Pacific Patrol Services Reviews

Updated Apr 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Patrol Services CEO Alan Pendergrass (no image)
Alan Pendergrass
19 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Steady, solid employment

    May 13, 2017 - Security Officer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    PPS provides a steady, reliable paycheck which is significantly above minimum wage. Overtime hours are available.

    Cons

    PPS is perpetually understaffed, so officers are often moved around or asked to work overtime.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    DON'T DO IT

    Apr 1, 2021 - Communications in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Money. Also the officers were really nice.

    Cons

    This company has a high turnover rate. They were extremely understaffed and people were leaving after just working one week (if the company cared they would actually look into how to retain employees). I didn't find the position hard or stressful, just extremely tedious and boring. The system needs to be updated! It is very "micromanagey" and tedious repetitive work. They claim to be a family but it's just a company that wants to fill slots. They will put you in positions without proper training and won't even look at your availability preferences.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    AVOID!

    Mar 30, 2021 - Communications Officer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of overtime available, if that's your thing. Certainly keeps you busy. If you can turn off your brain and just want a paycheck, then by all means go for it.

    Cons

    Management is completely convinced that they have the perfect company and will not listen to your complaints. They'll at least make it seem like they listen, but they don't take any of it to heart. The environment is very toxic. You never feel like you're appreciated. The pay didn't justify the mental toll this position took on me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Okay

    Apr 3, 2021 - Unarmed Security Officer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    High hourly wage Always need shifts covered

    Cons

    Always need shifts covered Big disconnect between admin and workers Often very little training

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Lots of work, not a lot of pay

    Aug 9, 2019 - Bike Security Officer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Lots of overtime if you want it. -Steady work.

    Cons

    -Terrible hours: They start everyone off on night shift and working weekends, day shift is a privilege to be earned. -Very physically demanding: This could be a pro or a con depending on how you look at it. Riding a bike up and down hills and parking structures all night long is tough, but it will get you in shape. -Low pay, I started at $12 an hour, didn't stick around long enough to get a raise. -No time for breaks: as a bike officer, my route took me so far away from the office I was told to make my breaks in the resident lounge of one of the properties I patrolled, but residents would walk in on me and think I was slacking off. They could also interrupt your lunch break at any moment if they needed you to respond to something. I actually got a letter from the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries saying that other employees here had made complaints about not being allowed to take their required breaks.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Strange place to work.

    Apr 3, 2020 - Unarmed Security Officer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pays well, hiring process is fast, co-workers are friendly, and there are options.

    Cons

    Your pay might be reduced at some point, you don't have a lot of say in your schedule, if you work both cleaning and security then it will be very difficult to get any overtime pay.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work overall

    May 10, 2020 - Security Officer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    variety of work is cool

    Cons

    sometimes scary, equipment not always maintained

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Poor Management

    Sep 10, 2020 - Communications in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of overtime if you want it

    Cons

    They will call you every single day to come in or stay late.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Horrible experience

    Sep 29, 2019 - Security Officer Concierge 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None i am typing to meet the five words or less..

    Cons

    I worked for this company for a few months this year. I was asked how many hrs i would like and i was given 10 hours more at first. I was asked to work 8 graves in a row and when i called in due to fatigue i was written up. I was accused of things i did not do. This company gives kudos to supervisors who turn in employees for anything at all.. This place is always under staffed due to their own messed up business strategies. The supervisors are not qualifed but put in the position due to lack of employees. I walked out of this place and ran like my hair was on fire.. Run and run fast. Pay is minimal and no benifits.. You are asked to work your tail off and have no choice to back out of overtime..

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    This job is not for everyone.

    Dec 4, 2019 - Security Officer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have several positive things to say about this job. For one, health and dental benefits are solid. They offer reasonable rates for their plans and decent information about coverage (but only if you ask for it). Another, the hourly pay for bike officers starts at $15.00, well above the local minimum wage with plenty of overtime. You'll meet many people from all kinds of backgrounds. While our gender ratio tends to lean male we are very inclusive of all people and all of our officers like to create a friendly environment. They provide you with uniforms and DPSST training, unheard of at many companies. Finally, they offer to pay for 60% of your Trimet pass which is very beneficial to many of our officers, especially for those who have to traverse a great distance.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? For one, the work-life balance tends to be poor for grave and swing shift officers. With 8-12 hours at a minimum of 4-5 days a week you'll likely end up having little to no social life. For students attending classes regularly and join their bike team, I wish you the best of luck as you'll likely end up too tired, sore, and sleep-deprived that, consequently, your academics will likely suffer. Some can do it, many cannot. Our supervisory team is full of younger and older guys who tend to be reasonable, however, they WILL do as managements asks of them in every scenario. They often do not want to write people up as it requires paperwork and investigations but they will do it if management asks. Some supervisors and operations managers will attempt to guilt you into working extra shifts on your days off or before/after your scheduled shifts. Upper management has literally no clue what it's like to be an officer in the field and will set you up with unrealistic expectations and shift duties. With convoluted patrol schedules that have no clear sign of cohesion, continuity, or so much as even a single ounce of reflection or forethought as to how it might affect patrols and their employees. Management focuses heavily on constant expansion when they should focus on consolidation. New sites, new policies, new procedures, and little to no site training. Officers should receive thorough site training but instead receive minimal training and are expected to behave as seasoned officers. Management as a whole is severely lacking in their communication skills. New information will likely not get passed down to our offices until they are told they are doing something wrong. Also, Alan Pendergrass is no longer the CEO it is in fact, Michelle Timchifuk. Finally, the clients. I have never experienced any negative feedback from the clients. Any complaints have always been justifiable and reasonable. The complaint is about management and their treatment of their clients. This company's code of business conduct or lack thereof has repeatedly conflicted with my own. I'm not certain but I have reason to believe that clients are being billed as if they are receiving constant security patrols when in fact they are not. This is not entirely the fault of the company because they are highly understaffed and it shows. However, in any case, the clients should be informed of this and billed accordingly. Overall, unless you have no skills whatsoever, are in desperate need of a job, or have a desire to jumpstart into a police department or professional security, then I would highly discourage anyone from entertaining the thought of applying for this job.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

Work at Pacific Patrol Services? Share Your Experiences

or