Overstock.com "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Overstock.com Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Jan 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
40%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Overstock.com Interim CEO Jonathan Johnson
Jonathan Johnson
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits, home/work life balance, competitive compensation, leverages technology(in 80 reviews)

  • "Such great people and I made so many lifelong friends there(in 44 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is the dumbest I have ever seen(in 68 reviews)

  • "Some senior management is afraid to call any shots because they don't want to be held accountable for the outcome or fired(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great people to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com

    Pros

    The company is not afraid to try new things. Ideas on their merits, not their presenter. Almost everyone here is a good person to work with - i.e. we don't hire jerks.

    Cons

    Sometimes the company is too slow to recognize that a person is a poor performer. We usually deal well with this, but if an employee becomes a "favorite child" of someone in senior management, it can take several notable failures before they are recognized as incompetent. Office space is getting tight, and is leading to compromises which impact productivity and satisfaction.

    Advice to Management

    The company is sometimes too quick to change direction on a whim. We sometimes loose sight of strategic goals to pursue the latest "shiny new thing". Being willing to take a slightly longer term view would, I believe, not only make the company more successful, but also more satisfying to work for.

    Overstock.com2009-12-22
  2. Helpful (23)

    "The higher up you get, the more of a joke this place is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Midvale, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -The building is new -The building is unique -People ask, "Overstock... is that that round building in Midvale? " -Standing and sitting desks -Collaborative environment -Comfy furniture in the office -There are nice people to work with -The view can be great depending on where you are in the building -Subsidized daycare (starting at $860/month for a 6 week old, full time only) -on site gym for free -Subsidized on sight bon appetite cafe food

    Show More

    Cons

    Favoritism is big here at Overstock. At first you think its all about performance and how well you do your job, but as you get to know people, become familiar with senior leadership, you start to understand that a lot of people are where they are, because who they are friends with (they hand out VP and Director titles like candy). There is a very tight knit group of senior leadership, they all started at Overstock about the same time and are all high up in the company even though you see them wandering around not doing anything (CMO is a very hardworking guy, the rest are "cool guys"). Senior leadership is a joke here. It's hard to get them all on the same page. No one wants to be the guy to have the final say as to what to do for sure. It's a lot of... well I can see both options, so and so what do you think? Senior leadership doesn't have a backbone. Also, they are terrible at planning. They have a "hire now because we need projects done and lay them off later" mentality. Overstock is trying to get acquired so they decide that because of the CEOs poor ability to plan and blow a whole bunch of spend and how that will affect the company, they decide that layoffs need to happen to make it look like they are a smooth, trimmed, operating machine, then try to cover up the layoff reasoning with problems with SEO and Google. I look around the office and see and hear people that got laid off because of "performance issues" but yet I see people still there, higher management, that all they do is wander around the office and chat to people. Good luck challenging the status quo too. You start to even question and challenge upper management, they will either burn you or make your life very difficult. If you want to work for a company that promotes based on your friends, go for it. Overstock SAYS they promote work life balance, value the employee and the little guys, and care and cherish your hard work, but at the end of the day, there is a forever growing gap of upper management and the average worker. As long as Overstock makes money, senior management will continue to treat themselves well with great pay, but will make sure that the little guys and everyone else that made it possible to get where they are, stay well below them in responsibilities, compensation, and the friend circle. Also senior leadership is grossly overpaid. As I have developed friendships, people share what their compensation is (I personally know people in most of these roles, other roles the people I know have told me) Manager $75- $90k Senior Manger $85-130k Director $120-$170k Senior Director $160-200k VP $180-$250k SVP $230-300k CO $300+k

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Get on the same page as your peers - Keep actual good talent and don't push away your employees who actually bring value - When you say trim the fat, trim the fat of people who don't do anything and nevermind that they are buddies with certain people - Actually do what you say that you value the little people and encourage work life balance - Get better management

    Overstock.com2019-01-22
  3. Helpful (47)

    "Lots of promises - little delivered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Midvale, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    401k with 6% match, vesting from day one Nice campus with gym, medical clinic, coffee bar Benefits are OK Work/Life balance can be good depending on what group you work for

    Cons

    Where to begin. There are lots of great people and talent but senior leadership is not where you'd find it. There are some great directors and some vice presidents, but most senior leadership are best friends of the president and CEO. Some have no functional or operational experience in the areas they're over. Lately they have been hiring people just because they have a certain .com on their resume but again no experience whatsoever in the areas they will be over. Leadership changes directions and whims as fast as people change underwear. We bandaid fix things instead of proper upgrades, enhancements, or plain common sense when doing deployments and rollouts. We're told to rush out projects before they are done, just to get something out. Tripping over dollars to pick up dimes is a common theme. The culture is so toxic and getting worse. Many of the people that are causes for this toxic culture seem to get promoted while those who work hard, produce results (backed up by numbers and stats), and add to the bottom line of the company are passed up because they aren't drinking buddies or related to someone in senior management. If Obi-Wan kenobi were asked about working here he'd say, "Move along. This isn't the company you're looking for."

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No one is listening so why bother.

    Overstock.com2017-07-07
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Hard Work Gets Rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Care Organization in Midvale, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - In my department if you work hard you are acknowledged, rewarded, and feel valued - Amazing building with great amenities - Onsite Daycare (its great that your kids are so close and they have apps for you to keep tabs on your kids while you work) - Onsite Health Care, with a fantastic doctor and support staff - In my department I have excellent work/life balance - Great interactions with executives, they'll talk with you, shoot the breeze with you, and help facilitate and implement your ideas - Love the convenience of having a cafe onsite with plenty of options - You get to work with awesome people. Diversity is welcome and appreciated. - The president of the company has taken time to have a conversation with me - non business related - Our leaders in our department genuinely care and go out of their way to make things better - With the exception of the first two years that I have worked here I have received pay increases directly tied to my work and merits, even though we have strayed from a formal annual review process - Our department takes care of the employees in the department sometimes making herculean efforts to do so - We have so many "boomerangs" which tells me the grass isn't greener someplace else. People always come back. - My department has a great Director, VP, and SVP - Whenever I need a change in my job, my boss does his very best to find things to keep me engaged, growing, and progressing - I am given challenging tasks that have great rewards - There are opportunities for formal and informal mentoring

    Show More

    Cons

    - It took way too long to get rid of people who were not the right fit - You kept a VP (too long) who was hell bent on changing the Overstock culture, stopped measuring key performance indicators, and minimized the value of our CEO and Founder - Because of this you lost a lot of trust in the Customer Care Organization - You scaled back in the executive management team yet you are currently overstaffed in Customer Care management - You've lost the wonderful culture that used to exist in Customer Care - The same VP you left in her position to long, pushed great tenured management into superfluous positions that doesn't add value to the company so she could move in her people. And because they were worried about losing their job some of them managed to alienate people who were only trying to help them out - Some senior management is afraid to call any shots because they don't want to be held accountable for the outcome or fired - This is uber petty - but I really hate the walk from the parking structure into the building. - This is also uber petty - I wish there was fruit punch in the fountain drinks and not the gaterade fruit punch, but like real HI-C Fruitpunch

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward... In the last 5 years I have seen so many great changes and promises fulfilled like building the new building, and bringing compensation above market (I feel like I am finally getting paid at the low end or my range) Add fruit punch to the soda machine :) Make decisions and do not be afraid of the outcome Its great that we crowd source, but sometimes you need to make decisions with out involving everyone... It becomes too tedious and progress stops because you are waiting for a consensus. Oh and it would be great to have the CEO respond to this post.

    Show More
    Overstock.com2017-05-10
  5. Helpful (43)

    "Company In Turmoil"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool new building, although not quite what we expected. It has a cafeteria and the work areas are definitely open floorplan but cramped work areas and lack of personal space makes it hard to concentrate. Also, the “child care” is really more of an expensive pre-school for the upper level people who can already afford child-care, not the majority of us entry level people working paycheck to paycheck…. Who the heck came up with this menu of employee “perks” anyway? Bottom line: Cool new building but open floorplan and childcare are a swing and a miss.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not a great place to get promoted unless you are part of the inner circle. I know this common in small mom-n-pop shops like Overstock, but it’s definitely more prevalent here than I’ve ever seen before and it is hampering company growth and confidence in senior management. There is also something odd going on with the executive team. Anyone close to the past president has either left or is on the verge of leaving and been replaced by people from the CEO’s inner circle. I know these type of management cleansings are common in business, but 10 executives in less than a year from a company of 1,500 employees is pretty severe in my experience. I can’t say if things are better or worse with these changes but this kind of movement is concerning. My biggest issue is that Overstock has returned to the annual “rank-and-yank” policy that the CEO is such a fan of. No one is safe. I think the thing that bothers me most about Patrick’s disconnected “rich boy” attitude is that he waits until after Christmas to make the cuts, because he needs his worker-bees putting in long, hard stressful hours to get him through the shopping season. Once the holiday is over and he’s counted his money, he immediately demands cuts from his managers… He's a real piece of work! Bottom line: Not a good place to build a career. Too many politics, low job security, and out of touch CEO.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The people strategy needs a makeover. The new building and cafeteria are nice but you can't buy loyal with a few bobbles, you need to earn it with actions. Hope this helps.

    Overstock.com2017-01-16
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in West Jordan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are good to work with The company culture encourages people to learn new skills Fun activities are part of the culture

    Cons

    Salaries are below market Senior management does not prioritize the company's well being over pet projects

    Overstock.com2016-04-04
  7. Helpful (38)

    "Dysfunctional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Overstock.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some smart people left that can be learned from if you go out of your way to bother them. If you get in with the right people, your chances of success are greatly increased. It's all about politics and nepotism, so if you're moderately decent at that you'll be way ahead of anyone else. Depending on your team, there is also nothing to do, at all, ever, so if you like doing nothing you'll thrive with the rest of the people doing nothing. Except for the holidays when the executives bark bad decisions at everyone. Sometimes they pass out alcohol for no reason. Which is definitely a pro. Also Lagoon day and the other random parties they have are quite good.

    Show More

    Cons

    The executives are clueless. Incompetence, laziness, entitlement, and cronyism are apparently requirements to become part of the senior management. There is no leadership. There is a handful of indolent, inbred fear mongers that exert their power with contradictory and incompetent decisions that are unchallenged due to the nature of the structure of the kleptocracy. The CEO will send us emails with photos of him surfing in Australia during Christmas time while we are working through the night to make sure we keep his party fund well-padded. The President and CEO make a mockery of company-wide meetings where they make sex jokes and talk about drugs in between their incoherent babble with slides of strategy road maps where "the words don't matter." The sex and drug stuff might actually not be a big deal and maybe even be cute or charming if not for the fact that the rest of what's going on is so ridiculous. Millions of dollars go to whatever new lawsuits decide to show up any given month that Overstock refuses to take out of court despite their leadership's anti-government obsession. Then they take the expenses directly out of the already meager 'bonuses.' Brothers and sisters, husbands and wives, sons and daughters, mothers and fathers, best buddies, and booty calls all report to each other and get high profile positions despite the obvious lack of merit on every level from every member of the group being described. It is quite embarrassing and incestual, whether or not these folks realize they are being talked about and made fun of. But in reality it doesn't matter because they are in charge. Many people don't even know who they report to. Organization charts change before they finish being implemented. Some people even report to themselves in the system, and some teams don't report to anyone at all. It is utter madness. The CEO hires contractors and has several pet projects that that bleed out value from the company like a slashed artery. He's completely checked out, as are most of the tenured employees of the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We've all learned by now that pretending to give "Advice to Management" is a futile effort for employees of this company.

    Overstock.com2016-03-04
  8. "Decent pay, ok work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer in Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and ok benefits. It really depends on your position and department.

    Cons

    Nepotism. Friends or families of senior management get better treatments. People got fired for critizing senior management and the CEO.

    Advice to Management

    Be professional.

    Overstock.com2016-03-03
  9. Helpful (29)

    "Dont believe the 5 star reivews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Buyer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance fairy laid back

    Cons

    Horrible expensive projects that never generate $$$ Bad senior management bad pay hiring/promoting unqualified people less fear based leadership

    Advice to Management

    better perks clear vision new president

    Overstock.com2015-11-27
  10. Helpful (38)

    "Most of the reviews I have to agree with. My constructive feedback:"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Overstock.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have worked with some amazing people at Overstock. Made some great friends and those friendships will last for years. I think the 401k plan is amazing.

    Cons

    I really don't want to turn this review into an Overstock bashing review like other of my former colleagues have posted. I will echo a lot of the negative concerns such as Arches Healthcare, smoking pot jokes at quarterly meetings, rash and unrealistic requests made by management, nepotism, and people being terrified to lose their job depending on the day by senior management. My main concerns from my experience are these: Teams are overworked and are on skeleton crews. Attention is very narrow and focused specific to their team due to this. I would like to see teams within the same department shift their focus to being part of a larger team helping out one another to achieve the common goal. If there is a task that needs 3 teams to be involved and it's important to solve it, I would like to see a member of each team sit down together and just fix the problem in an efficient manner vs emailing teams back and forth waiting for each team to do their part. I would like to see management be revamped and eliminate the fear that is passed down. You don't motivate your teams with fear. Motivate with giving the employees the tools they need and the number of employees needed to successfully achieve the goal and tasks at hand.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Overall my experience was average. I saw some good and unfortunately more negative than good. I ask that you truly take into consideration the other reviews that have been written to try to right what is wronged. I think Overstock is a great company and it has the potential to be even better but please listen to those employees who have taken the time to write these thoughtful reviews.

    Overstock.com2015-06-27
Found 26 reviews