Ozarks Technical Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Ozarks Technical Community College Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Ozarks Technical Community College CEO Hal L. Higdon
Hal L. Higdon
9 Ratings
  1. "Growing membership services and advocacy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MoWINs Project Director in Jefferson City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ozarks Technical Community College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love the small office atmosphere.

    Cons

    There really are no cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing the association.

    Ozarks Technical Community College2019-08-06
  2. "One of the best places I've ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Library Assistant in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ozarks Technical Community College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    OTC has a community feel to it. Everyone is very helpful and pleasant to work with. They encourage you to continue your education and work well with your schedule.

    Cons

    The pay could be better.

    Ozarks Technical Community College2019-07-17
  3. "Unethical practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ozarks Technical Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Work environment, honesty and accountability are not found at this institution.

    Cons

    HR does not follow up appropriately. We had instances where there was time stealing in our department and everyone from the supervisor, to the dean to HR covered it up to avoid any bad media.

    Ozarks Technical Community College2019-07-03
  4. "Great Organization to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outreach Coordinator in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ozarks Technical Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture. Great Benefits. Team Atmosphere.

    Cons

    Pay is middle of the pack

    Ozarks Technical Community College2019-05-14
  5. "Political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ozarks Technical Community College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits including no premium health insurance, life insurance, and dental. Good retirement.

    Cons

    Low pay, pay discrepancies between staff versus faculty and administration. Political.

    Ozarks Technical Community College2019-02-05
  6. "Great environment but your have to work 2 jobs to survive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ozarks Technical Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers, students, off holidays

    Cons

    Pay is terrible, if you already have a master's you won't get increased pay unless you complete your master's while you are working there, moving departments or getting on teaching is very hard, work schedule always changing, sadly it is all about who know to get ahead.

    Ozarks Technical Community College2018-08-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ozarks Technical Community College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable environment where people genuinely want to help others achieve their dreams. They make sound business decisions and senior leadership really care about the students, faculty, and staff.

    Cons

    As with every culture you have those people who make it not enjoyable for the rest of the team. They are very few and far between. On average we have received less than stellar raises. This year will be 1%.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on...

    Ozarks Technical Community College2018-06-25
  8. "Tutoring isn't so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Tutor in Ozark, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ozarks Technical Community College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing that I can think of

    Cons

    They treat you like crap

    Advice to Management

    Treat part timers better

    Ozarks Technical Community College2018-03-18
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ozarks Technical Community College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Coworkers are like family. Everyone is willing to help everyone else out if something is needed. Very student centered approach to teaching and working with students

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    Ozarks Technical Community College2018-01-04
  10. "Fun place to work...if nothing else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bookstore in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ozarks Technical Community College part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Insanely flexible hours, friendly co-workers, great managers, enjoyable work

    Cons

    Laughable pay, even after years of working there. Communication can be lacking at times. Feels like part-timers are considered "lesser" than full time employees.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize that part-time employees are just as important to keeping your college running as the full-timers. Give us a decent pay raise once in a while; even something small would make a world of difference in employee morale. Keep in better communication with other departments and employees.

    Ozarks Technical Community College2017-12-23
Found 44 reviews