Overstock.com Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Overstock.com Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated May 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
37%
Recommend to a Friend
Overstock.com Interim CEO Jonathan Johnson
Jonathan Johnson
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Fun Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm a Boomerang (someone who has left Overstock and come back), just like many of the best people I have worked with in Utah. I left because the tech culture was stifling, but came back because a former colleague convinced me that had changed. I have to say I love my new job. I am able to use cutting-edge technologies that allow me to be super-productive. I always loved the fun and diverse culture at Overstock and I'm glad to see those aspects of the company still thriving. While the companies in California pride themselves in their diversity, I'd say Overstock is even more diverse that what I experienced in California in that Overstock embraces even intellectual diversity. I've always loved that Patrick (the CEO) is one of the few outspoken people that is willing to put his money where his mouth is, not because of hopes of some kind of political or other gain, but because he believes it is right.

    Cons

    We had some recent layoffs and they are a bummer. A few of my friends were affected. It's tough, but it seems that many of the people let go had grown apart from Overstock and it may have been the best thing for all involved. Others were laid off because a huge ramp in hiring and marketing spend did not work out as expected, so the company, unfortunately, had to reset it's bearings. Beyond that, some employees are bothered by the frequent changes in direction, which is a totally valid concern, but it's been the same at any other company I've worked and it honestly stopped bothering me before I even started at Overstock the first time. I am super-optimistic, however, about the new management as they are moving in the direction of customer and data-driven decision making, which I have come to believe is the best way to build and run a business.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-01-14
  2. Helpful (19)

    "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary Super Low Stress Nice Office

    Cons

    The company is an absolute disaster with no real plan. The retail side of the business is always in talks to be sold so the company can focus on the worthless crypto side. The company is hemoraging money so they, logically, decided to set up shop in Seattle to pay Seattle salaries on engineers. Of course, there's no plan to do anything with the engineers it's just a bunch of managers going on a drunken hiring spree in order to increase the size of their empire so they can continue to keep their own jobs as the eventual cuts happen. Layoffs happen all the time and the work is completely useless. If you really don't care about what you do, can afford to be laid off for a while when the cuts eventually come, and just want a paycheck; this place isn't too bad. Just show up and do the minimum because it just doesn't matter.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-05-08
  3. Helpful (21)

    "Lacks Honesty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Midvale, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice Office Work from Home Company Events

    Cons

    Lacks Honesty. Many people just pretend to work as words works better than work. People get promoted as they talk big and sell dreams and nobody cares for actual work. Everyone is trying to oversell themselves. Not sure if Politics and Nepotism has lead to this but it's not a good place to work if you are not vocal and can't sell yourself well.

    Overstock.com2018-11-09
  4. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance and good benefits

    Cons

    No cons as such. This company has a very conducive working environment

    Overstock.com2018-11-04
  5. Helpful (43)

    "shiny on the outside, scary on the inside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Murray, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - very laid back, almost too laid back - good benefits - nice building

    Cons

    - management Let me elaborate. You entire lifespan at Overstock will depend on which team you end up on, and which cliques you brown-nose yourself into. If you are lucky, you will have a manager who will shield you from most of senior management's odd ways of operating which include but are not limited to: rapid fire projects that have no consistency (not to mention developer requirements), projects with impossible deadlines that come paired with immediate blockers, or just no sense of direction at all. Mixing these inevitable scenarios, you are left with a system riddled with tech-debt, an analytics platform that no one trusts, and never ending quick-win assignments that only pile on more garbage to the obvious crumbling infrastructure that our drunk leaders call a "tech-company". - false promises If the lies about salary being above market value weren't enough, leadership also likes to tease their developers with bonuses and bounties that historically have not been delivered on. Miss the bounty deadline by a day? Dang, no bonus, but we still need that project out there, and yesterday. This carrot-on-a-string strategy has further distanced teams that used to work well together as everyone is now after their own profits.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2018-01-31
  6. Helpful (31)

    "Engineers must avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits were nice enough, but even that aspect was subpar. New campus is reasonably pleasant. Stable job, ish, on the tech side.

    Cons

    Where to begin. All management at all levels are completely unfit for their roles. This manifests as total lack of ownership of teams over what they are working on (for “team players”), black box business direction means there is nothing to align with so every project doesn’t make real business sense and is more set against dictatorial opinion than well-reasoned healthy goals (“fast paced”). Most dev staff have adopted a coping mechanism of “that’s just crazy overstock, I’m just here to do what I’m told at this point” which is beyond unhealthy and leads to useless engineers who produce unsustainably bad work. Management don’t know how to do their own jobs, which go completely unfilled in terms of responsibility, so they just try to do other people’s jobs instead - even the micromanagement issue aside, this is a problem because they are utterly bad at those usurped jobs too. No feedback loops anywhere. Most teams are lucky if they have a manager who even bothers to talk to them about how their job is going on occasion. This has created a completely out of touch executive team - explicitly by their own choosing - who have completely misguided conclusions about what has proved to be a good decision and what is causing major harm to teams. Even if they were clued in, though, it wouldn’t change their behavior, because they feel their responsibility is to each other and in no way to their teams. They simply don’t care and go out of their way to avoid doing things that resemble caring.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2018-01-01
  7. Helpful (16)

    "Run, don't walk from this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is good. Benefits are not bad. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    I worked for Overstock.com for 3 years. It was one of the worst ran companies I have seen. Software developers are treated as 2nd tier employees. People in IT are often referred to as 'resources' rather than members of a project. They are told what to implement and there is little to no true collaboration between developers and the 'business side' because of power control. Unfortunately a lot of development teams are OK with this because it allows them to put minimal effort in, arriving at 9:30 and leaving at 4:45. There is little to no room for advancement in IT. Ask about it. Communication between teams is near non existent. In fact there exists a certain "if I don't have to tell you I won't" type attitude in near every area of IT. Much of the IT staff is being moved to the Warehouse facilities where the office space is terrible (but they won't show you that during the interview). Most Developers are given 1 box that is a core2duo machine, yes a core2duo!! Two 26 1080p monitors. I have heard it called sweat shop development, thus the terrible hardware provided. They have a 3 year hardware cycle program, but buy low end stuff to start with. The new CTO (as of a year ago) came in because he had been 'successful' with out-sourcing at KPMG. He has started the same sourcing to India at Overstock as well. It is not popular, but he continues to push it through. To summarize, on the surface Overstock seems like a good place to work. But the details show a company that doesn't trust their IT/Development group. Has staff cycling through it in many departments. Overall you will be treated as just a number in the staff. Lastly Amazon is eating Overstock's any potential for growth.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2014-01-31
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great people to work with, but bad upper management leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of very smart people in development. Technology is fairly current and fun to work with.

    Cons

    Upper management make decisions based on whims. Started out with 10 good ideas for the year. Now we are trying to manage 20+. They do not stay on task when it comes to goals.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2012-08-16
  9. "Great Place to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, cool fun projects

    Cons

    Business has a bit of ADD sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2012-07-16
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Very frustrating place to work, they are headed for a crash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com

    Pros

    Overstock generally hires smart people that are nice to work with. The location is very nice and composition is on standard with nation and generous for Utah.

    Cons

    Overstock has been one of the most frustrating places to do software development. I have heard software development at Overstock described as 'Mob Architecture' and cowboy development. You can literally be writing code and have someone else change it the next day and not talk to you at all (but its ok because they talked to Arch). Their biggest code base is their Shopping Site and it is a complete disaster. It is like no one thought at all about where to put code, who should maintain it and most code is placed where ever 'it just works'. When new projects are implemented usually little thought is put in place to design, but just what is quickest. The Architecture group mainly focuses on writing 'frameworks' that wrap just about every open source project they use (hibernate, jersey etc) in what I consider mostly fluff and unneeded abstractions of the true underlying framework. Overstock has created their own JSP like framework and their own dependency injection framework as well. They don't adhere to many basic pragmatic design choices (such as write once) maintaining many different internal libraries for model code that map the exact same behavior in a different library. Applications sometimes share the same table structure and communicate through database changes. They even have a reporting structure that tells the applications what to do through the database, there is no clear authority when it comes to data management. Communication between architecture and the teams varies quite a bit, depending on which person in Arch your working with (they don't communicate with each other either). Development teams are organized according to how the Business is organized, which on the surface works. But in reality leaves the development team vulnerable to the creativity of the senior management around the business entity. If you work for a Product Owner that lacks vision get ready for some uninteresting work (just do what X e-commerce site has already done), and potentially left for layoffs when push comes to shove. What the team works on is not collaborative at all. It is more like a hand me down of project work that is approved by senior management and left for the team to be excited about. When it fails that team is gone and the senior management chalks it up to a bad year. This recently happened when Overstock let go of 25% of it Developers and Testers, but not one senior management was affected even though it was widely known of some poor marketing decisions at the senior level brought about the bad year. And this was after they just hired quite a few individuals just 3 months previous! Overall I would avoid working for Overstock. Senior management doesn't allow for creativity on the team level. Domain ownership on a team level is almost nil. Company is headed for some rough times financially unless they start innovating!

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2012-01-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews