PC Laptops "dan young" Reviews | Glassdoor

PC Laptops Employee Reviews about "dan young"

Updated 22 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
PC Laptops CEO Dan Young (no image)
Dan Young
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Always a positive work environment(in 11 reviews)

  • "I don’t know how many companies that you will get to have the chance to talk to the CEO and get support and advice and the couching from Dan Young(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dan young"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "You Determine Your Own Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PC Laptops full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As somebody who started at the bottom as a technician who worked their way up to an executive position within 2 years, I can attest to the opportunities for growth and advancement at PC Laptops. You will be advance into leadership roles if you work hard, continually strive to push the company forward, effectively communicate your desire for growth and show leadership qualities through your actions. The CEO and Owner..., Dan Young, was always available to me as a coach during my employment at PC Laptops, and continues to be a great friend and mentor to this present day, years after my employment at the company has ended.

    Show More

    Cons

    PC Laptops is not for the complacent. The business is built around the concept of continual improvement. If you wish to avoid friendly competition and constant constructive criticism, this may not be the best fit for you.

    PC Laptops2019-10-22
  2. "Amazing workplace amazing environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Customer Service Representative in Midvale, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PC Laptops full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for PC Laptops has been an amazing experience, the company has taught me so much that I will never forget. PC Laptops is a family, they want to see you be successful and to live your best life! PC Laptops is by far one of the best places to work. They want to see you succeed, they want to teach you how to lead and to handle hard situations and to deliver with the highest quality to help individuals.... There environment is high paced and very energetic. Everyone has respect and high Taggerty and helps each other through any scenario. I don’t know how many companies that you will get to have the chance to talk to the CEO and get support and advice and the couching from Dan Young! If you are looking for opportunity to make money, be heard, and to grow and have a career if you are willing to boss up and take ownership and give everything you have to evolve and become a leader, this is the place for you. PC Laptops has changed my life and have provided the ability for me to perform and to provide for my family I am forever thankful and grateful and just can’t believe how far I came.

    Show More

    Cons

    No Cons, The working environment is amazing!

    Advice to Management

    None. Everything for management is amazing!

    PC Laptops2019-10-17
  3. Helpful (6)

    "The business should be great, but Dan Young has ruined it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PC Laptops full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You'll become good friends with the individuals in the stores.

    Cons

    Dan Young. He loves money. Nothing else. Goofy, immoral, misguided teaching regimen that he had us pound into the poor salesman, technicians that keep his company running was awful. If you are a good person and have any conscience what-so-ever DO NOT WORK HERE.

    Advice to Management

    Get Dan Young out. His "coaching, ethics, overall view of the world is so messed up. I really feel bad for him. If you make him money, he will love you (temporary) if you don't. You won't stay employed long. He pushes you to sell $2500 desktops & laptops to the elderly, What elderly person needs a $2500 laptop? I'm so happy to be no longer working here. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere. There... are much better options available, I promise.

    Show More
    PC Laptops2019-10-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Service Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PC Laptops full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I joined PC Laptops just over a year ago. I made the transition as my former employer had me working over 55 hours a week and the time away from family had a negative impact. I now work 40-45 hours a week, have been promoted, have a higher income than my previous employer, full benefits, regular/positive communication and support from my leadership team. I have often reached out to Dan Young our CEO for support... and advice when needed and he has always taken the time to answer his phone and coach. I really feel like Dan truly cares about his people and his brand. There is opportunity to make money, be heard, grow and have a career if you are willing to step up, take ownership and align yourself with Dan's vision and brand. PC Laptops is about great service, resolving problems and showing our customers the love! I feel blessed that I have joined this team and can provide a living for my family. Thank you.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not a con but beware PC Laptop is a performance based company. Changes happen frequently and the company moves fast. Keep in mind most of the customers coming are having trouble with their computers and at times can be emotional. You need to be adaptable, creative and maintain a positive attitude. For some team members finding solutions for angry customers and change is not easy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing!

    PC Laptops2018-12-13
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Worst company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Technician in Murray, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PC Laptops full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people you work with aren't as bad as Dan Young

    Cons

    This company is 100% dishonest. Dan Young is a horrible person. There is no training. Benefits are a joke at best. If you can't sell you will be fired, even if you are a tech. All Dan cares about is money, literally nothing else matters to him. Well maybe the pills he makes the sales team take at his house for sales training. DO NOT WORK HERE

    Advice to Management

    Remove Dan from his position, bring in a CEO and or president who isn't a total jerk/drug addict.

    PC Laptops2019-01-04
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Very dishonest company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in South Jordan, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PC Laptops full-time

    Pros

    The guys I worked with were awesome.

    Cons

    Dan young CEO is a liar, Cheapskate, and manipulator. very dishonest businessman. I seriously don't know how he's in business. They rip off old people that don't know anything about computers.

    Advice to Management

    My advice is read books on ethics and how to be honest with people. I agree all the good reviews are fake. they aren't real. I've had many friends work here, we all feel the same way and glad we quit this dis honest Company.

    PC Laptops2018-12-06
  7. Helpful (11)

    ""PcLaptops where we love you!... and your money..""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - "expert" 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PC Laptops full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love what I do. talking with customers and fixing computers is always fun to do, never a dull moment. I am constantly doing something, working on at-least 4 computers at a time and helping customers that come in. its great environment and work space. the people I work with are amazingly supportive and helpful with any questions I have.

    Cons

    The higher-ups like Dan Young. the way they have the 'carrot on a stick' for compensation. techs make 10/hr and thats what youll make. the website says 30-60k/yr. plan on making 10/hr and maybe a 100-200 bonus if you're lucky. You are expected to make the company a ridiculous amount of money. and if you dont hit those numbers than they take away all bonus's and even the chairs in the store to 'keep you motivated'.... the amount of work you will do is not shown on your pay-stub. Trying to order replacement parts is also a joke, takes about 2 months to get a simple part. that means the customer will be asking each day if it has arrived and you get to deal with the customer fires. The worst part for me was selling parts to customers that are ridiculously over priced. a 1Tb hard drive from pclaptops is $299.99........ seriously? yes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When your employee's are making you upwards of 20,000 a month and you pay them 10/hr you need to re-work pay-scale. Your employee's are working harder than Dan Young who just sits there and sends the store pictures of his bacon dounut to the store.....

    PC Laptops2015-08-19
Found 7 reviews