Oxfam Reviews | Glassdoor

Oxfam Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 449 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Oxfam CEO Mark Goldring
Mark Goldring
121 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Intern in Washington, DC

    I worked at Oxfam full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Positive, engaging, friendly work environment.

    Cons

    Very fast-paced, so can be somewhat stressful.

    Oxfam2019-04-03
  2. "Amazing Team, Less Amazing Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oxfam part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The team I worked with was absolutely incredible and I still have friends who work for Oxfam. The work they do is incredible and Oxfam does amazing work around the world!

    Cons

    Fundraising is some of the most emotionally stressful work in the world. Quotas are difficult to meet and constant rejection is hard to handle.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t be afraid to mix it up a little. Doing the same thing over and over isn’t fun for anyone, including the locals who have to deal with fundraisers scoping the same areas constantly. F

    Oxfam2019-04-22
  3. "Doing such important work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media and Public Relations in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oxfam part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The community is really strong, the office space feels inclusive and progressive. The team of women I worked with were incredibly hardworking, steadfast in their beliefs, driven and well organized.

    Cons

    Sometimes it was easy to forget the impact the work we were doing every day was having for the individuals we were serving. It was challenging to get caught up in the details and forget about the actual people we were working for. One person on my team suggested I make my desktop background pictures of the people we were doing the work for as a reminder, great advice.

    Advice to Management

    My manager expected a lot, but she was extremely understanding. It was clear the team had a tremendous amount of respect for her, and she was very transparent and candid with the team on all matters.

    Oxfam2019-03-09
  4. "Not for everyone do not recommended long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Oxfam full-time

      Pros

      team environment, thats about it

      Cons

      literally everything else at the time

      Oxfam2019-02-25
    • "Good to start"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Coordinator in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Oxfam full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      It’s a good place to start and to get a handle on how non profits work. Some chances to learn from baby boomers. Super mission driven. The Oxfam America President is a great leader and is all about accountability. Lots of opportunities to be involved with their campaigns and initiatives. They’re making positive cultural changes at their own pace. Clear efforts to change hierarchical environment. Some chances for professional...

      Show More

      Cons

      Salary is good for entry level - not survivable for Boston or families. Hard to grow into a position since it’s so flat. Lots of bureaucracy. Can be elitist. High turnover due to burn out.

      Oxfam2019-01-08
    • "Fun Place!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Oxfam full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The office tries to keep things fun with parties, outings, and and such. Personally, my supervisor is great however, I hear it isn't that way in every department

      Cons

      My specific role is very repetitive, which can get old.

      Oxfam2018-12-06
    • "Program Coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in England, OK
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Oxfam full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Non to judge the company

      Cons

      Good and best place to work

      Advice to Management

      Recruit by candidate merits

      Oxfam2018-11-25
    • "Canvassing Rules!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Oxfam full-time

      Pros

      Got to travel all over the city and talk to all kinds of people while making a difference

      Cons

      Some people don't feel the same way as you and will let you know about it

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work!

      Oxfam2018-10-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Summer Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Summer Intern in Boston, MA

      I worked at Oxfam (Less than a year)

      Pros

      - Little micromanaging, so you can shape the internship the way you want - Lots of opportunity to learn - Great work environment (if you're in a good team) - Opportunity to network

      Cons

      - Management is overstretched - Can get siloed if doesn't show initiative - Basically, you get out of it what you put in

      Advice to Management

      Evaluate its senior position management, cause they need to do a better job as managers so the mid and entry level staff can work more effectively

      Oxfam2018-10-22
    • "Transformative work with amazing people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Oxfam full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Supportive and thoughtful culture Talented, caring colleagues

      Cons

      Hard to think of any. No where is perfect but they come as close as Incan imagine any large organization being.

      Oxfam2018-09-12
    Found 449 reviews