Overstock.com Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Overstock.com Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
Overstock.com Interim CEO Jonathan Johnson
Jonathan Johnson
0 Rating
  1. "Good experience !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer-II in Midvale, UT
    Recommends

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great people to work with. - Great place to learn & grow. - Good pay as per the location.

    Cons

    - Regular firing makes people nervous (one of the reasons to leave company else would not have ever).

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-08-31
  2. Helpful (19)

    "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary Super Low Stress Nice Office

    Cons

    The company is an absolute disaster with no real plan. The retail side of the business is always in talks to be sold so the company can focus on the worthless crypto side. The company is hemoraging money so they, logically, decided to set up shop in Seattle to pay Seattle salaries on engineers. Of course, there's no plan to do anything with the engineers it's just a bunch of managers going on a drunken hiring spree in order to increase the size of their empire so they can continue to keep their own jobs as the eventual cuts happen. Layoffs happen all the time and the work is completely useless. If you really don't care about what you do, can afford to be laid off for a while when the cuts eventually come, and just want a paycheck; this place isn't too bad. Just show up and do the minimum because it just doesn't matter.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-05-08
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Depends on team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Development Engineer-II 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com for less than a year

    Pros

    New technology and work is fast paced

    Cons

    Upper management is the dumbest I have ever seen

    Overstock.com2019-02-01
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Fun Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm a Boomerang (someone who has left Overstock and come back), just like many of the best people I have worked with in Utah. I left because the tech culture was stifling, but came back because a former colleague convinced me that had changed. I have to say I love my new job. I am able to use cutting-edge technologies that allow me to be super-productive. I always loved the fun and diverse culture at Overstock and I'm glad to see those aspects of the company still thriving. While the companies in California pride themselves in their diversity, I'd say Overstock is even more diverse that what I experienced in California in that Overstock embraces even intellectual diversity. I've always loved that Patrick (the CEO) is one of the few outspoken people that is willing to put his money where his mouth is, not because of hopes of some kind of political or other gain, but because he believes it is right.

    Cons

    We had some recent layoffs and they are a bummer. A few of my friends were affected. It's tough, but it seems that many of the people let go had grown apart from Overstock and it may have been the best thing for all involved. Others were laid off because a huge ramp in hiring and marketing spend did not work out as expected, so the company, unfortunately, had to reset it's bearings. Beyond that, some employees are bothered by the frequent changes in direction, which is a totally valid concern, but it's been the same at any other company I've worked and it honestly stopped bothering me before I even started at Overstock the first time. I am super-optimistic, however, about the new management as they are moving in the direction of customer and data-driven decision making, which I have come to believe is the best way to build and run a business.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2019-01-14
  5. Helpful (21)

    "Lacks Honesty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Midvale, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice Office Work from Home Company Events

    Cons

    Lacks Honesty. Many people just pretend to work as words works better than work. People get promoted as they talk big and sell dreams and nobody cares for actual work. Everyone is trying to oversell themselves. Not sure if Politics and Nepotism has lead to this but it's not a good place to work if you are not vocal and can't sell yourself well.

    Overstock.com2018-11-09
  6. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance and good benefits

    Cons

    No cons as such. This company has a very conducive working environment

    Overstock.com2018-11-04
  7. Helpful (15)

    "Talended co workers, good tech stack and unskilled product managers and directors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Midvale, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Technology stack is good, talented co workers, pay is average but better than most of the companies in the valley

    Cons

    Mid level management doesnt have proper goals and most of them doesnt have skills to manage or direct a team

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2018-03-10
  8. Helpful (43)

    "shiny on the outside, scary on the inside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Murray, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - very laid back, almost too laid back - good benefits - nice building

    Cons

    - management Let me elaborate. You entire lifespan at Overstock will depend on which team you end up on, and which cliques you brown-nose yourself into. If you are lucky, you will have a manager who will shield you from most of senior management's odd ways of operating which include but are not limited to: rapid fire projects that have no consistency (not to mention developer requirements), projects with impossible deadlines that come paired with immediate blockers, or just no sense of direction at all. Mixing these inevitable scenarios, you are left with a system riddled with tech-debt, an analytics platform that no one trusts, and never ending quick-win assignments that only pile on more garbage to the obvious crumbling infrastructure that our drunk leaders call a "tech-company". - false promises If the lies about salary being above market value weren't enough, leadership also likes to tease their developers with bonuses and bounties that historically have not been delivered on. Miss the bounty deadline by a day? Dang, no bonus, but we still need that project out there, and yesterday. This carrot-on-a-string strategy has further distanced teams that used to work well together as everyone is now after their own profits.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2018-01-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Test Engineer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best people, Knowledgeable co-workers, Latest technology to learn

    Cons

    Not came across so far

    Overstock.com2018-02-14
  10. Helpful (31)

    "Engineers must avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits were nice enough, but even that aspect was subpar. New campus is reasonably pleasant. Stable job, ish, on the tech side.

    Cons

    Where to begin. All management at all levels are completely unfit for their roles. This manifests as total lack of ownership of teams over what they are working on (for “team players”), black box business direction means there is nothing to align with so every project doesn’t make real business sense and is more set against dictatorial opinion than well-reasoned healthy goals (“fast paced”). Most dev staff have adopted a coping mechanism of “that’s just crazy overstock, I’m just here to do what I’m told at this point” which is beyond unhealthy and leads to useless engineers who produce unsustainably bad work. Management don’t know how to do their own jobs, which go completely unfilled in terms of responsibility, so they just try to do other people’s jobs instead - even the micromanagement issue aside, this is a problem because they are utterly bad at those usurped jobs too. No feedback loops anywhere. Most teams are lucky if they have a manager who even bothers to talk to them about how their job is going on occasion. This has created a completely out of touch executive team - explicitly by their own choosing - who have completely misguided conclusions about what has proved to be a good decision and what is causing major harm to teams. Even if they were clued in, though, it wouldn’t change their behavior, because they feel their responsibility is to each other and in no way to their teams. They simply don’t care and go out of their way to avoid doing things that resemble caring.

    Continue reading
    Overstock.com2018-01-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 26 reviews