Cover image for Overstock.com
Logo

Overstock.com

Engaged Employer

Overstock.com

Add a Review

Overstock.com Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 19, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,079 of over 1K reviews
3.3
52% Recommend to a Friend
Overstock.com Interim CEO Jonathan Johnson
70% Approve of CEO

Found 112 of over 1K reviews

3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Overstock.com Interim CEO Jonathan Johnson
Jonathan Johnson
137 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Some great people but sadly they're overpowered by bureaucratic bigoted leadership that points blame at others(in 120 reviews)
  • "Good Benefits and very affordable(in 100 reviews)
  • "Very focused on good work/life balance.(in 51 reviews)
  • "Great culture in the middle and lower ranks.(in 39 reviews)
  • "Decent new building to work in?(in 30 reviews)
Cons
  • "management are often promoted to positions they have not earned or are incapable of doing.(in 56 reviews)
  • "Upper management is always looking at the next big thing and leave other ideas partially implemented and broken.(in 55 reviews)
  • "Nepotism and cronyism are rampant and act as a plague to the morale of the employees.(in 43 reviews)
  • "Pay is low and they expect you to hire new people to make more money than you.(in 43 reviews)
  • "If you get one of the bad managers, you are watched like a hawk, told what to do, and given no freedom to experience the good things about the company.(in 24 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Overstock.com and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Meh

    Sep 20, 2020 - Senior Test Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance is good but they are not growing

    Cons

    They fire people when their projects go wrong and most of them do

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Revolving door

    Jul 9, 2015 - Leadership Member in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *401k, *the people in the trenches are hard working and innovative. *Compensation is at market for most

    Cons

    *Constant turnover at the highest level of the company. In the last two years we have lost our SVPs in people care (HR), business development, technology, and legal. Look at our 5 year turnover rate of the leadership group. We have also lost several VPs, Sr. Directors, Directors and Managers. Although these are spun as people moving on for personal growth many of us see how people are forced out. *Work life balance: This should be called work balance because you have to balance work and hope for a life. While it is understandable to have to do some long days while part of management this is beyond. People, myself included, have cancelled vacations, missed recitals, games, graduations, weddings, funerals, and more. Meetings are a way of life in the company lasting into the early evening making it very difficult to plan anything outside work. *Nepotism: Amazing how family members of the highest ranking people in the company are all in fortuitous positions ( we call it the first family- that should be self explanatory). *Fear based leadership: I have seen numerous people reprimanded in a group setting, so much so they left the company. It is not uncommon for the President or SVPs to call a person into a meting and publicly humiliate them. I have also seen a manager, director or sr. director lose their job carrying out the vision set forth by the senior executive team and then vilified after they leave. People in all areas of the company are in constant fear the President will release her rage on them and they will be out of a job. This should not be a surprise since the motto is 'if you are not going to kick a man while he is down, when will you kick him'. *Talking out of both sides of our mouth: We celebrate our military service members (as well we should) by touting their leadership and other abilities. Where are they? All our military who were in leadership roles are gone. What happened? good one day gone the next. Does our culture not mesh with their traits? Great we support Wounded Warrior Foundation and Special Warrior Fund, but money donations are not everything. Give a man a fish... *Tail wagging the dog: If our Senior Executive team is not going to back and trust our 'leadership team' (VPs, Sr. Director and Directors) why have it? *No direction: we rarely give an idea or new business unit a chance to take off. Each project is given minimal time to correct bugs before someone feels they need to swoop in and save it or scrub it and move on.

    Continue reading
    38 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Overstock.com team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Was a good place to work until recently

    Mar 30, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance is good

    Cons

    ->Bonus = null ->Don't know the priority of the projects. In fact management people don't even know what's going on and just demand the developers to do what's said without even knowing the feasibility. ->Poor pay -> No job security ->->You never know when you will be fired without any reason.

    Continue reading
    25 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Environment

    Jan 13, 2016 -  in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very focused on good work/life balance. Opportunity to work with great people and cutting edge technologies. Compensation is competitive.

    Cons

    Upper management is constantly changing which leads to continues shifts in marking initiatives that seem to hurt corporate profitability.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good

    Dec 28, 2021 - BI Developer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are great people

    Cons

    They tout work life balance but it’s an illusion

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Very happy working at Overstock

    Aug 15, 2015 - Database Administrator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very skilled and knowledgeable co-workers Excellent Managers and Directors in the operations department The pay is very competitive Strong encouragement of work/life balance 401k and Health Insurance are great

    Cons

    Lots of work to do, not enough people to do it.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    CS-5years working there

    Sep 4, 2016 - Customer Service Representative in West Valley City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The 'extras'. Lagoon Day, benefits, counseling (get this it's on-site..that should tell you something), Overstocktober celebrations.

    Cons

    Have PTO? Too bad, you can't use it. Work/Home life balance is awful! Don't speak up or speak out about things that may be wrong, you will get fired. It's the new tyrant CS VP leader, don't let her fool you, she's the devil in disguise. The Overstock they once were and boasted about is dead. There's too many cons I could go on for days so I'll end it here.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good work life balance

    Dec 14, 2021 - Senior Front End Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall Overstock was a good place to be a developer. At the time the tech stack was modern and the work life balance was great.

    Cons

    There were massive layoffs when I was there (mostly non-tech)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Could be great... but needs help!

    Feb 28, 2019 - Designer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance Great co workers (depending on team) Facilities are really nice IE cafe, gym, health clinic The work life balance is great and depending on your team it can be really great. I made some life long friends there. Benefits are really good including health insurance and also amenities there. Has the potential to be a great brand if they had the right people in charge.

    Cons

    Leadership needs to really think about what they are trying to do, make a decision and stick with it. Are they a retail, cryto currency, or tech company? Yes some people can be all those things but overstock? not so much. Allow people to do their jobs, there needs to be less over site on things that don't effect the bottom line. Stop micro managing. Also you should let some women into the boys club at the top. Your main customer is a woman after all, maybe listen to your female employees thoughtfully. Nepotism is alive and well there when at times is fine as long as the person coming in can do the job. HOWEVER when that person is allowed to talk about how they can't be fired that is disrespectful to the other workers. Don't hire your friends if they can't do the job. Just know at the end of the day if you are NOT a man, white, and religious that upward movement is extremely hard. It's a good first job to get a "tech" company on your resume and a good experience on how to play politics. You will get paid just fine and if you just need a job you will do fine but it is NOT a longer term career company by any means, and they will cut you faster than you want to believe. Many co workers where dealt with in such a manner. They are in the business of making money, nothing more, and as long as you know that and are okay with that this could be a place for you.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful

    Overstock.com Response

    CEO

    We are about the most Color and Gender blind firm I know of in Utah, anyway. Of the 6 Retail SVPs, 2 are female. And 2 are People of Color. Of the 24 +/- 24 VPs, 8 are female and around the same number or more are People of Color. So 1/3 of executives in a tech company are female. I think that is pretty unheard of. We have a dedicated program to find and promote females. We have given numerous scholarships to go through a year training at the U, dedicated to preparing women for leadership. So I am not sure what to make of such claims.

  11. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Lots of promises - little delivered

    Jul 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Midvale, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    401k with 6% match, vesting from day one Nice campus with gym, medical clinic, coffee bar Benefits are OK Work/Life balance can be good depending on what group you work for

    Cons

    Where to begin. There are lots of great people and talent but senior leadership is not where you'd find it. There are some great directors and some vice presidents, but most senior leadership are best friends of the president and CEO. Some have no functional or operational experience in the areas they're over. Lately they have been hiring people just because they have a certain .com on their resume but again no experience whatsoever in the areas they will be over. Leadership changes directions and whims as fast as people change underwear. We bandaid fix things instead of proper upgrades, enhancements, or plain common sense when doing deployments and rollouts. We're told to rush out projects before they are done, just to get something out. Tripping over dollars to pick up dimes is a common theme. The culture is so toxic and getting worse. Many of the people that are causes for this toxic culture seem to get promoted while those who work hard, produce results (backed up by numbers and stats), and add to the bottom line of the company are passed up because they aren't drinking buddies or related to someone in senior management. If Obi-Wan kenobi were asked about working here he'd say, "Move along. This isn't the company you're looking for."

    Continue reading
    48 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 112 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Overstock.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Overstock.com? Share Your Experiences

Overstock.com logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Overstock.com Photos

+ Add Photo
Overstock.com photo of: Overstocktober 2022
Overstock.com photo of: Overstocktober 2022
Overstock.com photo of: Overstocktober Resized 2022
Overstock.com photo of: Overstocktober 2022
Overstock.com photo of: Overstocktober 2022
Overstock.com photo of: Overstocktober 2022
Overstock.com photo of: Overstocktober 2022
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Overstock.com Job Seekers Also Viewed

Adobe Logo
Adobe

4.4

8,351 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,079 Overstock.com reviews submitted anonymously by Overstock.com employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Overstock.com is right for you.