P1 Group Reviews | Glassdoor

P1 Group Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
P1 Group CEO Smitty Belcher (no image)
Smitty Belcher
10 Ratings
  1. "A company culture you will want to be a part of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at P1 Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture at P1 is unlike many other businesses. The company may have over a thousand employees, but it feels very family oriented. Employees and executives are friendly and approachable, which is always important especially for our new staff. There is a lot of autonomy in many positions. Employees can wear jeans every day of the week! P1 has so many capabilities that every department stays busy. That includes the operations side and the support side. Even though we all stay busy there is still a work life balance. Work flex hours are available and make-up time so that you don't have to use your PTO. There is room for growth! Whether you want to move up in the position that you are in or try something new in a different department.

    Cons

    With P1 having several different offices and field staff it can be hard to communicate with some employees. You can only send so many emails and call them so many times to get a point across or a question answered. This can be frustrating.

    P1 Group2019-10-09
  2. "Good culture, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at P1 Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    From Operations management standpoint, it is great due to strong field staff in an industry where field labor continues to retire and decrease in quality, P1 stands out.

    Cons

    Large company that is made up of several smaller previous companies, due to this sometimes siloing occurs

    Continue reading
    P1 Group2019-09-15
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at P1 Group full-time

    Pros

    Depending on department and management, P1 Group is, overall, a great place to work. I was hired for a reason, and I'm allowed to do what I need to achieve my goals. They reward high performers, regardless of department, and value work/life balance. The people here, as you will see in other reviews, are very nice and very nice to work with - highly above average from most companies I've been at. Executive leadership is very accessible. And most important - growing!

    Cons

    Benefits are only so-so, but that's the norm these days. Must use all vacation time in the allotted year, cannot carry ANY over.

    Continue reading
    P1 Group2019-08-16
  4. "Great culture with good employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Coordinator in Topeka, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at P1 Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Senior management cares about growth of their company. They want everyone to succeed and they will do what they can to help you.

    Cons

    Some employees have a negative attitude and it is hard to work with them as a team

    Continue reading
    P1 Group2019-06-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Clerk in Lenexa, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at P1 Group full-time

    Pros

    Seemed like a good place to work at first, nice office, nice people.

    Cons

    After 6 months, my boss turned into an awful tyrant, yelling at me for minor things I did she didn't like, started to routinely pull me into a conference room to basically yell at me for 30 minutes. Then, my desk started to get trashed, things knocked down and thrown around. She became really defensive about it. Then it got worse, jammed my chair under the desk, broke thing and threw them under the desk. Appeared to be rage to me. When i finally reported it to HR, in fear of what she'd do next and because it was escalating, suddenly, my productivity was an issue and I was fired. Crazy! Department's run with an iron fist, no one talks or pops out of their cubicles. They just work like dogs.

    Continue reading
    P1 Group2019-04-28
  6. "Dispatcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at P1 Group full-time

    Pros

    Working for P1 Group is good, I have average benefits and really no complaints. I'm a contractor so I work for The University of Kansas Hospital. I am not overworked, the pay is alright.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is that my manager doesn't always know the policies of P1 and that can get complicated sometimes.

    P1 Group2019-01-09
  7. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at P1 Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very professional people, very friendly.

    Cons

    Long distance commute for me.

    P1 Group2017-11-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Boy's club, but staying optimistic..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at P1 Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Training. Small family atmosphere. Most people are willing to answer questions and help with

    Cons

    Very much stuck in the old school way of thinking, talking to, treating female employees. Ridiculous to see a grown man allowed to throw a temper tantrum in the office when not getting his way. Sometimes even managers forget they need to model good behavior.

    Continue reading
    P1 Group2017-01-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at P1 Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Places high importance on employee. Abundant training offered for individual improvement. Corporate culture and values are emphasized.

    Cons

    Lack of cohesion between employees.

    Continue reading
    P1 Group2016-02-16
  10. "Safety 1st, Qualtity Always, Honest and Professional Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at P1 Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Quality work and really care about the customer, whether external or internal. Invest in their employees. Take care of their employees and their families. Friendly people. Constantly working on improvement and standardizing procedures.

    Cons

    A little top heavy in management, too many people to go through to get anything done. A lot of software changes but appears to be leveling out.

    Continue reading
    P1 Group2015-10-16
Found 16 reviews