Pacific Sunwear "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

Pacific Sunwear Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Feb 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Sunwear President, CEO, and Director Gary H. Schoenfeld
Gary H. Schoenfeld
550 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun/laid back environment (depending on your coworkers & management)(in 112 reviews)

  • "Nice co-workers and the employee discount(in 104 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bad communication between upper management to lower(in 87 reviews)

  • "The pay is minimum wage, which if you’re doing part time and providing for yourself just isn’t substantial(in 66 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment and great management at the store i worked at

    Cons

    Minimum wage and no opportunity for commission on sales

    Pacific Sunwear2018-01-30
  2. "Mundane and Overrated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Leader in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Encounter a lot of great coworkers who become friends for life. Recognition for work ethic.

    Cons

    Negative criticism when unrealistic expectations aren’t met. Will work you like a dog for minimum wage. Raises aren’t common.

    Pacific Sunwear2020-02-01
  3. "Love the people, pay isn’t liveable for part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Associate in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Pacific Sunwear part-time

    Pros

    The people I work with are incredible, I feel so well taken care of. I had very poor expectations as it was a corporate job, but the work environment was really great. Very relaxed work environment, they listen to their employees, one of the better work place environments I’ve been in. I’d recommend working here, but definitely get a second job if you can’t get full time. It’s more of pocket money if you get part time, I ended up needing to live off my savings for a little.

    Cons

    The pay is minimum wage, which if you’re doing part time and providing for yourself just isn’t substantial. The work itself is low energy and not very stimulating whether you’re doing recovery on the floor, register, fitting rooms, or shipment. Sometimes management struggles with being direct, I think out of sensitivity. So if you’ve done something wrong, they won’t always immediately tell you, and if they do, sometimes it’s in a round about way.

    Pacific Sunwear2020-01-13
  4. "I Don't Recommend This Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Grapevine, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's an employee discount, which is good if you like shopping at PacSun.

    Cons

    The location I worked at had bad management and also was apparently one of the worst performing locations and it was not hard to believe. I had to work long hours even off the clock while making bare minimum wage while my coworkers would often slack off and the employee who was appointed to lead and close with us would just be on her phone relaxing while giving orders. Overall terrible experience, but hopefully that was just my location.

    Pacific Sunwear2020-02-02
  5. "Loved my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Camarillo, CA

    I have been working at Pacific Sunwear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, good management, cool co-workers

    Cons

    parking sucks, minimum wage job

    Pacific Sunwear2019-11-21
  6. "Pretty good to begin with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy Job Nice work environment

    Cons

    Low minimum wage No benefits No bonus

    Pacific Sunwear2019-11-27
  7. "Pac-Sun Sales role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Holmdel, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discover new line of street wear brand trends ahead of curve. Employee discounted 30% for items each month. Cool working environment and laid back culture.

    Cons

    Small stores, shifts can be boring and less so demanding. Pay is at minimum wage, not the best or the worst.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2019-07-24
  8. "Great job experience but minimum wage sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    learn public speaking organization

    Cons

    minimum wage very competitive little to none job improvement

    Pacific Sunwear2019-04-23
  9. "Little hours, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Tinton Falls, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount on full priced clothes

    Cons

    Few hours, minimum wage, overall boring job

    Pacific Sunwear2019-03-28
  10. "DM turnover = :("

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Sunwear full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Moving up the ladder is super easy Discounts (duh) Depending on your store, super chill environment

    Cons

    Store manager is lazy and expects both ASMs to do a 3 person job Minimum wage is paid to all sales associates then are expected to do so much DM turnover caused us to go from a caring DM that let us have creative energy in our store to one that micromanaged us and expected 100 sign offs a day.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2019-02-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 66 reviews