Owens Corning Reviews | Glassdoor

Owens Corning Reviews

Updated January 15, 2019
381 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Owens Corning Chairman and CEO Mike Thaman
Mike Thaman
229 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "which is reflected in the work-life balance rating" (in 21 reviews)

  • "Great people from the management to the people on the floor" (in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance could be better" (in 20 reviews)

  • "Long hours and you never really get to "leave" work" (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Production Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Owens Corning full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company to work for - Very safety conscious – Opportunity for employee development – Great bonus program for all employees.

    Cons

    None to report at this time

    Owens Corning Response

    Oct 10, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review!


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Overall great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toledo, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Large majority of managers are caring and good at what they do, team collaboration is important, lots of opportunity for movement.

    Cons

    There is a culture of promoting people based off their "perception" by management rather than their skill. Development program graduates are often pushed through the pipeline often at the expense of others.

    Advice to Management

    Work on creating a culture that focuses on a persons skill and data rather than using relying on people's perceptions of candidates.

    Owens Corning Response

    Jan 2, 2019 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for writing a review. I am so glad your experience has been mostly positive. The feedback you provided is valuable because we are always looking for ways to improve.

  3. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Leader in Toledo, OH
    Former Employee - Human Resources Leader in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Owens Corning full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    OC has tremendous people. Mature and solid company. OC is continuously improving its people and processes.

    Cons

    Must be willing to learn and change to grow with the company.


  4. "Just Started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Internal Controls Analyst in Toledo, OH
    Current Employee - Senior Internal Controls Analyst in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I just had a really great interview process and have really loved my time working with Owens Corning so far. They are a great company with great people!

    Cons

    I have not encountered any downsides to working here yet. They are a great company with great benefits.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - EHS Specialist
    Current Employee - EHS Specialist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    OC seems to have a solid organizational structure for a company that is so large and actively expanding its reach. At my plant I am encouraged to go home at the end of the day and take lunches, ect. which is reflected in the work-life balance rating. Concerning Career Opportunities; If you are willing to travel or relocate and have some education under your belt then it seems that there are plenty of opportunities to be had.

    Cons

    Please take into consideration that I have only worked here for 7 months. With that being said, I have noticed the following things: 1) OC has leadership programs where they recruit kids directly out of college, put them through a 1-2 yr program in which they work at different plants and learn the mid-management roles associated with their area of study. I think it is great that they have the programs but I have noticed experience gaps in the department-regional manager roles I have worked with.
    2) It may just be the plant I work at, but there is a lack of cohesion and communication between departments which leads to double work and lost time.

    Advice to Management

    Realize the value of experience outside of OC. I understand the purpose of NLT and LD programs, however, there is a lot of knowledge, experience and value within the ranks of the plant staff and I have not yet seen that there is a path to really utilize it.

    Owens Corning Response

    Jan 9, 2019 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The feedback you provided is valuable because we are always looking for ways to improve.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Technical Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Safety focus.

    Cons

    Under staffed for the work load

    Advice to Management

    Reward those who execute well and require little guidance.

    Owens Corning Response

    Jan 2, 2019 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The feedback you provided is valuable because we are always looking for ways to improve.


  7. "Center Office Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Owens Corning full-time

    Pros

    There are none that I can think of.

    Cons

    Games are played so the bosses in the front office look good. A real decision was never made, no support and zero training.

    Owens Corning Response

    Jan 9, 2019 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Just stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time

    Pros

    They have they Pink Panther

    Cons

    Everything. Healthcare is awful, total boys club, reward incompetence, overpaid people, corporate monster

    Advice to Management

    PLEASE invest more in women and stop creating a fear culture.


  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Technician in Jackson, TN
    Current Employee - Operations Technician in Jackson, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Overtime paid weekly easy work 401k

    Cons

    Swing shifts poor people skills in leadership

    Owens Corning Response

    Jan 2, 2019 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review!


  10. "Receiving Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receiving in Fort Smith, AR
    Current Employee - Receiving in Fort Smith, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Take care of their employees

    Cons

    Work in hot and cold conditions regularly

    Advice to Management

    Keep safety priority

    Owens Corning Response

    Jan 2, 2019 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!