PAYOMATIC Reviews | Glassdoor

PAYOMATIC Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
PAYOMATIC CEO Jay Guskind
Jay Guskind
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "There's a lot to learn--a lot of which training doesn't cover--but if you're determined you'll get the swing of things quickly(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "you really cant see no growth here(in 3 reviews)

  • "A prepaid debit card that they pressured employees to sell wouldn't work properly(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "service associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Associate in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PAYOMATIC full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Family-like culture Flexible schedule. Good work/life balance. I had my baby then find a shift for me to get to the babysitter then come to work. Good place to work even when I was a student because I got to work weekends and some evening shifts while not at school. I got more hours when school was out of session. I learn a lot at Payomatic. I learn how to do all type of transactions from cashing check, West Union, Debit...

    Show More

    Cons

    It wasn’t so much downtime in my branch. The first week of the month is very very busy it does get a little hectic but for most part is good to go. Customers are sometimes very rude. Long hours, but flexible.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure all managers at all locations enforce all company expectations at all times. I work at 5 or 6 stores since in the company and every store do things differently. It is confusing sometimes.

    PAYOMATIC2017-02-10

    PAYOMATIC Response

    March 30, 2017CMO/Head of Retail Operations

    Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to write a review. We’re very pleased you enjoy working at Pay-O-Matic, and we appreciate your valuable contributions to the success of your store.

  2. "Good if you’re a people person!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in New York, NY

    I have been working at PAYOMATIC full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    You’ll definitely get your hours and then some. Moving up in the company isn’t hard if you take work seriously. Scheduling is extremely flexible. They have many shifts available that can accommodate the most hectic schedules and they really try to work with you. This is great experience to have under your belt.

    Cons

    Some employees get away with things because of favoritism. You can get called in on your day off a lot. There is no security.

    PAYOMATIC2019-04-13
  3. "Say goodbye to your life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PAYOMATIC part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    free change, discounts on cashing your check discount on loading onto the inScamPower card, discount on taking off money from the scam card

    Cons

    You lose your friends, family, boyfriend/girlfriend, pets, religion, culture, childhood friends, sport teams. Once you start this job, it's over. Unreasonable customers, disappointing fees, customers always coming back and complaining about their western union or scam debit card not working. The company doesn't treat you to lunch or anything. They don't make the job fun. It's legit an 8 hour job where you're like a robot,...

    Show More
    PAYOMATIC2019-04-26
  4. "It’s cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PAYOMATIC full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule If you have problems with your till , they send you to training instead of firing you right off the back , they give you a chance to better yourself Growth within the company

    Cons

    Open on holidays Pay should be higher

    Advice to Management

    Stop raising the prices before we lose our customers, via a customer comment

    PAYOMATIC2019-03-10
  5. "Sick Day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PAYOMATIC full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    You can get overtime hours

    Cons

    There are a lot. 1) Coworkers is nasty and don’t know how to clean up after themselves (It’s like they higher anyone that comes off the street) 2) The company down not care about you how easily the higher you the will fire you you with less effort. 3) Their sick days policy is a scam. You would think you get sick days but doctors note or not they will not pay you until you work for it. 4) There is no growth. Your...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better

    PAYOMATIC2019-03-27
  6. "Cashed checks, sold metro cards, ez passes, excella cards etc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Bronx, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PAYOMATIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, overtime available if you want and not forced because no one showed up for work.

    Cons

    Locations were dirty and had rodents

    Advice to Management

    Clean up your locations

    PAYOMATIC2019-02-13
  7. "Customer service rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at PAYOMATIC full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good hours that’s about it

    Cons

    Management too much favoritism

    PAYOMATIC2019-02-07
  8. "Full Time CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PAYOMATIC full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay , great co workers/manager , Overtime if needed

    Cons

    Stuck when co worker is late

    PAYOMATIC2018-11-15
  9. "Decent."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in White Plains, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PAYOMATIC full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    They are flexible with scheduling.

    Cons

    Low pay for the workload and hours.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay.

    PAYOMATIC2018-07-25
  10. "The company is unorganized."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Bronx, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at PAYOMATIC full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      I don't have anything positive to say about this company.

      Cons

      Salary hardly ever increased and always understaffed.

      PAYOMATIC2018-08-28
    Found 60 reviews