PA Consulting Group Reviews | Glassdoor

PA Consulting Group Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 501 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
PA Consulting Group CEO Alan Middleton
Alan Middleton
219 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Too much emphasis on utilisation for lower ranks(in 28 reviews)

  • "Got to get use to being off the clock if you are new to consultancy(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Exciting opportunities and a great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant Analyst in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PA Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As someone who is new to consulting but experienced in software engineering, PA has been a breath of fresh air. I have had opportunities in my first months here that I never had after years elsewhere. Some of the unique pros for me are: - Collaborative culture - Ability to influence the working environment - Transparent career path - Management are hands on and approachable - Travel opportunities (depending on project)...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Some projects can be a bit hectic - Some projects are not as exciting as others

    Advice to Management

    As Digital grows, try to preserve the current culture. In my experience, communication has been excellent and the collaborative culture across all of PA is something i've never come across before.

    PA Consulting Group2018-09-07
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PA Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    More communication needed from the senior management

    PA Consulting Group2018-05-17
  3. "Nice Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at PA Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice Culture for a consulting company, understanding people

    Cons

    Too Competitive at times to find client assignments

    PA Consulting Group2019-06-27
  4. Helpful (7)

    "The future looks hazy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PA Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PA has some great, intelligent, talented people. The team is truly collaborative.

    Cons

    Little or no brand recognition. The salary is far below other consulting firms. The benefits are terrible. It's a UK firm and the senior management couldn't care less what goes on in the US. The company will be sold in the next year.

    PA Consulting Group2019-05-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great platform for success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consultant in Denver, CO

    I worked at PA Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High responsibility, fast-paced work, and smart colleagues.

    Cons

    HQ is quite distant from US operations, mobility can be tough

    PA Consulting Group2019-01-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Principal Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at PA Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, ability to chart a career

    Cons

    London/UK centric thinking; bureaucracy; lack of brand name in the US

    PA Consulting Group2018-11-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY

    I worked at PA Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people and potential for international work

    Cons

    There is limited business growth

    PA Consulting Group2018-11-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A company that's so close to being phenomenal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PA Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PA has all of the right pieces of a top-class consulting firm: smart people, a world-class research and technology division, and fancy PowerPoint templates. There's often plenty of work to be done, and internal networking can prove to be a fruitful use of one's time. In the UK, the name brand recognition is on par with Big-4 consulting firms. Projects are as rewarding/cutting-edge as you can find in consulting.

    Cons

    Incoherent branding and strategy execution. Very rigid partner model which discourages risk taking. Moves a lot more slowly and un-sexy than it appears from the outside. Carlyle's ownership means costs will be cut and work environments will be less than pleasant. Buzzwords everywhere. Management is very hush hush and inaccessible.

    Advice to Management

    Actually act upon your company-wide survey :)

    PA Consulting Group2018-08-21
  9. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PA Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Great people and great culture

    Cons

    Salaries and benefits are considerably less than what market is paying

    PA Consulting Group2018-07-08
  10. Helpful (5)

    "No diversity, does not offer market rates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PA Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the people are great, intelligent. Some interesting assignments

    Cons

    Great company if you’re a white, male professional. If you’re not, good luck. Very little diversity. Company does not have fair practices- some people seem to be offered a flexible, work from home schedule while others don’t seem to be given the opportunity. Clear signs of favouritism. Poor communication across the board. Very little by way of support staff. What happened to payroll? My taxes are a mess due to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people.. you have us complete surveys, etc. and then all goes quiet. What happens to this information?

    PA Consulting Group2018-03-26
Found 501 reviews