PCMI Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

PCMI Corporation Reviews

Updated May 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
PCMI Corporation CEO Mark Nagelvoort (no image)
Mark Nagelvoort
14 Ratings
  1. "A Leader of the Industry and true Stage for existing experts or upcoming talents!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say in Park Ridge, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCMI Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PCMI has a family like atmosphere where vision and effort are rewarded. The office is Pet Friendly and personal events are often celebrated. The Management does a more than sufficient job at growing talent. So the opportunities are available. There is a positive effort to reward system. The software is robust so it's fair to say that the the work is demanding; however, it appears the company rewards your... knowledge and Industry growth. It's directly across from the blue line and the straight shot to O'hare is always a positive for travel. The ability to have lunch at Marianos or Al's Beef is always a plus. HR and team bend over backwards for folks to onboard and offer welcoming experiences. PCMI for me has worked and I'd choose to continue working for it.

    Show More

    Cons

    The bathrooms are always filled. Need bigger bathrooms and more air flow.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work in the Industry!

    PCMI Corporation2019-01-12
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Demeaning Upper Management, Lack of Training and Poor Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in Park Ridge, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PCMI Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Close to stores, close to Blue Line

    Cons

    No effective Training or straight answers without being embarrassed by management, Demeaning leadership encounters, verbal abusive environment and complete lack of effort to lead others

    Advice to Management

    Build teams, create better structure, treat employees better, create structure, do not allow HR to represent CEO in all occasions, do not verbally put down clients and staff

    PCMI Corporation2019-05-02
  3. "very collaborative. Best company to start."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCMI Corporation for more than a year

    Pros

    The best learning curve for someone to start their career.

    Cons

    perks can be modified

    PCMI Corporation2019-01-16
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Find Some Place Else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PCMI Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Grocery Store Nearby Occasional Free Food The International Employees are nice

    Cons

    The office is a very cliquey place. There are a lot of office politics going on in the office (the CEO says one thing, everyone else says that's not the way we're doing it). HR is in the back pocket of the CEO and is very poorly managed. Very little to almost no training for new employees. Very unprofessional language around the office (F-bomb is a common one). If you ask someone a question in the office, they'll... tell you to ask employees in their international offices (many of who are leaving for the day). Every day is an emergency, especially when a release is schedule (employees are the ones that suffer for poor planning). Simply doing the job you are asked to do is never enough for management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better. Throw out entire upper management. Clean up the language around the office.

    PCMI Corporation2019-01-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great team of smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCMI Corporation full-time

    Pros

    I’ve been an employee for last several years. I think the company has a tremendous growth, expanded each of the 3 offices. I like working here and contributing to the team. Overall the culture is very positive, employees work together pretty well, nice mixed of talented people.

    Cons

    I don’t think any cons, I enjoy working here

    PCMI Corporation2018-04-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I have learned and done SO much here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCMI Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company that has been exponentially growing over the years that I have been here. We are constantly gaining customers, adding employees, and even expanding offices. The opportunities are great. This company really gives you the tools you need to succeed. They encourage and pay for you to take any type of training, class, or seminar that will help you gain knowledge applicable for your role. They also... come up with a yearly certification plan for you and once you achieve a certification, you get a bonus. I guess that might be a con for some but for me, education is key to continuous learning and growing. The management team is made up of individuals who are all experts at what they do so it is great working alongside them. Your manager will trust you with your tasks and let you own them and run with them. The sky is the limit here. There is also a lot of young talent here who have really stepped up to the plate. Since this is a smaller company, most employees get to dive into many different areas of the company and do a variety of tasks on a daily basis. This is awesome because your work day doesn't feel as drab and routine. Benefits here great as well. Dental is superior to any other insurance I have had and our 401k is extremely excellent. There are quite a few fun and unique company outings every year and frequent after work get togethers.

    Show More

    Cons

    Our office space could use some spicing up. Maybe even add in a few fun items like video games or ping pong where employees can refuel, relax, and bond with eachother. We are a software company afterall.....

    Advice to Management

    Don't make so many decisions on the fly and work on communication.

    PCMI Corporation2018-01-22
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Worst Company I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Park Ridge, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PCMI Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing comes to my mind. Only thing is, it is pet friendly.

    Cons

    No set process for on-boarding people. HR is a joke -- purely manipulated and controlled by CEO -- its not an independent body. Unstable company. Its small, and typically has all the problems of a small company. Cash flow is quarter to quarter. When a client quits or about to quit, CEO loses it, and uses fowl language. Very unprofessional place.

    Advice to Management

    Stop using "F" words. This is not high school. Learn to work as a team.

    PCMI Corporation2018-02-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work, learn, and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCMI Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Upper Management team really puts trust into all employees. Everyone is relied on for tasks, projects, etc. and there are multiple ways to learn from and collaborate with industry experts. All are given the opportunity to own projects and prove their skill sets. Opportunities to grow in roles and in the company is great. Managers also care about their employees and want to see them succeed, they allow... employees to advance their careers by taking courses, attending seminars, getting certified, etc. The environment is fast-paced and also friendly. All employees are willing to help one another. Work gets done in a professional manner, and there are also company outings to celebrate events and milestones.

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep making employees feel valued, it goes a long way!

    PCMI Corporation2017-12-14
  9. Helpful (4)

    "It’s a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PCMI Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    10 sick days, 2 weeks vacation for first year hires accrued Occasional holiday bonus Free coffee and occasional snacks Bright, clean office Hour lunch Incredibly nice employees, always willing to help out. Good location 401K Given all tools necessary for job Many restaurants near area Knowledgeable team, always learning Wants to grow as a company Becoming leaders in the industry

    Cons

    Projects are often never implemented, so you learn to not get too invested into your work as it will probably switch hands often of who is assigned the work Many unnecessary meetings Employee reviews judge you on how well you have tracked your time as an employee (yes, you have to track every minute of your day with a description.) and if you wear jeans on only Fridays. No real HR department Open layout is... EXTREMELY distracting and just does not work in this office. Can hear people on either end of the office, which really sucks when you have a desk in the middle (believe me). Doing work with the office in Poland is difficult and time consuming. Not all of management is on board with each other and do not have clear communication or vision, which causes many problems for employees following their managers direction. Do not consider peoples time during interviews, often leaving interviewees waiting lengthy amounts of time- sometimes an hour or so. Unnecessarily long interviews so plan in advance. Ask unnecessary behavioral questions during interviews Unnecessarily strict dress code that employees (except managers) are expected to follow. Understandable when clients are in the office, but unnecessary for 90% of the days. Will very often be asked to do things outside of your job description so do not get attached to your title. Some employees refer to themselves as “wearing many hats” in the office, even though that just means lots of work from all different directions. Hires straight-out-of-college students who do not stay very long once they are able to put it on their resume so work is left for others to take on once they unexpectedly leave. Favorites are picked and it will show based on who gets particular clients and who gets to work from home when they request to. Very rarely negotiate salary ever. No concrete way of internal communication (lengthy meetings, emails, quick Skype messages, in-person standup meetings, and JIRA messages all start to get mixed together) Some managers need more training on leadership skills. Also, it might help if the managers spend more time together. Incredibly strict 8am-5pm, so don’t clock out early. Some employees tend to be so busy they often work through their hour long lunch in some positions. Try to do too many get-togethers outside of work every few weeks (con for me, but some people like that)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees

    PCMI Corporation2017-12-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PCMI Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Good work culture, great location, Pet friendly

    Cons

    No set process. No on board process. No training on the software they use

    PCMI Corporation2017-10-26
Found 18 reviews