Overstock.com Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Developer

Overstock.com Software Developer Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
Overstock.com Interim CEO Jonathan Johnson
Jonathan Johnson
0 Rating
  1. "Good experience !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer-II in Midvale, UT
    Recommends

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great people to work with. - Great place to learn & grow. - Good pay as per the location.

    Cons

    - Regular firing makes people nervous (one of the reasons to leave company else would not have ever).

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-08-31
  2. Helpful (16)

    "total mess. Not recommended for career growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not sure anymore other than getting your regular paycheck on time, that also while it lasts.

    Cons

    Not a stable company any more. Management and executives are a real mess and they are just milking the cow while they can. Nepotism is at all time high

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-03-10
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Depends on team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Development Engineer-II 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com for less than a year

    Pros

    New technology and work is fast paced

    Cons

    Upper management is the dumbest I have ever seen

    Overstock.com2019-02-01
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Good but not the most stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Midvale, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mostly enjoyed my day to day experience. Great building and location. Can have a good amount of flexibility depending on what team you are on. Opportunity for growth if you mingle with the right people. Good deployment workflow for software developers.

    Cons

    Aside from always having to worry about profitability (which is the biggest con), there can be quite a bit of "bus throwing" amongst various teams and certain managers. There are dev teams that feel as if some work is beneath them so they try to pawn it off on other teams with laughable justification. Retail portion of the business was pretty neglected at the point I left.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-01-12
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Retail business not a focus anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance Great possibility of long-term tenure on a team

    Cons

    No architecture team indicates a tendency to buy versus build direction Most people don't get a career path

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2018-03-21
  6. Helpful (31)

    "Director of Application Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director of Software Development in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com

    Pros

    401k is aggressive and vests immediately.

    Cons

    Everything else is a problem.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2017-05-30

    Overstock.com Response

    July 11, 2017Vice President

    We’re sorry you weren’t happy with your employment experience here. If you’re willing to give specifics, we’ll have an opportunity to improve the areas you find problematic.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Software Eng II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time

    Pros

    Good flow of work load

    Cons

    layovers sucks which double the workload

    Overstock.com2016-07-14

    Overstock.com Response

    July 19, 2016

    Thanks for your review.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (31)

    "A Tremendous Disappointment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overstock looks great on paper -- and some, but not all, of the perks do work out. Developers and other tech professionals start with 15 days of paid time off per year, in addition to 8 holidays and one floating holiday. On some teams, working from home occasionally is a viable option.

    Cons

    Beware what you hear from recruiters and interviewers. Standard, or even conventional, ways to move from team to team do no exist. There is a site where you can ask the CEO questions, but it will politely correct you that he has "gone fishing" and will be too busy to answer any questions for months on end. New hires are assigned to teams often at the very last minute, meaning any indication from the interview is likely incorrect. Our technology and applications drain the life from developers. Every application is labeled legacy. Methods deprecated ten years ago will never be finally removed. No one advocates for the improvement of our systems or processes; thus, developers with even minimal amounts of pride in their work inevitably leave. Established technologies are dismissed in favor of quirky out-dated in house solutions. The organization lacks direction. One minute, we can't hire fast enough; the next, we're laying off dozens of employees. At company meetings, the software architects laugh at remarks from the CEO and president about the future of our technology. The leadership loves to view themselves as leaders of an innovative "tech company", but do not possess any technical expertise themselves, nor do they seek the advise of the trusted employees within the company. The bleak view from here will not relent anytime soon.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2016-03-14
  9. Helpful (7)

    "I love coming to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, immediate manager is the best, amazing co-workers, fun activities like private concerts, Lagoon day, etc. Pro-LGBT and a very diverse work environment. CEO really seems to care about the well-being of his employees. Management is very upfront and honest. We can ask the CEO any question through an online portal, and he's very diligent in answering.

    Cons

    Listen, not every aspect of our jobs can be perfect--you have to take the good with the bad and that's the case EVERYWHERE. The other reviews that say any 5-star review is fake are incorrect. I personally work with people who also love their job like I do. I get the concerns other people have with the executive team, but for the most part, it seems like they want to take care of us.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2015-12-11
  10. Helpful (4)

    "A good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good development environment. Can be improved if people follow process more often.

    Cons

    Process and culture have taken a slide and not the greatest learning environment it used to be.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2015-12-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 29 reviews