PENFED Credit Union Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
PENFED Credit Union President & CEO James Schenck
James Schenck
274 Ratings
Pros
  • "PenFed is a great place to work(in 52 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, sick time that is separate from vacation time(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have only been employed by PenFed for a few months so I do not have any cons at this time(in 48 reviews)

  • "Upper management impressed by buzz-words easily(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HRIS in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PENFED Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Part of a great overall team, our smaller team and manager are all great support systems and assist one another when we need it. Education assistance benefits and also working remote during COVID has been an easy adjustment.

    Cons

    Salary, I wish it was higher. Would love more opportunity for promotions/raises.

    PENFED Credit Union2020-05-18
  2. "One of better places to work in DC metro!"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Technical Architect 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PENFED Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    opportunity to explore different technologies. Work life balance.

    Cons

    Fast paced . changing priorities. immature processes. Below market pay.

    Continue reading
    PENFED Credit Union2020-05-15
  3. "Friendly work environment and access to continued learning and skills development"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PENFED Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, work/life balance, good pay, mid and end year bonus, open communication with management

    Cons

    Not much room for creativity

    PENFED Credit Union2020-04-29

    PENFED Credit Union Response

    May 4, 2020Military and College Recruiting Lead

    Thank you so much for your feedback! Your contributions to our organization are so important!

  4. "Purpose-driven Organization with Positive Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PENFED Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    PenFed's culture of member-service and long history brings pride to employees. It is also a forward-looking company with an eye for talent, technology and advancement.

    Cons

    Growing and advancing is a process, and not a perfect one. Things can get busy, toes can get stepped on and middle-management bears a tremendous load to support PenFed's evolution.

    Continue reading
    PENFED Credit Union2020-04-28
  5. "I'd go back"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Msr in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PENFED Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers and members, PTO and bonuses

    Cons

    They Closed my Home Branch

    PENFED Credit Union2020-05-07
  6. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior HRIS Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PENFED Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PenFed is a great place to work. The pay is good, they have a plethora of benefits, the people are fantastic to work with.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    PENFED Credit Union2020-04-20

    PENFED Credit Union Response

    April 27, 2020Military and College Recruiting Lead

    Thank you!

  7. "Quit after 6 months"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Universal Representative 

    I worked at PENFED Credit Union part-time

    Pros

    Day shift. You can accrue paid time off and vacation days.

    Cons

    You have to use three different programs just to complete one transaction.

    PENFED Credit Union2020-04-22

    PENFED Credit Union Response

    April 27, 2020Military and College Recruiting Lead

    Thank you for your comments, and sharing your experience with us!

  8. "Opinions Matter"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ops Officer in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PENFED Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    salary, communication on products and services, recognition

    Cons

    I have only been employed by PenFed for a few months so I do not have any cons at this time

    PENFED Credit Union2020-04-06

    PENFED Credit Union Response

    April 20, 2020Military and College Recruiting Lead

    Thanks so much for your feedback!

  9. "a lot of fun and growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PENFED Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great team, great leadership, smart and diligent people to work with. Fun to work here, and learn a lot from colleagues and managers everyday.

    Cons

    some of the data system is too old, and IT team seems still not ready for Machine learning era

    Continue reading
    PENFED Credit Union2020-04-04

    PENFED Credit Union Response

    April 6, 2020Military and College Recruiting Lead

    We're glad that you enjoy our work environment. Thank you for your feedback!

  10. "Great Service"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at PENFED Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Great financial services and customer service

    Cons

    Training time is too long with not enough pay

    PENFED Credit Union2020-03-28

    PENFED Credit Union Response

    April 6, 2020Military and College Recruiting Lead

    Thank you for your feedback!

Found 407 reviews