PAX - Program of Academic Exchange Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

PAX - Program of Academic Exchange Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RDM Regional Development Manager in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PAX - Program of Academic Exchange part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Students and the base of exchange is excellent!! Family style relationships with co-workers. Caring and understanding with family students and employees. Excellent compliance and support/supervision people!! Upper management takes the time to get to know all employees and develop a great working environment. Travel opportunities are excellent as well as compensation.

    Cons

    August is a very busy time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to Development of employees and the relationship with employees

    PAX - Program of Academic Exchange2019-01-11
  2. "Regional Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Development Manager in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PAX - Program of Academic Exchange part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very family friendly atmosphere. Very well supported by upper management. We have a wonderful supervision support system that is always available when problems arise with students or host families.

    Cons

    August through middle of September are very busy and demanding because it is the tail end of placement season and all of the students arriving and settling into host family and school routine. (It would be like this at any placing organization.)

    PAX - Program of Academic Exchange2019-01-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Regional Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Development Manager in Franklin, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PAX - Program of Academic Exchange part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You have a family surrounding you in this job. I truly feel supported by my Regional Director and even other RDs across the US. We treat each other like a family and we all work together as a team. I honestly feel like during crunch time and in times of crisis or difficult situations, I can always count on PAX to have my back and help if need be.

    Cons

    During placement seasons the job can be stressful.

    PAX - Program of Academic Exchange2018-11-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Community Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Coordinator in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at PAX - Program of Academic Exchange full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of helpful emails and information on site

    Cons

    I have been working for them since April 2018 and it is now Nov 23, 2018 I have NOT gotten paid for anything yet except a referral fee. Nothing online about how to reach the people over the person you report to.

    Advice to Management

    PAY YOUR PEOPLE WHEN AND WHAT IT IS DUE TO THEM

    PAX - Program of Academic Exchange2018-10-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Mission/Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at PAX - Program of Academic Exchange full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall friendly, team-oriented company culture and a great mission. Opportunities for growth occasionally pop up. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Lack of transparency from upper management on policy changes. This is a non-profit, so compensation is not on the high side.

    Advice to Management

    Work on making everyone a more cohesive team.

    PAX - Program of Academic Exchange2017-10-24
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Compliance Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at PAX - Program of Academic Exchange full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, the team is also very friendly and caring!

    Cons

    very low salary - non profit!

    PAX - Program of Academic Exchange2017-08-02
  7. Helpful (5)

    "100% over others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PAX - Program of Academic Exchange part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked for 4 exchange programs for over 20 years. PAX is 100% better than all the rest. The program puts students first while still being sure host families & schools are considered important. There's lots of field support from HQ & 1st rate professional marketing materials are all available online.

    Cons

    The database isn't the best, but that's in the process of an overhaul so hopefully it'll be better when it's rolled out. Getting people hired on is laborious.

    Advice to Management

    Streamline the hiring process, remove duplicated things. Most of ELC training is covered by Don certification. Lots of interview questions are answered in their inquiry.

    PAX - Program of Academic Exchange2016-06-30
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Regional Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Regional Development Manager in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PAX - Program of Academic Exchange

    Pros

    Flexible Open-minded and culturally diverse Organization truly wants to make a difference in the world and lives of young people Good training program

    Cons

    salary/pay/commission better job description and allocating duties

    Advice to Management

    better pay scale

    PAX - Program of Academic Exchange2016-06-27
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Regional Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PAX - Program of Academic Exchange part-time

    Pros

    Great families, outstanding kids, and wonderful people to work with. I love it!!

    Cons

    Every job has cons but theirs are so small that aren't worth mentioning.

    Advice to Management

    I love they way you make the kids, families , and employees first!! Wonderful support!!

    PAX - Program of Academic Exchange2016-06-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Regional Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PAX - Program of Academic Exchange

    Pros

    Meeting students from around the world and watching them bond with a family here. The travel incentives are terrific. They spare no expense there. Well organized office staff. The compensation can be great if you are willing to put your heart into it. I have been placing foreign exchange students for 23 years now and have worked for 5 organizations and this is by far the most generous, organized, caring place I... have worked.

    Show More

    Cons

    The months of July & August are very busy (as in every foreign exchange organization) placing our students. This is the busiest time of year. It is a job that requires a "go with the flow" attitude as unpredictable issues might come up.

    Advice to Management

    More personal trainings for Coordinators. Other than that, keep up the great work.

    PAX - Program of Academic Exchange2016-06-27
Found 19 reviews