Cover image for Pacific Sunwear
Logo

Pacific Sunwear

Is this your company?

Pacific Sunwear

Add a Review

Pacific Sunwear Employee Reviews about "laid back"

Updated Aug 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 of over 2K reviews

3.4
51%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Sunwear President, CEO, and Director Gary H. Schoenfeld
Gary H. Schoenfeld
738 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Pacific Sunwear and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "laid back"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Fun work environment

    Mar 26, 2019 - Sales Lead in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very laid back work environment with many opportunities to socialize.

    Cons

    Minimal room for growth and no raises unless promoted to higher position.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Pacsun

    Mar 25, 2021 - Product Lead in Chandler, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discount was nice, co-workers were very laid back

    Cons

    Discount is not applicable for all items, management can be really bad, no commission

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    It's a pretty good company to work for. I've been working there for two years.

    Dec 3, 2012 - Senior Sales Associate in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company helps you grow if you want to. It's a really laid back environment and my coworkers are really friendly. Corporate started a new program called Sales Associate Productivity which is kind of like commission but not as bad. It allows our employees to work toward a sales goal and earn bonuses when they make ranks within the company. It helps them improve themselves and grow. Pacsun is really understanding when making schedules and dealing with school also.

    Cons

    It's extremely hard to get a raise. I've been working there for two years and only got one raise other than when I got promoted. corporate sends an insane amount of tasks that need to be completed at once. They don't seem to have any sense of how things work in the store. They expect you to be able to make your daily goals as well as to complete all of your tasks such as floorsets and visual updates.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Pac Sun Job

    May 23, 2016 - Sales Floor Team Member in Downey, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy laid back nice coworkers

    Cons

    Bad hours customer complaints

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Fun environment in the distribution center

    Jan 8, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Laid back Supervisors and Managers. The Director of the D.C. is actually a nice guy and talks with all of his associates. Monthly meetings to inform all employees of the happenings. Lot's of employee lunches and events.

    Cons

    Will only hire out of a temp service. You must be well liked to get promoted to a leadership role it doesn't matter how much experience you have. Lot's of short days during the slow season. They change the work hours often. Hard to communicate with headquarters and it takes forever for things to get done or a decision to be made.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A lot of hardwork, so little time!

    Oct 17, 2014 - FT Assistant Manager in Lansing, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The product is fantastic! Discount was great! Employee benefits were great as well. The laid back selling culture was also a great aspect to this company.

    Cons

    Payroll was very slim. A lot of one person coverage. Visual directives extremely intense; expect to be completed on non-business hours but rarely allotted the appropriate hours to do so. A lot of building fixtures from scratch for windows, walls etc. Very heavy lifting of pallets on top of ladders. Not safe.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Much work, little compensation.

    Aug 4, 2014 - Assistant Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Depending on your store manger and DM's attitudes and approaches it can be a more laid back atmosphere to work in. Everyone in my store and in the other stores I worked in were very friendly towards one another in and out of the store.

    Cons

    There is very little "work-life balance". I was denied time off for a mission trip because the company cannot keep management staff to run all their stores. My district was constantly short on staff. Between store closings and managers quitting it was hard to get a day off from working at my store much less being asked to travel and work at another location "close by". The pay was a joke. As an assistant manager I was pulling manager duties and hours and only making $9.00 an hour for a store that was consistently at the top of our district in sales and topped the charts company wide several times a year as the #1 store for our volume tier. There was not much incentive to go for 'bonus' when that looks like $30 in your paycheck that gets TAXED or a $25 gift card TO PACSUN. Many stores in our district were closed and only given 1 to 2 months notice. There was also a huge gap between the job the company expects you to do and the time and resources they use to train you to do it. It was pretty much sink or swim. The "training manual" they give is a joke and no one has time to read it with all the holidays and ridiculous events that come with working in retail even if it was actually useful.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Seasonal employment has once and for all disenchanted the brand for me.

    Sep 6, 2013 - Seasonal Sales Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Casual, easy, work environment. EASY product to sell. Co-workers and management are super laid back and easy to get along with. Very flexible scheduling. Easy training. Dress code was a breeze (almost non-existent) and someone that would find it hard to conform to most companies dress codes would find it easy to work at Pacsun. Family can make purchases in store with your discount (30% off). Also I noticed that most management (key holders and such) had worked there all about 1 year, so if you stick around it seems you get promoted pretty quickly. I was offered part time employment after seasonal hires were let go but declined due to cons below.

    Cons

    Employment policy requires agreement to arbitration. Minimum wage: (even though I had retail experience and had been making more at my previous job which I was not fired, but had excellent review from). ADP Aline card: basically Pacsun in the name of going paperless and being convenient (which it isn't on both accounts) deposits it's employees paychecks onto a prepaid Visa card that has all kinds of restrictions and fees. It's been a month since my first paycheck and I still don't have access to those or any of my wages because it's tied up due to me trying to opt out, which is allowed but not easy. Call-in's: They use call-in's, which is fine, I suppose, but they abuse them. One week I was scheduled for call-in's four days in a row (3 weren't used!). My NC Pacsun outlet took GSOM (Golden State Of Mind) way too seriously... the work environment and management except the store manager are unprofessional, unorganized, inefficient, not punctual, lack customer service skills and I found it all very hard to do my job to the fullest. The discount is only sometimes better than what an average customer can walk in and get. Also the discount can not be used online which is where most of the product to be had is. The product is seriously lacking in quality and has moved from it's origins. There is so much street wear and so little surf wear. Most of the women's clothing is made of polyester, spandex, and elastic. Whatever contract the surf brands have with Pacsun is doing their brand reputation a serious disservice. Maybe once I get paid I'll feel better about it all, but right now I'm pretty disappointed in Pacsun.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I really loved working here...but I got my college degree and moved on.

    Dec 2, 2008 - Store Co-Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Laid back environment...worked with great employees. This was definitely my favorite retail job experience. I worked here for over three years. We opened a store from the ground up. I had a great upper management team and had a lot of help and support. Sure there was pressure at times, but overall this was an excellent job. I was sad to leave but needed to because of school. PacSun was great working around my college schedule and I was a single mom at the time too.

    Cons

    Long hours during the holiday season, but they compensate for it in january.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Pac-Sun Sales role

    Jul 24, 2019 - Sales Associate in Holmdel, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discover new line of street wear brand trends ahead of curve. Employee discounted 30% for items each month. Cool working environment and laid back culture.

    Cons

    Small stores, shifts can be boring and less so demanding. Pay is at minimum wage, not the best or the worst.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 48 Reviews

Popular Careers with Pacific Sunwear Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Pacific Sunwear? Share Your Experiences

Pacific Sunwear logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Pacific Sunwear Photos

+ Add Photo
Pacific Sunwear photo of: PacSun Logo
Pacific Sunwear photo of: Fall 2012 Big Bear Lake
Pacific Sunwear photo of: GSOM
Pacific Sunwear photo of: Golden State of Mind Award
Pacific Sunwear photo of: Pacsun - Back of Store
Pacific Sunwear photo of: PacSun
Pacific Sunwear photo of: Pacsun
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Pacific Sunwear Job Seekers Also Viewed

Forever 21 Logo
Forever 21

3.1

8,199 Reviews
Compare