Owens Corning Reviews | Glassdoor

Owens Corning Reviews

Updated July 10, 2018
352 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Owens Corning Chairman and CEO Mike Thaman
Mike Thaman
209 Ratings

352 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance could be better" (in 19 reviews)

  • "Long hours and you never really get to "leave" work" (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Exceptional Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent growth opportunities and superior leadership.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say or report.

    Owens Corning Response

    Jul 11, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for sharing your feedback!


  2. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Safety oriented, great people to work with and great management

    Cons

    Can be tough to move up in management

    Owens Corning Response

    Jul 11, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for sharing your feedback!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Plenty of benefits day 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Owens Corning full-time

    Pros

    Paid lunch, a week of vacation from the start along with full medical, dental, vision benefits. 6% match 401k is also a guarantee day 1.

    Cons

    Lots of staring at product for long spells then suddenly getting pressured to run like a chicken with its head cut off to clear machine jams and other issues. Leads to lots of screaming by operators at other operators. Long periods of inaction encourage groups to form, if you're not in the clique prepare for boredom.

    Advice to Management

    Break up the cliques and demand more from people on the floor, I thought I was working not back in high school.

    Owens Corning Response

    Jul 11, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The feedback you provided is valuable because we are always looking for ways to improve.


  4. "account"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    very very very very good

    Cons

    i do not like leave negative comments

    Owens Corning Response

    Jul 11, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thanks for writing a review!


  5. "Manage cupola operations and personnel in a daily basis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Lead in Joplin, MO
    Current Employee - Operations Lead in Joplin, MO

    Pros

    Good compensation and benefits. Promote quickly

    Cons

    Too much micromanagement by superiors

    Owens Corning Response

    Jul 11, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The feedback you provided is valuable because we are always looking for ways to improve.


  6. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time

    Pros

    Owens Corning truly cares about developing their employees and providing rewarding experiences.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance could be improved upon.

    Owens Corning Response

    Jul 11, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toledo, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    development opportunity
    good base pay
    global company

    Cons

    matrix organization
    old fashioned leadership style

    Owens Corning Response

    Jul 11, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review!

  8. "Packaging operator assient level 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Packaging Operator Assient Level II in Delmar, NY
    Current Employee - Packaging Operator Assient Level II in Delmar, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    There good learning experience and good team work.

    Cons

    Long hours on the body but good work.

    Advice to Management

    I'm a good work working guy willing to learn new things.

    Owens Corning Response

    Jul 11, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for sharing your feedback!


  9. "Stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time

    Pros

    Easy work for good pay
    You can coast along or work your way up, depending on whether you have zero to mild ambition

    Cons

    Ok as long as you don't mind being told by upper management that you cannot report sexual harassment bc it makes them look bad

    Advice to Management

    The nepotism is embarrassing for a global company

    Owens Corning Response

    Jul 11, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for writing a review. We take your feedback seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve. A positive employee experience is a main priority at Owens Corning, and I am sorry you... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not a bad stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time

    Pros

    Fair and friendly management and coworkers.

    Cons

    Pay increases start very slow and 12 hour work day is not ideal for those with families.

    Owens Corning Response

    Jul 11, 2018 – Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The feedback you provided is valuable because we are always looking for ways to improve.


Showing 352 of 385 reviews
Reset Filters