PPM America Reviews | Glassdoor

PPM America Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
PPM America CEO Leandra Knes  (no image)
Leandra Knes
5 Ratings
  1. "Marketing and Communications Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing and Communications Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at PPM America

    Pros

    Awesome culture, awesome people, interesting work! Super fun environment for an asset management firm, lots of free food, fun events, solid leadership, and great opportunities

    Cons

    I absolutely loved my time at PPM! Nothing bad to report

    PPM America2018-02-23
  2. "Good Benefits, Limited Mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President Private Equity Operations in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PPM America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay, profit share, insurance, work-life balance

    Cons

    Limited potential to progress your career, old-school culture where the best ideas don't always win, imbalanced work allocation between departments

    Advice to Management

    listen to lower-level employees and stop having so many meetings, start making some decisions

    PPM America2019-08-06
  3. "Portfolio Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PPM America full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work-life balance, long tenured investment professionals, successful historical track-record, continuing education support

    Cons

    Lack of formal training, difficult for making career as non-investment professional,l

    PPM America2018-02-09
  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PPM America

    Pros

    A lot of learning opportunities

    Cons

    Sometimes wasn't doing much work

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    PPM America2017-11-16
  5. "Awesome company and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PPM America

    Pros

    - Everyone wants you to learn - Genuinely nice people, they've won several awards for best small workplace

    Cons

    - Sometimes you can get lost as an intern since you are working for so many different people

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    PPM America2017-09-08
  6. "Accounting Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PPM America

    Pros

    awesome location and building, good atmosphere.

    Cons

    rather stale work and low risk investments

    PPM America2017-06-13
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at PPM America

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, inviting work environment

    Cons

    Can be slow work environment

    Advice to Management

    👍🏻

    PPM America2017-01-17
  8. "Voted best place to work in Chicago in 2014 and still the best today"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PPM America

    Pros

    By far the most caring, professional and forward thinking place I have ever had the pleaseue of working for

    Cons

    Stressful job but the same position at most other place would be be the same.

    PPM America2016-10-04
  9. "Part-time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PPM America

    Pros

    Easily the best work-place environment I've encountered.

    Cons

    I really don't have any

    PPM America2016-10-03
  10. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at PPM America part-time

    Pros

    The people are great and there is a lot going on. The company is huge and they love to hire internally.

    Cons

    For a financial firm, you would expect things to move at a faster pace; they don't. In an industry that thrives under pressure, PPM lacks this.

    PPM America2015-10-23
Found 12 reviews