Owens Corning 266 Reviews | Glassdoor

Owens Corning Reviews

Updated March 16, 2017
266 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

266 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Focus on work life balance is a huge plus (in 19 reviews)

  • Great people in the organization from top to bottom and many of its employees have been with the company 10 (in 18 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Production supervisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Owens Corning (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Could be a great place to work.

    Cons

    Upper management runs the plant like a high school activity club instead of manufacturing plant.


  2. "Human Resources"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time

    Pros

    Owens Corning is a great company that values its employees and the communities it operates in. Growth and development of all employees is a hallmark of the organization.

    Cons

    There are no cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to strive to be a company where employees want to stay for their whole career.

    Owens Corning Response

    Nov 11, 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Growth and development for all employees is certainly of the utmost importance, and I am so glad you can feel that in the organization.


  3. "Happy"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Leader in Toledo, OH
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Leader in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Culture is amazing, safety is very important, great pay and ability to promote within, active in growth and development for their employees

    Cons

    Corporate org structure is frustrating as one may need to go thru various levels of people before getting something approved

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more

    Owens Corning Response

    Nov 11, 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to receive your positive feedback on our culture and stance on safety. Your feedback around our org structure is equally as ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (3)

    "Area Sales Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Owens Corning full-time

    Pros

    Very concerned about employee safety. You can buy stock options at a reduced rate. They pay was good. Truly can not think of any other Pros.

    Cons

    Health insurance coverage is poor for a fortune 500 company. They claim they are in the top 50% as far as benefits for fortune 500 companies. I had better coverage at a smaller company I worked for. They have had 4 directors of sales in the past 2 years. No clear plan on what direction they want to go. Management comes across as condescending and arrogant to customers. They tend to delay responding to issue (quality or warranties) hoping the issue will some how go away.

    Advice to Management

    Work out in the field more and listen to the customer complaints in person instead of hiding behind a phone. Improve turn around time for customer issues.

    Owens Corning Response

    Nov 22, 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to voice your feedback. I am glad that you saw some positives during your time with OC, namely our stance on safety, Employee Stock Purchase Plan and compensation ... More


  6. "Marketing Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Holland, OH
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Holland, OH

    I worked at Owens Corning (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Loved it!! The Marketing team was great to work with.

    Cons

    No cons!

    Except walking from parking lot!

    Owens Corning Response

    Nov 11, 2016

    Thank you for the review! I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us!


  7. "Regional sales manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good ,honest. Company. They follow through wil all plans made and really do listen to everyone's opinion. Bonus's are very generous.

    Cons

    Long days which include nights and weekends. It was hard to have a life outside of work. Any time off was met with much resistance.

    Advice to Management

    Have more patience with new sales people we bring on board. I felt like we let people go before they got comfortable with the sellling process. Also a draw for the first couple of months.

    Owens Corning Response

    Nov 22, 2016

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience, and you provided some very valuable feedback for us to think about.


  8. "Great place to work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Owens Corning is a good environment for employees that want to cultivate growth and be willing to step outside your comfort zone to grow. There are many opportunities for advancement for individuals that are willing to work hard and put forth the effort. The environment and leadership supports work life balance as long as you are delivering on your objectives.

    Cons

    Traffic to drive downtown has been bad for a few years and doesn't seem to get better.

    Advice to Management

    Continue Listening to your employees and growing the company.

    Owens Corning Response

    Nov 11, 2016

    Thank you for writing such a positive review. We are so glad you are having a great experience with OC.


  9. "Awesome Place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Does not micro-manage day to day activities. Direct linkage with senior leaders.

    Cons

    Work-life balance a challenge at times.

    Owens Corning Response

    Nov 11, 2016

    Thank you for your feedback!


  10. "Internship"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great internship that provides challenges and real work to prepare you for the full time job

    Cons

    The internship offered great opportunities however the feedback at times could have been more directional

    Advice to Management

    Work to get offers out sooner to have interns ready for the internship timely

    Owens Corning Response

    Nov 11, 2016

    Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad that you found your work to be so meaningful. We strive to provide our interns with challenging work that drives impact.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Nepotism Owens Corning (OEM Business) Louisville"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Owens Corning full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nothing to note - worst professional experience ever.

    Cons

    Present and blame culture; poor executive leadership; nepotism at GM level - OEM Louisville- protective and coercive; BEWARE especially in Louisville.

    Advice to Management

    Clean it up; objectively review your nepotism policy - it may be impacting your business and retention.



Showing 266 of 293 reviews
Reset Filters