P & H Mining Reviews | Glassdoor

P & H Mining Reviews

Updated Apr 22, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Robert W. Hale
2 Ratings
  1. "It was exciting, gratifying and I learned a lot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Motor Division At Orchard in West Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at P & H Mining full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people, the whole atmosphere along with the great benefits.

    Cons

    I really did not experience any cons. I really enjoyed my time working there as a temp.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Please keep in mind and always forward that P&H is one big family working towards a common goal.

    P & H Mining2014-05-07
  2. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at P & H Mining full-time

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, good salary and benefits

    Cons

    Conservative approach but in line with industry

    P & H Mining2017-04-23
  3. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Groupleader in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at P & H Mining full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    benefits and employees were good to work with

    Cons

    working on the off shift

    P & H Mining2014-01-13
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Changes needed in upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at P & H Mining

    Pros

    good product line and most colleagues ok to work with.

    Cons

    favoritism and army recruiting for loyalty not actual job qualifications

    Advice to Management

    change is needed more of a dictatorship than democracy

    P & H Mining2010-02-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in West Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at P & H Mining

    Pros

    The company makes a very quality part. Very good brand name. Advancement potential is there. Company offers much in the way of training and education. Always willing to pay for someone to go to school or take a class. ,

    Cons

    Lack of communication and information sharing. Lack of productivity by union employees. Hard to break employees out of their "old mentality". To create change here, is very difficult, if not impossible.

    Advice to Management

    Enforce rules - set expectations for employees and hold them to these expectations.

    P & H Mining2008-10-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I've gained valuable experience, but it's time to move on."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at P & H Mining

    Pros

    Great benefit package including medical, dental, vision, matching 401K, and Employee Stock Purchase Program. Opportunity to work with a product that is truly a feat of odern engineering.

    Cons

    Lack of communication and planning from upper management. Poor development of goals. Entrenched union. Long range planning is either non-existent or is kept a secret at the executive level.

    P & H Mining2011-10-07
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Paper Pushing at its best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II in West Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at P & H Mining

    Pros

    The product is awesome. It is an engineers dream. However, if you aren't in the inner circle, which if you are a contractor you arent, then you will never have input. If you can get a full time job there, I would take it. If you can only get a contract, go somewhere else. You will get a paid well, but it is the most boring job you can imagine.

    Cons

    PAPERWORK . . . . LOTS OF PAPERWORK. The beuracracy is unimaginable. It takes 2 days to make a change and 3 months to release it.

    Advice to Management

    Give ownership to your engineers, stop the micromanaging and let people who know what they are doing, get stuff done.

    P & H Mining2011-03-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to retire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI

    I have been working at P & H Mining

    Pros

    If you like to work in a slow and very stable environment, then you will fit in perfectly at P&H. If you are good at what you do and not a manager, then you will have a job for life at P&H.

    Cons

    Communication gaps between Union and Management hinders production goals. If you are a Sr. Level manager expect to be let go within three years.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees more when it comes to the roadblocks they face. Set goals based on value added measures. Limit staff communications by emails.

    P & H Mining2010-06-30
  9. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Milwaukee, WI

    I worked at P & H Mining for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting product to keep your attention and to learn.

    Cons

    Horrible processes and politics that make working such a drag.

    P & H Mining2016-02-27
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Enough of a Fool to have Stayed Too Long!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at P & H Mining

    Pros

    It was close to home, so very convenient. Met a lot of decent people who are mostly gone now.

    Cons

    Favoritism, politics, lies created by upper management to make lower employees look bad. Hard to get ahead if you are not a suck up. I could have made more money had I left sooner than I did. This used to be a much better place to work, but like most companies, they are not thinking with whats left of their brains. This is another reason why China is going to come and take over!

    Advice to Management

    Fairness, treat your employees as you expect to be treated. In other words, show some respect for the drones!

    P & H Mining2011-05-27
Found 11 reviews