Pacific Dental Services Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Dental Services President Stephen Thorne
Stephen Thorne
580 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company to grow with the doctors(in 57 reviews)

  • "I loved how I was able to work on a project that actual dentists could use in the field to positively impact their practice(in 49 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "no paid time off, poor work life balance(in 70 reviews)

  • "You have to use one of their dentists and you’re basically forced to pay for PPO medical insurance(in 68 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Pacific Dental Services and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      NA

      Jan 5, 2021 - Dental Assistant in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, good work life balance

      Cons

      Maybe some politics involved in every office

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to start for new grads or those looking for pathway to ownership

      Jan 20, 2021 - Associate Dentist in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free CE, pathway to ownership, CEREC technology in every office, opportunity to earn bonuses provided your production is above set minimum

      Cons

      no paid time off, poor work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      its fine enough but you get burnt out

      Jan 22, 2021 - Operations Manager in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job security and decent benefits

      Cons

      No growth opportunities and zero work life balance

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      No Work Life Balance

      Jan 14, 2021 - Corporate in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Volunteer Time. It’s one day where you can make difference.

      Cons

      There isn’t a good work life balance unfortunately for most teams at the National Support Center. People are expected to be reading their emails until they go to sleep and some people are responding when you should be asleep. The place often feels like it’s on fire due to poor planning. The poor planning leads to insane and unrealistic deadlines so there goes your weekend. Job descriptions can be misleading or kept intentionally vague so you can basically be forced to take on all types of responsibilities. Managers aren’t trained to be managers so you likely won’t have someone who really knows how to mentor and grow your career. A lot of good people ended up leaving upon massive layoffs due to the pandemic. There aren’t really promotion opportunities, the company tends to hire from the outside rather than promote from within. HR is also pretty worthless and very short staffed so forget turning to them if you have some kind of issue. There is a lot of turnover in some teams at NSC because HR doesn’t fix the issues with the managers who don’t know how to supervise. It’s the same bad managers who stay for years and years. Also many in upper management are resistant to change. The company culture is also very old school, they have a dress code and want people in every day (pre-pandemic). They tried to make the office modern by turning it into an open area, but the timing is bad with the pandemic. Some people are still going in despite the pandemic, but that seems to be based on the particular team culture. That’s something to ask about if you have someone elderly at home or have a condition. The parking also runs out (pre pandemic anyway). Those other older reviews are very true about that and it’s a long walk if you aren’t parked by 9am. I joined this company initially because of the Christian values the organization claims to have, but these values are rarely mentioned except during your initial onboarding. There is a lot of throwing people to the wolves at this company unfortunately and people blaming others instead of taking responsibility. The founding principles seem very far away and a relic of a faraway time. Unless you are interested in health care or the dental industry, the work isn’t very interesting. Few people have heard of the company. It used to be a stable company, but the pandemic has hurt the business as fewer people are going to the dentist. Thousands were laid off due to the pandemic. The benefits aren’t very good. You have to use one of their dentists and you’re basically forced to pay for PPO medical insurance. There is also not enough time off, you are given the minimum holidays that I believe the federal government requires. The vacation day package is also pretty weak compared to other companies in the area. In general, this is a pretty weak employer and I recommend trying to find another one that has a more solid business and better benefits. The founder has lost touch with his company’s core values.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Pretending to be Christian

      Jan 11, 2021 - National Support Center in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I unfortunately can't think of any positives about working for this company except you are given a paycheck. Even that is only some what of a pro because the pay is low in comparison to other companies in the area.

      Cons

      There is no work life balance with the company. You will be given a huge workload and no time to unwind from it. There are only 6 paid holidays and not enough time off. They only give government required holidays such as 4th of July, Christmas and Thanksgiving. You don't get MLK, President's Day, Day after Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, New Year's Eve, etc because "employees need to be around at all times to support the offices." There are vacation days, but these are limited, especially limited if you are a non-exempt employee. This company claims to follow Christian values, but how they treat their employees isn't how Christ would teach employees. This to me is the most disappointing thing about this company as I am a Christian and thought I would be around others who followed Christ's values. Instead it feels like I'm in hell. If you ask some about Christ's values they list as company values, they look at you like you are crazy. After laying off thousands, the attitude of those left were to live in fear of another layoff and then managers adopted an attitude of be thankful you have a job during the pandemic a.k.a let's treat you badly because we can. When you join, they will try to sell you on how you will make such a huge impact for dentists and the pay is lower to support the office development. After you join, you discover the company's business model is built on selling dental services people don't need such as crowns. I don't think Christ would be thrilled with them selling services people don't truly need. Before COVID, the office environment had some major downsides. The parking lot fills up and then you're stuck parking at a hotel and walking half a mile to the office. The office also requires a dress code and professional attire at all times. You are allowed to wear jeans on Fridays, but ONLY if you wear a Pacific Dental Services T-shirt.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Underpaid and overworked !

      Jan 13, 2021 - Benefits Coordinator in Mesa, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Always room for 40+ hours

      Cons

      Pay, work life balance, understaffed, rude doctors, passive Operations Managers

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, modern technology, awesome training

      Oct 7, 2020 - Rda 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quality training, career advanced opportunities, modern technology

      Cons

      Work/life balance, salary, some managers not recognizing employee talents , up selling services, working Saturdays

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pacific Dental Services Response

      People Services

      Thanks for the awesome review! We love reading about positive experiences from our team members and are glad that you're taking advantage of the training and technology provided by PDS®. We are thankful to have you as part of our support organization and appreciate all the hard work that you do.

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place for a single person to gain experience

      Sep 27, 2020 - Operations Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong training if you apply yourself, decent bonus system, great benefit options

      Cons

      Work/life balance not important, you feel like a robot, money is more important than patients or employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pacific Dental Services Response

      Talent Acquisition Specialis

      We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Regarding your concern about how our company only cares about money, we’d like to affirm that our supported dental practices offer state of the art, same-day dentistry as a way to expand access to care for our patients with busy schedules and emerging oral health care needs. One of our core beliefs is that we have the obligation and opportunity to present the best dentistry possible to every patient. We take all feedback seriously and continue to implement practices and policies that will ensure a healthy and happy environment for all our team members.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not enough hours in day...

      Sep 23, 2020 - Operations Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Competitive salary Multiple locations Training Support

      Cons

      Work/life balance The long work weeks and amount of work can sometimes be overwhelming

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pacific Dental Services Response

      Talent Acquisition Specialis

      Thanks for your honest review! We appreciate all that you do and are committed to your continued career growth and success.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to learn

      Sep 17, 2020 - Analyst in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There's so much you can learn

      Cons

      No work/life balance, the pay could be better, and they only give the state minimum holidays off.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 90 English Reviews

    Work at Pacific Dental Services? Share Your Experiences

    or