Owens Corning Reviews | Glassdoor

Owens Corning Reviews

Updated December 29, 2017
313 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Owens Corning Chairman and CEO Mike Thaman
Mike Thaman
182 Ratings

313 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work-life balance a challenge at times (in 17 reviews)

  • Long hours and you never really get to "leave" work (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Can’t imagine a better employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Owens Corning as a company truly cares about its employees - even being a Fortune 500 company, I have never felt like “just another number” or like I’m lost in the shuffle. All the way up to senior level management, leaders overall are approachable and want to help you succeed. The bar is set high, but this only helps you better yourself and the company overall.

    Cons

    Headquarters being in Toledo, Ohio doesn’t work in the favor of OC, unless you (like many employees) are from the area and wish to remain located there.

    Owens Corning Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – Sr. Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled your experience has been positive. Thank you for your review!


  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, compensation and many career development opportunities

    Cons

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Owens Corning Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear your experience has been positive!

  3. "Internship Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Engineer in Fairburn, GA
    Former Employee - Technical Engineer in Fairburn, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Interning with OC was an amazing experience where I was able to take on complete engineering roles and was looked at as a fellow engineer and not only an intern.

    Cons

    Honesty I have there were no cons with my experience working for OC as an intern.

    Owens Corning Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled your experience has been positive. Thank you for your review!


  4. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Owens Corning full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great People, Growing Company, Positive Culture

    Cons

    Some politics like most companies

    Owens Corning Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review!


  5. "Purchasing agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Owens Corning full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work environment for employees

    Cons

    Inconsistent work schedule for employees

    Advice to Management

    Let it be know the job is seasonal

    Owens Corning Response

    Dec 12, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your feedback!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Ive worked in worse places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shingle Machine Operator in Medina, OH
    Current Employee - Shingle Machine Operator in Medina, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Working for the company itself is a rewarding experience itself i have learned a lot since i started. They want you to learn as much as possible and strive on continuous improvement and safety.

    Cons

    The majority of supervisors could use some couching to say the least. Some of the working enviroments are less then favorable. The spectrum of climate change is drastic so you have to be prepared for the worst at all times

    Advice to Management

    Supervisors need to be better trained on conduct codes with personal interaction and have to understand that we cant do our jobs with broken or malfunctioning equipment safely and efficiently

    Owens Corning Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The feedback you provided is valuable because we are always looking for ways to improve.


  7. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time

    Pros

    Safety and employees who dedicate themselves for owenscorning

    Cons

    Rotating shifts and seven days a week

    Owens Corning Response

    Dec 12, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so glad your experience has been positive, and that you can see the importance we place on the safety and well-being of our employees.

  8. "Relief"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relief in Compton, CA
    Former Employee - Relief in Compton, CA

    I worked at Owens Corning full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    This company excelled on safety

    Cons

    This company wasn’t union and give very little vacation days

    Advice to Management

    My advice to this company would be more vacation time and PTO

    Owens Corning Response

    Dec 13, 2017

    Thanks for writing a review!


  9. "Plant-by-plant basis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waxahachie, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waxahachie, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Unionized plant protects wages and jobs

    Cons

    Short breaks, favoritism still exists within the company

    Advice to Management

    Instead of cutting costs by cutting jobs, try cutting wastes such as all of the scrap we produce.

    Owens Corning Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Owens Corning full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work if you want/need a steady job. They treat their employees well and have an open door policy. You also have the opportunity to move around to different areas and try new jobs and opportunities.

    Cons

    Upward mobility is a challenge. Management struggles with promoting people and career progression. Values collaboration over critical thinking.

    Advice to Management

    Good job of respecting your employees. Can use improvement in executing on what you say you will do.

    Owens Corning Response

    Dec 12, 2017

    Thank you for writing a review. I am so glad your experience has been mostly positive. The feedback you provided is valuable because we are always looking for ways to improve. Developing talent is... More


Showing 313 of 343 reviews
Reset Filters