P&S Transportation Reviews | Glassdoor

P&S Transportation Reviews

Updated 19 de May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
P&S Transportation CEO Robert L. Pike, Jr. & Scott A. Smith (no image)
Robert L. Pike, Jr. & Scott A. Smith
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Got home every weekend , ran paper logs , great equipment , percentage pay(in 5 reviews)

  • "They were fair and they didn't force dispatch you and you ran where you wanted to run as long as you were willing to run(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "No one deserves full tarp pay BUT THE DRIVERS HAVING TO TARP THE LOAD(in 4 reviews)

  • "They provide cheap freight, cheap percentage that they pay drivers on the freight(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Raeford, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at P&S Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The scenery changes everyday and it's very rewarding

    Cons

    Missing family, crappy bed and no amenities

    Advice to Management

    None

    P&S Transportation2019-05-19
  2. "Total Change! 5 stars 7 years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at P&S Transportation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Home weekends. I used to brag about how amazing this company was, it was once upon a time the BEST company I’ve ever driven for in my 15 years of driving.

    Cons

    Veteran drivers who have been here for years are leaving in droves, I’m on my way out myself. I’ve had 5 DM’s in 7 years and they quit, 3 of them were AWSOME veteran DM’s who had been with the company 5+ years. It seems like those of us who were here before the huge changes are leaving at a fast pace. It use to be a place where I was proud to wear the company logo, proud to say I’ve finally found a company I retire... from, not anymore. I was reluctant on making this review but I’m finally fed up. I delivered a load on Thursday morning with 10 hours left on my clock, sat all day waiting on a load, 24 hours later on Friday I was informed I would have to wait until Monday morning for a load. So I won’t get home + my paycheck will look like that of a part time McDonald’s worker. This is after 8 years with the company. TOTAL CHANGE. I have several cons that have started to accumulate since 2015 but that will take more space to write. This company is just not the same anymore. TOTAL CHANGE

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When the long term drivers and driver managers are leaving rapidly, there’s a problem somewhere.

    P&S Transportation2019-05-03
  3. "Alright company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at P&S Transportation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Home daily off weekends.Able to unload your own trailer

    Cons

    Local drivers should have better compensation and paid holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Think of your drivers not the dollar.

    P&S Transportation2019-01-21

    P&S Transportation Response

    May 6, 2019Director of HR

    Thanks for the feedback. we are always looking for ways to improve the employment experience for our drivers. we will take this on board.

  4. "Operations - Birmingham"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at P&S Transportation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunch Mondays and Fridays since they are the busiest days of the week. We are trained to bend over backwards for our drivers when some companies couldn't care less. Laid back environment. Open door policy so owners and management are not strangers. Able to interact with multiple departments. Bonus opportunities.

    Cons

    Full year of work to get 5 vacation days, and 3 full years to get 10. 50+ work weeks. 99% of time spent sitting. Hard to take lunch breaks away from desk if at all. Short-staffed most of the time due to high turnover. There is lack of a real training program and an employee is usually tasked with doing their job and training when someone new is hired. Same if someone needs to be off for vacation, which means double... duty for someone. Workload needs more even distribution for us to be more effective. Lots of work still being done by multiple team members after hours at home due to the extreme time-sensitive nature of the job. You will be underpaid if you don't have a supply chain degree. No break or social area for employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More personnel in day-to-day operations team management will help the supervisors be more effective, and more planners and dispatchers will help operations and the drivers be more effective. Amount of day-to-day work being done by ops team is severely underestimated.

    P&S Transportation2018-10-05

    P&S Transportation Response

    May 6, 2019Director of HR

    Thanks for for the feedback. since the submission of this review we have upgraded to standing optional desks, a new break area/ kitchen for employees and we are always working to make the employment experience better. thanks for the feedback!

  5. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Easley, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at P&S Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None professional con artists.Deceitful.They're full of lies beyond belief.

    Cons

    Too many to list.Cheap freight...lousy home time.Equipment is poorly maintained.

    Advice to Management

    Close your doors.You have no freight and drivers are leaving in droves.In fact...I'm quitting soon.

    P&S Transportation2018-10-05

    P&S Transportation Response

    May 6, 2019Director of HR

    Please give management a chance to work through the specifics of your complaint. I'm sure we can find the issues and fix them if given the chance.

  6. "Local Company Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Truck Driver in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at P&S Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Home daily , off weekends , big pay checks

    Cons

    If your not dedicated you have to wait on loads , since elogs came into play you find a lot of trailers that are messed up cuz no one has time to fix them

    Advice to Management

    Two side boxes would be nice

    P&S Transportation2018-05-19

    P&S Transportation Response

    May 22, 2018Director of HR

    Thanks for the feedback and the advice!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Bad company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at P&S Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None except maybe the benefits you can get.

    Cons

    They will not let you get to your family when needed. They have bad dispatchers. The company has gotten too big for them to even care about their employees!

    P&S Transportation2018-03-09

    P&S Transportation Response

    March 12, 2018Director of HR

    At P&S we pride ourselves on making sure our drivers are always treated with respect. we know the importance of family and try to get our guys home every weekend and if there is an emergency we will certainly get him home for that. At the same time, we do ask our drivers ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Crap company...Run As Fast As You Can Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at P&S Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is nothing good about this company. It is crap.

    Cons

    Oh this list is long. Dispatch could care less about the drivers. The Houston office is horrible. The guys here will lie to drivers about the loads, they promise getting paid for them if they do their best to get it there on time and if it's past Monday, they will still be paid...LIARS!! They pay only by percentage, including tarp pay. What kind of crap is that?!! No one deserves full tarp pay BUT THE DRIVERS HAVING... TO TARP THE LOAD. They don't pay detention and if they do, you only get a percentage. Payroll doesn't show you how much they take out for taxes, HIGHLY QUESTIONABLE!! Makes me wonder if I am actually getting paid correctly. They claim you will make $1,000 or more a week, NOT TRUE!! Ignore their website, it's a bunch of lies. They provide cheap freight, cheap percentage that they pay drivers on the freight. You will loose your home and everything you worked so hard for by working here. This company has no integrity and has no regard for the drivers that supply their paychecks. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate them at a 0. The biggest mistake I made was coming to this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to reevaluate the manner in which their drivers are treated. They need to remember that it's the drivers that keep this company afloat, not management. Dispatch needs more training on people skills and they need to learn integrity. Dispatch just tells drivers what they want to hear, there is no compassion and complete disregard for the driver and their families. I will be leaving this company ASAP.... Oh, and you need to update your website, y'all don't pay your drivers anywhere close to $1,000 a week. Stop lying to get drivers and be honest. Since I have been here, I haven't cleared $500 a week yet.

    Show More
    P&S Transportation2018-01-25

    P&S Transportation Response

    January 29, 2018Director of HR

    Firstly, let me say how sorry we are that your experience hasn't been what you expected. our drivers are currently averaging $0.56 per mile and we expect that to increase this year. we would love to keep you but we understand how sometimes a manager/ terminal/ company doesn't end ...

    Show More
  9. "Low miles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at P&S Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Just the benefits such as insurance

    Cons

    Very low miles, that means low money too...there were weeks that I just drove 1000 miles !!! I will resign I look for another place to drive

    Advice to Management

    More miles, you know what I mean

    P&S Transportation2017-12-28

    P&S Transportation Response

    January 29, 2018Director of HR

    We really want to keep you here! We know that flatbed trucking during the holidays is hard... no one will tell you differently, but if you stuck it out you should be reaping the rewards in January and for the rest of the year. Wishing you and your family the best for the holidays.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Things never got better than averag loe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Emporia, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at P&S Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Insurance, sign on bonus and the ppl of the emporia terminal were great for the most part .I appreciated them..road calls were handled swiftly and breakdowns .They worked great with me on days that I needed off .Not a bad company it just wasn't for me ..

    Cons

    Was given the run around about layover twice and a re-power ,inquired on it for weeks and weeks and never got a clear answer nor was I compensated for any of it ..Loads were very cheap and my pay average was around $15 an hour if of broken down .not a lot of money for a trucker away from home ,eating on the highway and missing showers.You can make that in a factory .It felt like a minimum wage trucking job .....They have cameras in the truck ,takes away from the privacy and the trucks have only one side box on cab,no tool box on the trailers and your headache rack and cat walk looks like you're hoarding..Drivers will drop trailers in any type of condition ,flat tire ,air leaks and lights inoperable ..dunnage unsecured of trailers just a headache when ur clock is eating away and ur csa score could possibly be affected .truck was slow as hell ,62 mph.. the cheap freight and not being compensated for my time under loads that I had no control over as far as layover and the repower ultimately led me to part ways with them ..Who likes working for a company making millions and leaving u hanging over a few dollars you rightfully earned?Also they make it your fault if ur truck doesn't reach targeted revenue to be deemed worthy of a lease purchase ,you have To wait 3 months and you may not get a truck bcz could be ur fault or it could be that they just didn't get you the loads to reach the targeted revenue to be qualified for the lease .

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize matters that are being passed on to u by a driver and be sure they are addressed in a timely manner it would make the drivers satisfied, if not happy!

    P&S Transportation2017-10-17

    P&S Transportation Response

    December 21, 2017Director of HR

    At P&S we really want your experience as a driver to be a positive one. The issues you have raised here have been heard and we are working to make the experience better. many of these issues should have been addressed while you were with us and for not doing that we have failed. ...

    Show More
Found 51 reviews