Pacific Sunwear "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Pacific Sunwear Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Feb 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Sunwear President, CEO, and Director Gary H. Schoenfeld
Gary H. Schoenfeld
550 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun/laid back environment (depending on your coworkers & management)(in 112 reviews)

  • "Nice co-workers and the employee discount(in 104 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bad communication between upper management to lower(in 87 reviews)

  • "The pay is minimum wage, which if you’re doing part time and providing for yourself just isn’t substantial(in 66 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time

    Pros

    great employee discount and laidback environment

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Pacific Sunwear2018-05-16
  2. "I Don't Recommend This Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Grapevine, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's an employee discount, which is good if you like shopping at PacSun.

    Cons

    The location I worked at had bad management and also was apparently one of the worst performing locations and it was not hard to believe. I had to work long hours even off the clock while making bare minimum wage while my coworkers would often slack off and the employee who was appointed to lead and close with us would just be on her phone relaxing while giving orders. Overall terrible experience, but hopefully that was just my location.

    Pacific Sunwear2020-02-02
  3. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Lead Keyholder/Sales Associate 

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time

    Pros

    Employee discount and overall fun work environment

    Cons

    Dirty and disorganized, bad management

    Pacific Sunwear2019-12-12
  4. "Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Definitely a great first job to get out of your comfort shell to build communication skills. Awesome coworkers and employee discount was great!

    Cons

    Not given enough hours some weeks, wages were low, no raises were given.

    Pacific Sunwear2019-09-05
  5. "Bad Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Rafael, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employee discounts on the clothing.

    Cons

    Part-time employees were treated like full-time workers who made commissions off of the sales (which we did not). It was an overly competitive environment that felt like you could be fire or written up at any time for a small infraction.

    Pacific Sunwear2019-08-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good part-time job for high school/college students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Pacific Sunwear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible schedules, the company is able to work around things -Nice co-workers and the employee discount

    Cons

    -Not too many hours to give to employees

    Pacific Sunwear2019-06-14
  7. "Good Part Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    heavy employee discount, fun staff

    Cons

    too many employees, rarely got any hours

    Pacific Sunwear2019-05-28
  8. "Pac Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employee discount, overtime available at select locations

    Cons

    Unreasonable time frames to complete projects Terrible hours

    Pacific Sunwear2019-04-03
  9. "How enjoyable your experience is here highly depends on your GM/DM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Cerritos, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Sunwear part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexible hours - No dress code - Fun/laid back environment (depending on your coworkers & management) - Great employee discount - Great for retail experience (I've managed to learn various operations such as shoe audits, mark downs, transfers, floor sets, etc. within the three years I've been with the company) -Overall, a pretty easy part-time job especially when balancing with school

    Cons

    - Manager turn over rate (worked with SEVERAL (10+) different managers in 3 years) - DM constantly pressuring to cut hours - meaning only one sales associate to do ALL the tasks - Low pay for the amount of work you do - Honestly, if you get an unprofessional manager, your time here will probably be terrible (one shift per week, favoritism based on who they like, rude attitude, etc.). But if you luck out with an awesome manager like the one I have currently, your time will be VERY enjoyable and work won't necessarily feel like work. I can only give this company a 4 star review now, but if this review was done two years ago... it would definitely be one star. Also, the DM can also make or break you and your manager's lives lol. If you have horrible luck and strike out with the most incompetent district manager like our store, stress/frustration levels in the work environment will be heightened.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2019-02-10
  10. "If you’re actually great at retail, then don’t waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun and flexible Great employee discount Trendy

    Cons

    No growth Upper management bypasses the real talent in stores, biased, and are not great at their job Unappreciative of employees No communication about your future Nearly impossible to get a raise you deserve Pay doesn’t match the amount of work you’re expected of

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2019-02-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 104 reviews