KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

PPD

Engaged Employer

PPD

Add a Review

PPD Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
PPD Chairman and CEO David Simmons
David Simmons
797 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work/ life balance is great at PPD(in 151 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, good life/work balance and nice environment(in 112 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No room for creativity, bad work life balance(in 122 reviews)

  • "Goals are graded after upper management gets a curve; most are only raised to keep up with inflation(in 38 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of PPD and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Work/Life Balance and a company that cares!

      Jan 13, 2021 - Clinical Research Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In my experience, PPD has been great at promoting work/life balance, even as I'm in a traveling position. It can be stressful at times, as with any job when you have deadlines for tasks, but I have never felt overwhelmed with work at this company. I have always felt very valued as an employee. I've given my all, but been recognized for it also, which is very important to me. In 5 years at the company, I've been promoted 3 times (soon to be 4), and I have always felt very supported and like my line manager cheers me on. I also live in an area where hurricane Florence really impacted us a few years back. The way PPD supported us during that time is was a testament to me about how much they really care about us, and I really appreciated all the ways they tried to help us during that time. I couldn't ask for a better company!

      Cons

      As with any job, busy times can be stressful, but I have never felt like I wasn't supported, and my managers have always tried to make sure I had everything I needed and wasn't feeling overwhelmed.

      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      One of the BEST CRO's in the industry to work for!

      Jan 18, 2021 - Feasibility Manager in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work/ life balance is great at PPD. Management is working hard to make sure the needs of its employees are met!

      Cons

      The range in salary is certainly less then some other CROs. HR is also a hard barrier to cross when it comes to a standard of requirements across the organization. The offering of Health Benefits for LGBTQ+ employees is seriously lacking and behind the times in ensuring everyone is created equal.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent pay, but severely understaffed

      Dec 3, 2020 - Project Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is decent, I have a permanently WFH position which is nice. Colleagues are usually very friendly and helpful. Line managers are nice, within their limited capabilities.

      Cons

      Upper management bids on much, much more work than their workforce can actually take on. Work-life balance is nearly impossible; clients are demanding, timelines are always tight, and you are always given more work than you can manage, because there are never enough hands to take it on. Even within my organization, the VPs are completely dismissive of PM feedback of being overwhelmed. Reorganizations and new software/system rollouts come with minimal training - which we wouldn't have time to take even if there was training.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good for learning but not much else

      Nov 12, 2020 - Associate Scientist in Madison, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learn lots of analytical techniques Will hire without experience Great first job out of college if you have no experience

      Cons

      Turn around time initiative in the GMP lab is highly unrealistic and puts unnecessary stress on analysts. The company pushes for work/life balance but most analysts are overworked to meet deadlines. Management is hired outside the company. Very few internal promotions. Pay is not comparable to other companies in the industry. Company did not adapt well to the covid pandemic. Because analysts are paid hourly, if they got sick or were required by the company to quarantine, their options were to either take PTO or take unpaid vacation.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company

      Jan 15, 2021 - Clinical Research Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Values employees, work life balance, great training

      Cons

      Less compensation than other companies

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Team Enviroment

      Jan 11, 2021 - Assistant Scientist in Middleton, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good scheduling, work/life balance and the upper management listens.

      Cons

      Timelines are quite strict, previous experience does not matter that much.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Jan 3, 2021 - Sample Coordinator in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance Culture Compensation

      Cons

      Management can be better at listening to suggestions

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Jan 11, 2021 - Associate Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great opportunities, interesting work, positive place

      Cons

      No room for creativity, bad work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Job

      Jan 11, 2021 - Associate Bio Statistician in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great management, team and work/life balance

      Cons

      No cons to be listed

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Salary

      Dec 29, 2020 - Clinical Research Recruiter in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment to work in

      Cons

      Work-Life Balance is the main con

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 270 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with PPD Job Seekers

    Clinical Research Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at PPD? Share Your Experiences

    or