Pacific Sunwear Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Sunwear President, CEO, and Director Gary H. Schoenfeld
Gary H. Schoenfeld
541 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun/laid back environment (depending on your coworkers & management)(in 113 reviews)

  • "They give you a decent employee discount(in 106 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bad communication between upper management to lower(in 87 reviews)

  • "The pay is minimum wage, which if you’re doing part time and providing for yourself just isn’t substantial(in 67 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great first job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Sunwear part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The discounts are really good and its a good place to make friends. (Most are kids still in high school)

    Cons

    There are not many cons, its a retail store

    Pacific Sunwear2019-11-19
  2. "Fun environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Wrentham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people and easy jobs

    Cons

    Hard to manage the store with the volume of people coming in.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2020-05-25
  3. "Fun part-time job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Arcadia, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had very chill managers and great co-workers that I got to know well. Schedules are flexible, unlike other apparel/shoe stores I've worked at. Great experience to build interpersonal skills.

    Cons

    Worked overnight and into early morning a couple of times just cleaning and setting up the store. Expect to do this from time to time.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2020-05-14
  4. "Good"

    4.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Montebello, CA

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good esthetics, treated employers fairly and gave good discounts

    Cons

    could get overwhelmed as pacsun in stores are usually small

    Pacific Sunwear2020-05-12
  5. "Sales Associate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good perks Good motivation Decent environment

    Cons

    Store organization Not a ton of direct communication from the top Long hours Corporate can be out of touch

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2020-05-25
  6. "sales associates sell retail products."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Sawgrass, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New communication skills gained. Customers are usually nice.

    Cons

    May come across difficult people but that's everywhere.

    Pacific Sunwear2020-05-10
  7. "Good College Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, relaxed dress code, discounts, good working environment

    Cons

    Sales goals can be unrealistic, sometimes very boring shifts when not busy

    Pacific Sunwear2020-05-06
  8. "Good Experience for First Time Management Position"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun Work Environment, Easy Position, Good Discount

    Cons

    Lax Management, Low Expectations, Poor Discipline

    Pacific Sunwear2020-05-19
  9. "Sales associate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Pineville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with great kind people and it’s pretty easy going

    Cons

    Hours aren’t that good and the hourly pay is low

    Pacific Sunwear2020-05-12
  10. "Wasn't Great, Wasn't Terrible"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale Associate 

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time

    Pros

    They will hire you even if you have no previous sales experience. They give you a decent employee discount.

    Cons

    Did not train me on how to do anything, so they just placed me in the front of the store to walk around and say hi to people as they walked in. Never thought me anything else so I was very confused when scheduled for an overnight stocking shift.

    Pacific Sunwear2020-05-04
Found 1368 reviews