PA Leadership Charter School Reviews | Glassdoor

PA Leadership Charter School Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
PA Leadership Charter School CEO Jim Hanak (no image)
Jim Hanak
17 Ratings
  1. "Love PALCS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PA Leadership Charter School for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers, tons of training in tech, awesome students

    Cons

    Pay is a little on the lower end, but it's a charter school so it's to be expected

    PA Leadership Charter School2018-08-30

    PA Leadership Charter School Response

    January 8, 2019Director of Marketing

    Thank you for the great review! We wish you the best in your current and future positions

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Secondary School 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PA Leadership Charter School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposed to lots of tech tools and pd for online education. Do your job and administration leaves you alone. Flexible schedule for those with children.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, low pay rate and high employee turnover including administration. The cubes are dark and you can feel isolated. High classroom numbers.

    PA Leadership Charter School2017-10-25

    PA Leadership Charter School Response

    October 30, 2017Director of Marketing

    Thank you for your review. We wish you the very best in your future endeavors.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "The Emperor's New Clothes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PA Leadership Charter School

    Pros

    I guess the benefits are decent.

    Cons

    Too many to name in this format.

    Advice to Management

    The CEO is basically the emperor in the children's short story "The Emperor's New Clothes". After a short conversation with him you will find that he has very little substance at all. I guess fortunately for him he has others around, who move the school forward.

    PA Leadership Charter School2017-09-29

    PA Leadership Charter School Response

    October 2, 2017Director of Marketing

    Thank you for the review. PA Leadership has grown every year since it's inception with both enrollments and faculty.

  4. "Quality Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PA Leadership Charter School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of professional development opportunities. Great benefits (Health and Paid Time Off). Room to grow within the organization.

    Cons

    There are no cons to review. Overall great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward as an organization. Great to work for a growing school.

    PA Leadership Charter School2017-05-05

    PA Leadership Charter School Response

    October 30, 2017Director of Marketing

    Thank you for your review. Our goal is to always grow, and to evaluate how we can improve every year.

  5. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at PA Leadership Charter School full-time

    Pros

    It's great place to work

    Cons

    None. Great place to work.

    PA Leadership Charter School2017-01-27

    PA Leadership Charter School Response

    May 7, 2019Director of Marketing

    Thank you for your review. We wish you well in your new position.

  6. "Marketing Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in West Chester, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PA Leadership Charter School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment, Hands-on administration

    Cons

    The cyber environment is constantly changing, but PALCS is always ahead of the curve

    PA Leadership Charter School2017-01-24

    PA Leadership Charter School Response

    May 5, 2017Director of Marketing

    Thank you so much for your review.

  7. "Leadership Center Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in West Chester, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PA Leadership Charter School full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good pay, collegial work environment

    Cons

    Unfortunately, technology driven companies do not do a good job of assigning work loads. They are always balancing new technology with individual ability and aptitude.

    Advice to Management

    Pick a systemic technology learning platform, and resist change until an annual evaluation.

    PA Leadership Charter School2016-12-29

    PA Leadership Charter School Response

    May 5, 2017Director of Marketing

    Thank you for your review

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Charter School World"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PA Leadership Charter School full-time

    Pros

    The people you work with there are all teachers who are willing to go the extra mile to help their kids. Everyone was very kind and the work environment was laid back.

    Cons

    Uncertainty of the school's position especially with the local politics and the NCLB Act. No real room for growth as the school's budget can be limited from time to time.

    PA Leadership Charter School2015-07-23

    PA Leadership Charter School Response

    May 7, 2019Director of Marketing

    Thank you for your review. Our teachers are amazing. We continue to fight political legislation every day.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Full time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PA Leadership Charter School

    Pros

    I like the flexible schedule, the benefit package, hardworking teachers and administrators.

    Cons

    Changing technology makes for a need to constantly learn new methods of instruction.

    PA Leadership Charter School2015-07-15

    PA Leadership Charter School Response

    May 7, 2019Director of Marketing

    Thank you for your review.

  10. "PALCS really does make it possible!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PA Leadership Charter School

    Pros

    I am a PALCS staff member. From my first day on, I witnessed not only PALCS’s commitment to serving our students and families according to their unique needs and situations but also to giving each employee a unique opportunity in a unique educational setting. Each day I have come into work, I still see PALCS cultivating the individual and providing an environment (both professional and educational) that produces... personal growth and success. No, I cannot say that PALCS compares to traditional schools due our school’s cyber nature and authorized charter, but our services and options benefit those who cannot blossom to their full potential in traditional margins. Brought into the school’s booming success from day one, I can tell that PALCS is doing really well. I know that enrollment is already up by 10% for next school year. And, I understand that PALCS provided wage increases to all and back bonuses to many employees this spring. Overall, I am thrilled to belong to and participate in PALCS’s effort to keep our school a progressive, proactive, inspiring, and enriching educational venture for all of our members—staff, students, and families included.

    Show More

    Cons

    I know that no workplace is without fault or problems, and PALCS is no exception. We’ve suffered hard times due to economic downturn, legislative cuts, and academic fluctuations, but we do the best we can as a non-profit educational organization to meet and exceed the needs of our PALCS family. From my experience, my co-workers make each individual—a student, teacher, child, parent, assistant, or director—their... priority, pursuit, and passion.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Whether someone is a part of faculty or family, keep helping each individual to reach his or her personal goals and potential. Continue to foster enrichment and betterment for each individual and our community. Strive for the friendly and flourishing atmosphere that we’ve achieved each school year thus far.

    PA Leadership Charter School2015-06-30
Found 25 reviews