KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Pacific Child & Family Associates

Is this your company?

Pacific Child & Family Associates

Add a Review

Pacific Child & Family Associates Reviews

Updated Mar 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 of over 44 reviews

2.4
28%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Child & Family Associates CEO Jeffrey P. Winter (no image)
Jeffrey P. Winter
7 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing folks

    Jan 17, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The staff at PCFA are amazing.

    Cons

    A broad array of services might be helpful for the people PCFA serves. What they do they do very well.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Things have changed

    Jan 27, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Ramon, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome co-workers, awesome staff, and obviously helping kids and their families. The pay for full-time is somewhat competitive, and the health insurance is pretty good. The older, positive reviews on here on true, in my opinion. The CEO has heart - can't say anything positive about the woman on top.

    Cons

    Times have changed! This used to be a company that focused on the quality of services. With new management EVERYTHING is about the money. I understand that money keeps a company going, but there is zero care for the employees, which explain the huge turn-over in the past year. PCFA does not value their employees - from direct care staff to individuals in supervisory/leadership roles. We are told to "make it seem like we care about our families." You are expected to work more than 40 hours per week on a regular basis, and do not expect to get any recognition for your hard work. If I were writing this review a little over a year ago, this would be completely different. This is what happens when you work for Venture Capitalists.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Apparently things are changing?

    Jun 14, 2016 - DSP in Glendale, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Being able to see a child's growth because of ABA. Knowing that your small contribution is going to make a big difference in the long run of the child, family, and community affected by autism.

    Cons

    The children are the only thing keeping me in this company. -Received minimal training. Received 25 hours of classroom training. I felt like this training did not prepare me well enough provide the proper services for the children. - Once you've gone through the training, you'll do overlaps. I was given two overlaps (6 hours) before starting my first case. I felt like I needed to observe more before putting me out on the field. - All of my supervisors have been great. However, in the few months that I've been here, I've seen so many come and go. So I lack supervision for weeks or months in some cases until they find someone to replace them.

    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Stepping Stone

    Mar 31, 2016 - Direct Service Provider in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helping the kids achieve their capabilities, connecting with families, learning about autism, growing as an individual, psychology related experience, opportunities. The growth of the child is the reason why it is all worth it. Building connections with the child, parents, and their siblings is precious.

    Cons

    Miscommunication between supervisors, DSPs, and scheduling. The manual for deadlines, how to turn in work, and mileage finances changes causing confusion from orientation. A few cents of employment payment increase. Other companies work as a team and look out for all parties and their personal experiences with difficult situations, and pay better.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love PCFA!

    Jul 27, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Ramon, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    friendly work environment, awesome clients, inspirational work! I love working with my co-workers. Everyone here is really friendly. We are expanding really fast so we're serving a ton more kids! Our clients are all nice and PCFA makes sure the environment we work in is safe. They offer a lot of support when we are with clients. They also provide good overlaps if you need more help with a kid!

    Cons

    This is a part time job. They work around your schedule so it is great for people going to school or who have other jobs. If you are looking for a full time position then this isn't the job for you.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great work with flexible hours (Glendale Location)

    Jul 22, 2014 - Direct Service Provider in Glendale, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -I was able to chose how much work load I would have. I started with 20 hours but got quickly 40 hours once I was willing to drive more. -The pay seems to be competitive compared to other agencies. -The company seems to be growing fast -The children are the real reward -I was able to reduce my hours, with a 30 day notice, once I returned back to school. -The department that assigns the cases seems to work well with my hours of availability.

    Cons

    -There should be more training and the training should be paid at a higher rate. -The compensation for training is lower than for the work with the clients. -The driving in Los Angeles can be a hassle -Parents can be pretty demanding

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Office Job

    Jan 1, 2016 - Office Job in Orange, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learn new things, people are nice.

    Cons

    Training was horrible... nothing much happened, I really needed hands on work and did not receive as much as I needed... tedious work that can easily be cut in half if they got better software. There has to be a better way to keep information organized. Had to email everything I did to save my butt, that in itself is tedious and stressful. You have to use your personal phone to contact DSP's sometimes. Lots of attitude in the office.. chill it's just a job. You are expected to stay late if you don't finish everything. You don't get paid enough to do so many things.... you are better off working at the dmv, they probably pay you more than here for all the things you have to do.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not worth the mileage on your car

    Sep 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    At Pacific you are given the opportunity to work with children on the autism spectrum and watch them improve each and every session

    Cons

    Management. When I was first hired, they said that they were building a San Jose location and that most of the clients will be based in the area that you would like it to be. Folks, my clients would reach as far as OAKLAND and I would get absolutely no mileage reimbursement because the client would be my first and last client of the day. This is someone coming from San Jose!The company also promised that you would get holidays but quickly said that no, you would have to work on holidays Supervisors are supposed to be there for you on your first session of a new client, but I had found myself walking in on several sessions with absolutely no idea what to expect and had no help whatsoever. Half the time you feel alone because there is no support in place for you.

    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    PCFA used to be an amazing company years ago.....

    Jun 20, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Other than experience nothing will keep you here, however years ago when Ira Heilveil was the owner of the company, this was an incredible family, and such a good place to be .... One thing that I took from Pacific Child is the people I met, amazing people that sadly left and still keep leaving .........

    Cons

    It's all about money...... Upper management does not appreciate your efforts, everyone cares about himself only..... no raises...... no bonuses...... o% appreciation.... essentially even if you devote yourself to you job you are still are treated the same way as another employee who comes in to fill 8 hrs. This is why so many good professionals left this company and keep leaving,,,,,,, sad

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent Support and Rewarding Position

    Aug 12, 2014 - Direct Service Provider in Glendale, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    PCFA is a great company to work for. The Supervisors are very supportive and are always willing to provide training and mentoring. Flexible schedule, you provide your schedule of availability and the scheduling team matches you with cases. Some of the employees have been here for several years and upon completing their Master's and passing the board exam, they were immediately promoted to Supervisor. This is so encouraging! Working with the kids is the best part!

    Cons

    The cases can be challenging, but then again, it is the field of Autism and ABA. There is room for learning.

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 44 Reviews

Work at Pacific Child & Family Associates? Share Your Experiences

Pacific Child & Family Associates logo
or