PNC Financial Services Group Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
PNC Financial Services Group  President and Chief Executive Officer William S. Demchak
William S. Demchak
2,455 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great employee benefits and work life balance(in 549 reviews)

  • "Great company with good benefits(in 301 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Unclear direction from upper management(in 189 reviews)

  • "Work life balance was not the best(in 157 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of PNC Financial Services Group and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Great company

      Apr 20, 2021 - Personal Banker in Harrisburg, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ethical, customer focused, life balance for employees is important. Many benefits, personal, family & financially , education-wise

      Cons

      Struggle with fully staffing area branches ( but it is a pandemic...

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company To Work For

      May 14, 2021 - Loan Support Analyst in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, good culture and fair pay

      Cons

      No real complaints about working for PNC

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Drastic difference between teams

      Jun 10, 2021 - Quality Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can move around between teams Can be laid back on some teams Can use newer technology

      Cons

      My first team was excellent and was fun to work with but the growth wasnt there. I got asked to join a new project that would get me closer to working with automation. I had 1 week to train for 4 months worth of training. We were thrown into a group with no test lead to help guide us on best methods. My team wanted us to do 100 point sprints with 3 unexperienced testers. PNC raises are horrible. I was given 2 promotions in 2 months but my pay increased 1.5%. On top of that you dont get the titles of your promotions till the next year. My new team disrespected me often and expected us to churn out work and cut corners to get it done. The training isnt great and you can be blocked from moving around. Every team I have been on I've had to specialize and couldnt move around. To get answers from higher ups can take weeks if not months. On top of the weak pay raises, you will have to suffer through emails bragging of the net billions of dollars of income they get that year and on top of that deal with the far left politicalization of PNC shoved down the throat.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Overall a great place to work

      Jun 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent employee benefits DE&I initiative Vacation time separate from sick time, PTO is not combined Employee resource groups Branch employees have structure & clear expectations which allows them to be successful Cross-market communication is good Flexible work arrangements available for qualifying positions Pension 401(k) match Most lines of business or job roles offer plenty of career growth opportunities Tools & resources available to help employees grow their career with PNC

      Cons

      Branch hours are long and branch environment can be stressful Some lines of business have little streamlining among business processes (compliance aside which is very consistent). This can be very frustrating and time consuming when you are searching for a solution, an answer, or various other scenarios. Certain positions in some lines of business offer little career growth

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Typical Bank, All Talk with No Substance

      Jun 4, 2021 - Manager in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities for transfer and training (if you have a manager supporting your development). Competitive salary. Some employees can work remotely depending on the roll and personality of your manager. Very inclusive of all races/genders/etc. Insurance for domestic partners. Adoption assistance.

      Cons

      Any roll you have is only as good as the manager you report to. I held 4 positions for over 10 years and the manager makes the job. Several of the managers I worked with/for were deceitful. I was there several years before I realized that a daily journal needed kept in order to have any advancement of salary or position. The "Peter Principle" seems to be alive and well. You are treated like a number. Widget goals and goals in general especially in any branch or sales related position. Upper management seem unaware of any work done "in the trenches". Negotiate your salary well. There is a reason "bankers" jump from one bank to another and back again. I even had a manager advise me to quit and reapply after 6 months!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      PNC Bank

      May 23, 2021 - Business Development Officer in South Bend, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good internal training and development program. They try to allow the employee to direct their development and guide them through the process.

      Cons

      Too many moving components to the bonus plan that seems to create a forced limit on the bonus a person is eligible for. There is a 10% internal cap to a person's salary when moving to a different position (or they will place you at the base rate for that position). People coming in from the outside are able negotiate higher salaries than loyal employees that are seeking upward mobility.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      comfortable

      Jun 11, 2021 - Software Developer in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      comfortable working environment Large team Great Benefits

      Cons

      orientation and training ,Knowledge transfer was like wasting time, I am not using that knowledge in my team

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lack Values

      Apr 15, 2021 - Universal Branch Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is not all that great. No raises.

      Cons

      The company had become to big for their morals. They force their employees to push sales . Credit Card and Investments. Calls every day and non stop chain emails asking about our “success” of we did not make the big sale in a investment referral/qualified referral then the regional manager came down hard on the staff. When the customers tell us they are not interested in a product, we have to still our best to push the product. Call customer back in a few days to try and sell the products to them. At PNC is doesn’t matter how great of an employee you are; a lot of us carried a perfect 10 in our customer survey scores along with meeting our revenue credits. Even though those qualities and goals were met if you were not a friend to the regional then you were still looked down upon. PNC does not Live up to their mission statement. They are I think that is too big and only cares about the sales not the customers and not their employees. If you look you will notice a lot of branches have either closed or change to cashless or have that other employer is gone due to Lack of proper management. If you like to go to a job where you are beaten up every day and stressed for your full eight hours then go to PNC. If you’re looking for a career with great management, advancement within, and support from upper managementThen I strongly advise you stay clear from PNC Bank

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Valued Company with Values

      May 24, 2021 - PNC Bank Virtual Customer Service and Support Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PNC Bank's CEO Bill Dempchak has incredible values for social reform, justice, and helping his employees establish a work/home balance. It carries over into how he leads his company. Everyone has the ability to quickly rise in the company after 6 months of excellent performance. They train for each position and provide excellent benefits (dental, vision, medical, employer match 401K). If you are a minority of any group, PNC is a place where you will feel like you have a chance to grow with the company.

      Cons

      It can get busy at times...extremely busy. Back-to-back calls can create fast burnout, especially in a role such as CSR where part of the job includes demanding customers on occasion.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Don’t expect much

      Jun 10, 2021 - Personal Banker in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No sundays, they took that away when covid hit.

      Cons

      They took away referral tellers so you don’t get paid but they still expect to refer. There is always turn over with employees, their systems need to be updated. They don’t hire within. No work life balance.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 6,258 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PNC Financial Services Group Job Seekers

    Branch Sales and Service Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Leadership Development Program
    Learn About the Job
    Branch Sales and Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at PNC Financial Services Group? Share Your Experiences

    or