PHE Reviews | Glassdoor

PHE Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
PHE CEO Philip Harvey  (no image)
Philip Harvey
8 Ratings
  1. "Great PT Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SALES CLERK in Piqua, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at PHE part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun staff, fun boss, fun job.

    Cons

    No cons at this company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing.

    PHE2019-03-24
  2. "A great place to work over all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contact Center Representative in Hillsborough, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PHE part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    PHE is an incredibly professional environment, which may surprise some outsiders who are suspicious and judgmental of the product line. The facility is clean, the people are kind and there's plenty of room for professional development and promotion.

    Cons

    In the contact center, sales goals can feel aggressive, and sometimes, I felt 'making the sell' was more important than making the customer happy. In other words, the 'customer first' mentality seemed at odds with some of the sales goals. That said, if you're good and comfortable with sales, your paycheck will reflect it.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe devise of system where sales and service are separated (yet staff are trained on both for overflow). Let people work to their strengths while still challenging them to get outside their comfort zone.

    PHE2019-03-13
  3. "Downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at PHE full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    few and far between now, if you just want something part time the hours are semi flexible

    Cons

    you are just your numbers, becoming full time is near impossible, new HR cares nothing about employees, Management is clueless, there is no communication between departments, management often contradicts their self and sends out conflicting memos and change policies at a whim, if you ask three different supervisors the same question, you will get at least four different answers

    PHE2019-04-15
  4. "Very interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at PHE part-time

    Pros

    There are bonuses provided to employees

    Cons

    It was just too far of a commute so I didn't stay very long

    PHE2019-01-04
  5. "Awesome Place IF you are a manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PHE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Short fridays. Flexible depending on manager. Can be a fun place to work at times.

    Cons

    If you are rank and file you get to watch the managers showered with money from shares, much better benefits and treated better. Rank and file workers don't really even seem to matter. CEO for all intensive purposes now is not Phil Harvey but David Groves. Though he goes by president.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your good employees. Job market is too strong now not to.

    PHE2019-01-15
  6. "Run......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA in Burlington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PHE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I loved my residents so much. Just to put smiles on their faces was amazing?

    Cons

    No room to advance, work u like a slave, they don't appreciate you as a worker. Upper staff members talk down on their employees! Run

    Advice to Management

    Be more professional

    PHE2018-10-20
  7. "Was a Premium Job; Now, it's Like Prison."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PHE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is ok and managers usually try and work with you when it comes to your hours/schedule. Owner of the company is a tremendous person and asset to the community.

    Cons

    NO promotion from within, management is aging and it shows, communication is terrible between groups, lots of "infighting" between departments, lack of forward thinking, technology is WAY behind (think Windows 2000 / Outlook 2010), pay is very skewed between the peons and management (extremely), benefits were terrific until about 5-7 years ago and now even my doctor and pharmacist tell me "wow, you'd think you... wouldn't have such terrible insurance!" You are told to be thankful for having any insurance at all (I guess I am.) New ideas are basically laughed at and there is also pressure to do community service - almost as if mandatory. Nothing wrong with community service, but this adds stress to the job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This use to be a great place to work, but morale is in the toilet and so are the opportunities. Please reassess.

    PHE2017-09-21
  8. "The call center needs help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PHE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They have a great christmas party, coworkers are like friends

    Cons

    They just want work minions & no one with any advice that could make them better. They are really still back in the 1980's.

    Advice to Management

    Improve the call center.

    PHE2017-09-15
  9. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Administrator in Hillsborough, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PHE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Varied role each day is different, great team ethos flexible in hours and holidays if required. A good platform into Human Resources.

    Cons

    Fairly weak management,slow and unacceptable systems in place to tackle any work issues that inevitably arise in the working environment within the department or other departments.

    PHE2017-03-23
  10. "Interesting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Salisbury, MD

    I have been working at PHE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very friendly work environment Good balance work/ personal life Managers care about the employees

    Cons

    Remote location Sometimes work is not very challenging No future career perspectives

    PHE2016-12-10
Found 20 reviews
</>Embed