Overstock.com Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Overstock.com Interim CEO Jonathan Johnson
Jonathan Johnson
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "great work life balance, they care about their employee's well being(in 85 reviews)

  • "Such great people and I made so many lifelong friends there(in 43 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management seems to be out of touch with reality at times(in 71 reviews)

  • "Some senior management is afraid to call any shots because they don't want to be held accountable for the outcome or fired(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      we are overstock

      May 10, 2021 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership changes continue to be a great positive impact on the company. Transparency and trust continue to build. No rush to get back to the office, leadership is taking their time and responding appropriately.

      Cons

      Pay continues to be lower than the market in a lot of areas - progress has been made over the years, but still not where it needs to be.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Lack of Loyalty

      Jun 14, 2021 - Creative Project Manager in Midvale, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company culture is nice in that they provide a in-house cafe and monthly social events.

      Cons

      Doesn't matter how much tenure you have at Overstock, they will cut you off at the knees if they no longer see you of value.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing culture of working together and sharing skills to further business as a whole

      May 13, 2021 - Product Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of talented individuals from many backgrounds who work together. A great culture of trust and allowing individuals to try new things. Currently WFH. 401k Match. Good enough medical. Competitive salary. Bonus plan. Exec team focused on growth.

      Cons

      Opportunity to move up in the company does not always have a clear path. Even with specific dept's having a framework for advancing, it still feels like it comes down to whether or not managers will go to bat for you. No clear direction for the future, it's always just 6 months ahead and shifts far too often. As of now, no plans to offer remote positions full-time, despite the company having their best performing/productive years while under WFH guidelines.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      its ok

      Jun 2, 2021 - Quality Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      remote working co-workers (for the most part)

      Cons

      no job advancement you need to look elsewhere if you want a career path. salary - its OK but definitely not more than other SLC employers unknown status of work from home. Management doesnt trust employees to get their job done. Scrum masters - ugh

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great people, management, and benefits

      Jan 11, 2021 - ETL Developer in Murray, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the people I work with. All my teams and managers have been wonderful. Top management has seen a net improvement over the past year, and I trust them to be transparent in most things, and honest. I love the benefits, especially the 401(k) plan. I've always felt valued as a person and an employee.

      Cons

      A big pet peeve I share with many colleagues about Overstock is the distance of the parking garage from the office (1/4 mile). They ostensibly built it that far away to get employees to walk more (let us be adults and make our own healthy choices). But a suspected true reason was to create a physical barrier (distance) to keep employees on the campus so we'll be more productive. That said, Overstock is not in the practice of over-working its employees. The other main issue is the bonus structure (or usual lack thereof). There has never been consistency or transparency in bonuses. There's no way to make everyone happy with a bonus structure, but Overstock's handling of bonuses has, more often than not, left most people unsatisfied or questioning. In my several years with the company, company-wide bonuses have been paid out only once or twice, and they have been modest. The current bonus structure looks more promising, but we are in the first year of it and there is still a lack of transparency in details, despite executives touting that it is super transparent.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Under prepared to send agents home because of Pandemic

      May 29, 2021 - Customer Care Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some Team leads and managers are great to work with. Opportunity to make much more with commission on membership sales.

      Cons

      Required computer software use that wasn’t trained for. Some Supervisors that are very difficult or impossible to work with due to their attitudes and their stress levels. Team leads, supervisors and managers inexperienced and untrained in other aspects of job duties such as customer service emails and texts when the India center closed due to COVID-19 and loss of 30k agents there.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company, excellent peope.

      Jun 6, 2021 - Operation Systems Administrator in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture was awesome and the people I worked with were great. I had many opportunities for advancement.

      Cons

      Nothing out of the ordinary.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company

      Apr 14, 2021 - Front End Developer in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They care about the success of the company and are transparent to their employees about progress

      Cons

      Many employees would love to stay working from home after the pandemic, but it seems some of the older executives don’t like the idea as much. We will see the outcome though when we do “return to the office”

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company, but very demanding

      Apr 28, 2021 - Data Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits, amazing campus, I work with amazing and intelligent people

      Cons

      Long days and tight deadlines. The workload can be pretty intense, and expectations are very high for the quality of work you put out.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Work hard to be undervalued

      Mar 4, 2021 - Escalations Specialist in Elma, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Their are only 2 major pros i can think of. for this company. The training system they have set up is solid and the people leading it when I was there were solid. Sunny is single handedly the biggest asset for their training team. Secondly they know how to get good people to join the company.

      Cons

      They don't pay much above min wage for Washington state. They get good people to join them but undervalue them. I know a lot of people that moved into higher positions just because they were friendly with management but were not as skilled at what they were doing. If you work hard you go no where if your not best fdriends with management.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 916 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Overstock.com Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Intelligence Developer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Overstock.com? Share Your Experiences

    Overstock.com logo
    or