PPG Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
42%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
PPG Co-Founder & CEO Darryl King
Darryl King
6 Ratings
  1. "Engaging, Fulfilling Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PPG

    Pros

    The sense of community is great. The atmosphere is challenging but patient, especially during the training process. The work is rewarding and highly applicable skills are developed by the work done.

    Cons

    As a contract employee, the nature of my position in the company is sometimes murky.

    PPG2016-09-11
  2. "Stay Away!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Sylmar, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PPG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunity to learn about yourself and how to "deal" with people from all levels and to learn what not to do in a work place or how to treat people.

    Cons

    An extremely weak HR department that shows favoritism. If someone in management, HR or another supervisor doesn't like you or sees you as a threat you won't last there. Too many friends and family from production employees to the management team. A completely incompetent management team that reacts too much without thinking about the long term effects of a given situation. Complete disregard for your interests even though they will tell you they care about your growth which is not true because they have already chosen their favorites on who they want to help move up.

    Continue reading
    PPG2020-03-31
  3. "Review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Primary Finish Tech 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PPG full-time

    Pros

    Lot of over time. great co-workers

    Cons

    make most of income of over time bc low paying salary pay management made it difficult work with Management try to make it look like they work helping employee but no real changes

    PPG2019-03-26
  4. "Entrepeneur"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Houston, TX

    I have been working at PPG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very busy and challenging. Provides great experience.

    Cons

    Due to government contracts, invoices are slow to pay

    Continue reading
    PPG2019-01-24
  5. "Its OK"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PPG full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The Country Club atmosphere. Do a little work and get by like everyone else. Very little forced overtime, but volunteer for all the overtime you want. It has air conditioning.

    Cons

    Management is clueless. If your a favorite, it great, if not hide.

    PPG2018-10-02
  6. "Not Fufulling Payroll"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PPG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small firm, with big connections with partnerships that provide lots of opportunity.

    Cons

    Does not pay employees, all left due to no payment with promises of repayment later. Still waiting several years later.

    Continue reading
    PPG2017-07-28
  7. "Customer Service Representative"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Valencia, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PPG full-time

    Pros

    Company ca pay ok but not really.

    Cons

    The department is very hostile! !!

    Continue reading
    PPG2017-02-11
  8. "PPG has big company benefits and bureaucracy"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at PPG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Successful company, well managed, challenging work, willing to spend money to train employees, 401k match dollar for dollar up to 6%.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy! It takes a long time and many approvals to get things done. Many functions are centralized through corporate and you have no choice but to go along with it.

    Continue reading
    PPG2016-05-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "chemist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemist in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at PPG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the pay was good and I liked my colleagues.

    Cons

    Stress level high was high and human resources placed a lot of stress on employees

    PPG2016-03-01
  10. "status"

    4.0
     

    I have been working at PPG

    Pros

    Great place to be employed

    Cons

    None I can think of

    PPG2015-05-19
Found 14 reviews
</>Embed