -No structured bonus program -No perks - very cut and dry -Hit-and-miss with talent and leadership at the company -Brand is very ambiguous, with Amazon dominating online retail, where does Overstock fit? Company still trying to figure this out

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2012-09-10
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Exceptional Downhill Slide In Past 2 Years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Culture - Close Involvement to Major E-commerce Projects - Resume Builder - Work Close with Executives - Location This review a few years ago would have been much different. It WAS a very positive place to work, but that was long ago.

    Cons

    - Senior Management - Dejected Workforce - Recent Braindrain - Wishy Washy Decision Making on Projects Causing Incredible Expense and Dissatisfaction by Those Working Hard Only To See No Fruit From Their Labor - Lack of Direction The decisions around company direction and project focus are very scattered. No two executives could tell you similarly what the direction of the company is. Projects are reactionary to what other sites already do, not innovative by any means. An amazing amount of resources and money are put into projects that are not thought through, resulting in complete stoppage of a project only to move on to something similarly thought through. Prices and quality of merchandise are poor, which is what the company should be working to improve, instead of looking to do everything it can as fast as it can. Instead of focusing on core values and a standard business model, anything and everything are brought to the table and pushed. The number of people with deep Overstock knowledge combined with industry experience and intelligence leaving Overstock is kind of staggering. I want to say it is due to firings (which have occurred often since mid 2011) but the truth is most are leaving on their own because they see a sinking ship. Confidence among workers is at an all time low. Per their own stated results, the only reason O.co made a profit in Q1 2012 is because overhead/workforce was diminished so severely. Unless significant change to senior management occurs, I fear this company is not going to survive or will become a shell of its former self. This is an opinion I've heard directly from internal employees including from multiple at the VP level. The board needs to require a change in action instead of letting the chairman and other SVPs run rampant.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2012-06-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews