Overstock.com Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Overstock.com Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Overstock.com Interim CEO Jonathan Johnson
Jonathan Johnson
1 Rating
  1. "Overstock has its perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, lots of training available, flexible schedules

    Cons

    disconnect with retail could be improved

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-10-02
  2. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Air Battle Manager 

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time

    Pros

    good company uses lots of new technologies

    Cons

    they may layoff anytime which happens every year

    Overstock.com2020-01-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Partner in Midvale, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, home/work life balance, competitive compensation, leverages technology

    Cons

    I've been employed by this company for 7+ years. Although we've went through some rough patches, they are always seeking to improve themselves as an employer. With that being said, I can't provide any cons

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-10-30
  4. "Overstock has great people but not enough of them to keep up with the workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Midvale, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great 401k match, on-site clinic, on-site gym.

    Cons

    No work-life balance and compensation is on the lower end

    Overstock.com2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (18)

    "Liars!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Campus was great, some leadership was great. Innovative company, and they teach employees how to advance in the workplace

    Cons

    Poor leadership. Lied to employees more than once. Lied and claimed no lay offs would need to happen again after 30 or so were laid off last year. 6 months later, over 100 people laid off. Then lied Again telling everyone they were safe, then a month later they laid off even More people. How can you trust a company that would make a promise to its employees, an actual promise. Then turn around and have one of the largest layoffs in the history of the company?

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-05-29
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Was a good starting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partner Account Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good amount of autonomy to pursue other positions within the company

    Cons

    Lots of politics and favoritism dictating who progressed

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-02-13
  7. "Good company culture, innovative work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Product Manager Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of fun company perks and events, great intern program, always working with cutting-edge technology

    Cons

    the work I did could sometimes be a little tedious

    Overstock.com2019-01-30
  8. Helpful (16)

    "Almost good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time

    Pros

    A lot of smart co-workers and cool tech. Consistent revenue based on brand awareness Lots of onsite benefits that are almost amazing (onsite doctor, day care, cafe, etc.) (almost = nothing is free)

    Cons

    Shifting priorities are rapid and chaotic... It's common for 2 or 3 teams to be working on similar problems at the same time. Retail doesn't feel like the priority. Company politics are dramatic... think Game of Thrones. A lot of people pretending to work. Limited support in ramping staff up.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2018-11-05
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Sucks your soul away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Midvale, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    lagoon day private concert cafeteria

    Cons

    fake people no one has your back you have to kiss butt to go anywhere in the company

    Overstock.com2018-05-08
  10. Helpful (38)

    "Incompetent Management/ Nepotism: Product Manager/ Software Engineer Avoid at All Cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Midvale, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good but you can get similar benefits elsewhere. Building is good but what's the use if you are not happy inside.

    Cons

    Management has no strategy to grow business and this company is poorly run. They have been loosing money for last 4 quarters. Latest is that they are trying to be bought out by another company, which is better managed. Product Manager are reporting to engineering management, who have no idea about the product. They are there because management is just like a group of junkies, who get together over alcohol to discuss what should be the venue of their next drinking party. Specially IT executive goel brothers are there because they brown nose the CEO and president. They disrespect the employees in the meetings and use four letter words since they know they are safe as they are part of unofficial union. Little brother grew because big brother was an executive and favorite to CEO. Executives treat you just like resources. They will not help you switch careers/ grow, rather put hindrances if you want to do something you want to do to grow your career. They are not interested in helping you develop. If you somehow convince other team's manager for a different type of work, and manage to get what you want to do, then the executive, who initially opposed your move will take it on his ego, and will make life tough for you since most of the executives are drink buddies. They are least concerned about employees growth and coaching., specially the brothers. There were very good employees earlier in IT but many of then left because of brothers incompetence. Executives, specially on the IT side are busy playing ping pong because they have nothing better to do. In the first place they were promoted because they either have a blood brother in upper management/ or played ping pong/ drank with other executives. If you just keep your eyes and ears shut and pretend to not see all the nepotism around you, then you will have a job. Also, those in management who were promoted based on nepotism, prefers new employees over longer working employees, since the long working employees are aware of how those people were promoted. Those who raise their voices against the nepotism face hostile conditions, and either resign/ forced to resign/ quit. Management prefers new employees since they would not be aware of existing managements incompetence/ nepotism and would work happily for few years before they realize how incompetent management is, and find out how those who got in management actually got there. IT management prefers to hire employees on visa since they are indentured servant and join since they don't have many option now because of immigration policy. Mostly people end up joining because they have no other option.. If you have option to choose between different job then choose elsewhere. As a product manager and engineer, you will more likely to work on maintenance.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2018-01-08

    Overstock.com Response

    January 13, 2018CEO

    Well, I am sorry you feel that way. I know there is some griping about the brothers. Let me explain why I like them. Back when we were much smaller, and had only about 20 teams, Saum was leader over two of the teams. He and his two teams accomplished about 60% of all the projects completed that year. The following year he had 6 out of 20 teams, and he completed about 80% of all the projects accomplished that year. And Saum vouches for Amit, who has also accomplished the impossible on many an occasion. And I now have the benefit of our new 360 degree review process, so I can see how what the wisdom of crowds actually is about people. It seems to be really good tool for letting the crowd express itself to me, does it not?

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 45 reviews