Pace Analytical Reviews | Glassdoor

Pace Analytical Reviews

Updated January 10, 2019
257 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Steve A. Vanderboom
134 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The coworkers are great for the most part which makes the work day enjoyable" (in 11 reviews)

  • "Nice coworkers, lots of hands-on experience for entry level employees" (in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, but competitive for entry level" (in 31 reviews)

  • "Some of the upper management are hostile, while others are not engaged or effective" (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "It's what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pace Analytical full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Room for advancement, for employee with all skill levels.
    Dedicated to delivering a quality product.
    Flexible schedule
    Provide tools for continuous improvement.
    Some of the best environmental chemist in the business, work at Pace.

    Cons

    Benefits costs
    Competitive marketplace, leads to high stress work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Improve HR at Pace. This company need a better HR and recruitment team.

    Pace Analytical Response

    Oct 10, 2018 – Pace Analytical

    We're glad to see overall you enjoy working at Pace Analytical! We appreciate your feedback and will keep it in mind as we continue to make adjustments and grow at Pace!


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Low pay, inequality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytical Chemist in Oakdale, MN
    Current Employee - Analytical Chemist in Oakdale, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pace Analytical full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Coworkers are great. Short commute.

    Cons

    It is impossible for a female to be a principal chemist. PhD's are revered no matter how dumb they are. I'm micro-managed every single day. My mission seems to be making the owner and investors a butt-ton of money.

    Advice to Management

    Treat you employees better. Pay them a decent wage. Entry level college grads could make more a Burger King.

    Pace Analytical Response

    Jan 15, 2019 – Pace Analytical

    If you have any additional details on your frustrations we encourage you to reach out to your local HR Manager. We are glad to see you enjoy your co-workers and your commute works for you.

  3. "A great place for a long-lasting career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pace Analytical full-time

    Pros

    I've really enjoyed my time at Pace and know a lot of people who have been here over 10 years. They have a good training program and benefits. I love the people and the security of my position.

    Cons

    There are over 80 locations, and some of them have a different culture and feel. I'm guessing this is why there are some bad reviews on here. I've worked at the main locations and they have been great.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing fun events for staff. There have been more in recent years and people really like it.

    Pace Analytical Response

    Jan 15, 2019 – Pace Analytical

    We are thrilled you enjoy working at Pace Analytical! We have more fun events planned and can't wait to see you at them!


  4. "Field Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Field Technician in Asheville, NC
    Current Employee - Environmental Field Technician in Asheville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pace Analytical full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, generally pleasant staff, annual bonus, company will pay for one professional membership

    Cons

    Lack of strong communication between departments, somewhat low morale, uninspiring work, lack of professional development opportunities, limited training opportunities

    Pace Analytical Response

    Dec 31, 2018 – Pace Analytical

    We are happy to see you overall enjoy working at Pace Analytical! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. If you have any ideas or solutions to some of your concerns please let us know! Thanks again... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Lab Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician in Asheville, NC
    Former Employee - Lab Technician in Asheville, NC

    I worked at Pace Analytical full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, You can complain with your co-workers, listen to all the podcasts you want.

    Cons

    I worked second shift and that schedule was not fun for me, repetitive and dull, low energy

    Advice to Management

    pay higher wages

    Pace Analytical Response

    Dec 10, 2018 – Pace Analytical

    We are sadden to see that your shift did not work for you. Please keep in mind we do have a verity of shift schedules, but we appreciate the feedback.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "No Respect at all for Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Ormond Beach, FL
    Former Employee - Analyst in Ormond Beach, FL

    I worked at Pace Analytical full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Co-workers are really nice. Opportunity to moved around in different Department. Good for learn in a Entry level Position, No room to grow after that, very difficult.

    Cons

    The Administration is completely disorganized. Extremely Poor management toward employees. People without education get to same position and payment as the people with education. Some supervisor have favoritism with some employees. Medical Plan is not worthy for what you pay.

    Advice to Management

    Get Organized and listen to employees.

    Pace Analytical Response

    Dec 10, 2018 – Pace Analytical

    Thank for taking the time to write this review. We value our employees feedback. If you any additional information or examples of the type of leadership you experienced, we encourage you to call... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Reliable work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Analyst II in Beaver, WV
    Current Employee - Laboratory Analyst II in Beaver, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pace Analytical full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Plenty of job security as we are very busy and growth is expected ( that's what I was told). Benefits are decent.

    Cons

    For someone with a degree and 10 years experience, my pay is not reflective of this. Although I've applied for higher positions I'm not even seen for an interview because they know noone will do my current job. It is a very high volume of work and there are alot of crazy details that only experience can handle. This job is also stressful with quick turn around times constantly.
     High turnover rate in our department due to volume of work and schedule can be unpredictable with the short hold samples. Some work weekends and holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Re-evaluate pay of long-time employees if you want to keep them. Also workload for some is much worse than for others and also needs re- evaluated.

    Pace Analytical Response

    Nov 14, 2018 – Pace Analytical

    We are always happy to hear from our tenured employees and happy you have been with us for over 8 years! Compensation is something continually reviewed in an ongoing process. Feel free to reach out... More

  8. "Chemist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pace Analytical full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good working environment and growths opportunities

    Cons

    The pay is not so good

    Pace Analytical Response

    Oct 23, 2018 – Pace Analytical

    Thank you for your review of Pace Analytical!


  9. "lab analyst for 3m"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Analyst in Maplewood, MN
    Current Employee - Lab Analyst in Maplewood, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pace Analytical full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    easy
    sometimes get free food

    Cons

    job is boring and repeatative

    Pace Analytical Response

    Oct 15, 2018 – Pace Analytical

    We're happy to see you are happy working at Pace Analytical!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced and poor training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Allen, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Allen, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pace Analytical (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Coworkers are nice
    Atmosphere is fast paced if you like that sort of thing

    Cons

    Very low starting salary for analysts
    high-stress - always pushing to get data out the door before deadlines

    Advice to Management

    Telling new employees to "ask questions" isn't going to replace adequate training.

    Pace Analytical Response

    Nov 1, 2018 – Pace Analytical

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company. We will take your feedback in consideration as we continue to work on improvement in our training program.