PKF O’Connor Davies Reviews | Glassdoor

PKF O’Connor Davies Reviews

Updated May 15, 2017
40 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
PKF O’Connor Davies Managing Partner Kevin Keane
Kevin Keane
20 Ratings

40 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Harrison, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Harrison, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time

    Pros

    PKF O'Connor Davies genuinely cares about its employees. The culture is very warm, kind, and the Firm promotes a great work-life balance. There are nice perks like being able to wear jeans on Fridays and being able to leave at 2pm on Fridays during the summer. The HR department does a good job at making sure employees feel appreciated.

    Cons

    The technology/ programs can be updated. The Tuition Reimbursement Program can be improved on to encourage employees to further their education.

    PKF O’Connor Davies Response

    Feb 22, 2017 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We do frequently review our benefits along with polling our employees to see what enhancements can be made and will certainly take this into consideration.


  2. "Employee Perks and Flexibility"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Harrison, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Harrison, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time

    Pros

    The firm really stepped up this busy season and has a lot of fun activities for the employees. It seems like they are trying to improve employee satisfaction. Jeans Fridays, half day Fridays in the summer, and flexibility are the best.
    Response time from IT and HR have greatly improved in the past few months too.

    Cons

    The IT programs could be better. They are slow and it seems like they are always having to do updates.

    PKF O’Connor Davies Response

    Feb 22, 2017 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you are enjoying some of our new busy season initiatives and be on the lookout for more to come!


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Accountant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great working environment and room for advancement.

    Cons

    Some days can be long, but that is public accounting.

    PKF O’Connor Davies Response

    Feb 22, 2017 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to hear that you are having a positive experience!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (3)

    "Cranford"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Experienced Staff in Cranford, NJ
    Current Employee - Experienced Staff in Cranford, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Mid size firm with small firm feel
    - A lot of perks. (Massages during busy season, ordering food during busy season, trivia nights, escape room night)
    - Good name
    - Everyone feels like family

    Cons

    - The partner to staff ratio is too high in Cranford. Especially during busy season, there are partners fighting over the staff/seniors/supervisors. Management and Partners trying to circumvent other Partners to try to get their work done. This leaves the staff/senior/supervisors in a tough position. There needs to be more staff. Not saying there should be less partners, but in order to accommodate all the partners there needs to be more staff.
    -Very competitive in moving up the ladder, but I guess this is inherent when its a mid size firm.

    Advice to Management

    -More staff

    PKF O’Connor Davies Response

    Feb 22, 2017 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! Staffing is always a top priority for us and fortunately we have been able to increase our staffing in our Cranford location both with external and internal professionals ... More


  6. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Summer hours: leave earlier summer Fridays (if no one stops you). They still have a COLA.

    Cons

    Horrible culture, no support or helpful colleagues. Usual small company gossip. No many holidays-none between January 2nd and Memorial. Systems are outdated, many partners are computer illiterate. Bad communication across the firm. Old HR was horrible, new one a little better but still much work to be done. Very, very expensive benefits. No 401(k) match, very small profit sharing takes 6 years to vest.

    Advice to Management

    Change your culture-is horrible. Be more generous to your employees.

    PKF O’Connor Davies Response

    Feb 22, 2017 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you had a sub-optimal experience.


  7. Helpful (4)

    "Feeling abused and overworked. I want my life, my family and happiness back."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Harrison, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Harrison, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Suitable if you're a workaholic and one who enjoys staying overly busy all year round but tends get wearisome. If you have a family, work/life balance is extremely difficult or near impossible. Great learning experience for new graduates.

    Cons

    Manager's temperament makes it difficult to work with and hinders staff's potential. Management lacks maturity and tends to be impartial and cliquish. Time budgets are unrealistic and constricted. It compromises time needed for quality work.

    Advice to Management

    Human resource needs improvement. Management needs to do a better job at showing appreciation for staff. Management has the tendency to criticize and they forget or do not give credit for a job well done. This does not keep staff motivated and can be discouraging.

    PKF O’Connor Davies Response

    Feb 22, 2017 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you are not having a good experience. The Firm has a Flexible Work Option Program were employees are able to build a schedule that works best ... More


  8. Helpful (3)

    "Look elsewhere"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cranford, NJ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cranford, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Free food during busy season.

    Cons

    Poor org culture, clueless HR, partners are corrupt.

    Advice to Management

    Weed out the problem partners, use already established practices to improve the org culture.

    PKF O’Connor Davies Response

    Feb 22, 2017 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience.


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Public Accounting = Horrible"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Auditor in Harrison, NY
    Former Employee - Staff Auditor in Harrison, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Cant think of any besides to get your 1 year experience

    Cons

    The people stab you in the back, the clients are horrible small companies (dont get stuck in the housing department) and once you leave they take forever to fill out your Form 4B experience. Additionally, HR is the worst!

    Advice to Management

    fire all the HR people and start over with people who care and know what they are doing. Also, find better clients.

    PKF O’Connor Davies Response

    Jul 6, 2016 – Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your review and I am very sorry to hear that you had a sub-optimal experience. We make it a point to listen to our employees as they are our Firm’s most valuable asset. We enjoy working ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Staff Accountant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PKF O’Connor Davies (More than a year)

    Pros

    The atmosphere and co workers are great.

    Cons

    Sometimes felt like the company was too top heavy

    PKF O’Connor Davies Response

    Mar 15, 2016 – Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your review! The demographic shift in our workforce continues and over the past several years we have made significant strides in hiring and promoting talented professionals to assume ... More


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Great firm on the rise!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Staff in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Audit Staff in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Helpful and comprehensive training for new hires and existing employees.
    -Supportive management that makes you feel like part of the team.
    -Competitive salary for the industry.
    -Friendly atmosphere and people.
    -The firm has grown a bunch since I have been here which is exciting to see.

    Cons

    -Long hours during the busy tax and audit season, butthe firm helps out with dinner if you stay past a certain time.

    Advice to Management

    -Keep investing in staff training programs, people really appreciate them

    PKF O’Connor Davies Response

    Mar 15, 2016 – Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that you are having a positive experience! We are very excited for our continued growth and have some great live and on-demand training ... More


Showing 40 of 45 reviews
Reset Filters