KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

PAM Transport

Is this your company?

PAM Transport

Add a Review

PAM Transport Employee Reviews about "driver"

Updated Feb 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 228 reviews

2.9
29%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
PAM Transport President and CEO  Joe Vitiritto
Joe Vitiritto
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good equipment, Good Driver managers(in 11 reviews)

  • "I learned how messed up the trucking industry is(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Weekend dispatch works barely to none, leaving you stuck on the weekends(in 26 reviews)

  • "Feast or famine, low pay per mile(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of PAM Transport and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "driver"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good starter company

      Jan 20, 2016 - Driver Trainer in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great miles of you establish yourself as dependable driver and run hard and legal. They will keep you running if you are dependable.

      Cons

      More cents per mile pay, or better benefits like, frig, tv with direct tv, satellite radio...basically keeping up with benefits that other large companies are offering

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Company driver

      Feb 10, 2018 - Company Driver in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good equipment, Good Driver managers

      Cons

      Pay is low and home time is short.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Really not a bad company

      Feb 19, 2017 - Owner Operator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to get training , foot in the door in the trucking industry. Be a reliable driver and they will run you well. Lazy driver you will get what you put in to it. They have been a decent company to work for, for me.

      Cons

      Yes there pay is lower than many, but your 1st year not too many out there are going to pay well. Do your year which covers the cost of your training so you dont have to pay back the tuition. Then move on somewhere else.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      OTR/Dedicated Route Driver

      Mar 23, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PAM is a good avenue to get started and gain valuable experience in the trucking industry. If you go through their CDL school (thru Driver Solutions), you'll be obligated to driver for them for a total of one year. 6 months of that could be team driving. They will deduct $45 a week for a year for a total of $1995.00. If you bail out or get fired you will owe $6000.00 to Driver Solutions, so be sure of what you doing, it's just like signing for a bank loan. After bonuses, your net cost can be as low as $795.00 for your license. Plus, you'll have 1 year experience driving and a years worth of pay. I stayed there 2 1/2 years,gained invaluable experience and saved a bit of cash. You have to be dedicated to stay out and running. They appreciate a positive attitude and will try to keep you busy. Try to approach problems with a professional attitude and they'll respond as such. Good Equipment....although the Prostars aren't as bulletproof as the Freightliners. Shops are usually always busy, so you might spend a day or so waiting, depends on what the truck needs are. If you prove to be responsible, reliable and keep complaints to a minimum, you'll do fine. This is OTR trucking, so don't expect to get home any time you wish. 1 day off earned for each week out (4 days total). The pay is on the low side compared to industry standards. But remember, you need experience to better yourself. Note: best advice that I got was to stay with your first company at least a year or longer, looks good for your next job and you'll gain that much more experience. OTR is not for a lot of folks who think they can do it and you'll pay your "dues" but in the long run it pays off. Being a driver takes a commitment and if your married or have children at home, have a concrete understanding with them before you do it. PAM offers good and a affordable insurance as well as other benefits. Remember, if your looking to get a start...this is who I went with and I'd do it again. It paid off for me and they wanted me back as well. Drive safe, be professional, and Good Luck.

      Cons

      Pay needs to be increased, for new drivers as well as drivers who would like to stay but need to go elsewhere because of pay gap compared to 90% of the rest of the industry.

      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Driver

      Jan 14, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Little Rock, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My Driver manager is excellent good equipment mostly drop and hook

      Cons

      Many slow weeks and office personnel doesn't communicate to each other and driver managers are too over loaded to notify you of a preplan

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      RUN Worst company possible

      Aug 11, 2015 - OTR Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not a one, driver pay, safety and equipment are all garbage.

      Cons

      This companies idea of driver retention is to strand you as far away from home as possible if you mention leaving. Otherwise they charge a truck recovery fee plus mileage equal to three times what they pay their drivers. Dispatch is uncooperative and in most cases lazy. Be ready to sit and make no money, to be ignored and to be asked to put your physical safety and career in jeopardy everyday. Good business practices are nowhere in sight. Just a mill to crank out seat meat. They treat their drivers like just another piece of disposable equipment.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Stay Away.

      Aug 4, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. I can't think of a single reason any experienced driver would choose to work here.

      Cons

      Low miles, Low pay, bad planning, ragged equipment, zero respect for drivers. I could go on and on. This company isn't what it used to be.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A good entry-level trucking company to work for.

      Nov 11, 2014 - OTR Driver in Tontitown, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a good experience working for P.A.M. Although my trainer wasn't the best person in terms of friendliness and people skills, he was an excellent driver and knew his stuff. After a fairly rigorous training period where the limits of my physical endurance were put to the test, I passed and began driving my own truck as a solo OTR driver. My dispatcher was outstanding and we quickly developed a good relationship. I was nearly always on time and reliable, and he worked hard to get me good routes and a few days off when I needed it. Best things about driving in my opinion: 1. Assuming you get a good dispatcher (it really DOES make a difference), you can pretty much make your own schedule within the limits of delivery times. You need to be on time, but you usually have some leeway in deciding how long you drive before you stop, as long as you make the time and miles. 2. Again, assuming you have a good dispatcher, how much you make depends on how hard you work. You work hard, keep those wheels moving, and obey the regulations and laws (and are on time!), you'll get the better routes and miles (and pay!). When my 1 year contract was up, I decided to go back to college, but I have no regrets about my time spent on the road or with P.A.M. and would do it again if the need arose.

      Cons

      The pay wasn't the greatest, but - let's be honest - it's an entry level company that takes risks on new drivers. Don't expect a dollar a mile from these guys - but DO expect that if you work hard, are reliable and prompt, and have no complaints, you'll get raises and build a good reputation. Also, generally speaking, life on the road is LONELY. ESPECIALLY if you're a solo driver. If you are a "team" driver- which means you have to be able to tolerate being around the other person for about 23 hours a day (your "shower" is your break), the loneliness won't be as bad- spouses are really the best option for this. If you're solo, though, be prepared to deal with the loneliness. Lot lizards (truck stop hookers) are always a bother. My advice- stay away. Truck stops in general can be clean and good, or they can be smelly, dirty, and bad. It just varies. In my experience, Petro had the best overall truck stop experience. T.A. and Flying J (aka the Flying Hook) were variable. Pilot had the best "quick stop" style places. Expect to gain weight if you don't have a workout regimen. Driving means sitting for most of the day, and most of your food options (especially if you stop at Pilot or "quick" truck stops all the time) will be junk or fast food. Try to stay on top of that with healthy choices when you can- stock up on bottled water, stop at Wal-Mart or other big lot shopping centers and get fresh food whenever possible.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      2 weeks with a "mentor" is not enough... especially if you went through the C1 CDL mill!

      Aug 31, 2012 - OTR Driver in Tontitown, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *get good miles with good Driver Manager, and, a working truck. *teams do well *help you get your CDL, and, it'll get payed off IF (and I mean if) you make it a year with them.

      Cons

      *2 weeks with a mentor (I had several days of no driving at all... mentor taking home time, stuck somewhere for maintenance, etc.). There's no way that's enough time unless you've had experience or went to a really good CDL school that actually taught backing (you won't get much in two weeks.... if at all. I didn't do much. One friend of mine Got to twice bobtail... ridiculous). Felt like I was taught close to nothing then thrown to the wolves to teach myself OTR. Recipe for disaster! Why should they care if drivers are badly trained. Why care that the first year of driving is the hardest and this makes it near impossible unless you are lucky enough to get a good partner ( I only had teammate for less than a week!). There's always more poor souls showing up for orientation in droves. *Some at office will talk down or just plain lie to drivers *pay is pretty low. They drive teams to death for 0.17 a mile. You don't get payed for the actually miles you drive *be prepared to spend days trapped in Laredo *some of the trucks are pretty old. You might end up with a real lemon automatic (being phased out) and spend A LOT of time at a shop not making any miles. *you'll ask for home-time after 5 weeks out and they'll "try" to get you home for a few days.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee

      A good place to start a career as a Professional Driver, a bad place to stay though.

      Mar 16, 2011 - Driver, Team Driver, Driver Trainer in Tontitown, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      P.A.M. Transportation is a decent company to start you on your career path as a Professional Driver. They offer to assist you in paying for your CDL School, and allow you a year to pay back the courses, withdrawing a small sum from your paychecks each week during the first year. After you finish school, you spend up to 6 weeks with a Driver Trainer, who teaches you to drive safely and legally, as well as the basics for working on your own as a Driver with the company. After training you are tested to be sure that you can operate on your own, safely and efficiently. Then you are assigned a Semi Tractor, and are set out with dispatch instructions and directions. Their training program is far better than that of most of the larger companies, as it allows a decent amount of time to become familiar with the job while being supervised to prevent mishaps. P.A.M. Transports training program is focused on safety first.

      Cons

      This company works with forced dispatch and does not communicate well between different departments. This leads most often to Drivers being sent into an area to deliver, then stranded for on to several days waiting on another dispatch. when loads are available, it is common to have separate people trying to dispatch you at the same time. There is also a lack of properly trained support people on the second and third shifts, and almost no communication between the shifts, resulting in wasted time and money for both the company and the employees. For example while I was with this company, on many different occasions I was told after an evening delivery, while i still had plenty of drive time available to wait til morning for my next dispatch, only to find when I called the next morning that my dispatch had been sitting in the yard since the night before. Also this company does not have a good equipment plan for maintaining steady maintenance for the drivers that drive outside of this companies standard route delivery areas. Primarily for drivers that have runs taking them to the west coast consistently. Such drivers should be issued newer equipment to prevent mileage related break downs in areas where company shops are not available..

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PAM Transport Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at PAM Transport? Share Your Experiences

    or