Pacific Sunwear "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Pacific Sunwear Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Sunwear President, CEO, and Director Gary H. Schoenfeld
Gary H. Schoenfeld
550 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun/laid back environment (depending on your coworkers & management)(in 112 reviews)

  • "Nice co-workers and the employee discount(in 104 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bad communication between upper management to lower(in 87 reviews)

  • "The pay is minimum wage, which if you’re doing part time and providing for yourself just isn’t substantial(in 66 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fun Part Time Job!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Sunwear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. It's a super easy job, you really only have to fold, ring, and unlock fitting rooms. 2. The co-workers and management really make or break this job, luckily my store has the most amazing people and I genuinely look forward to my shifts. 3. The discount is really good! You get 5 50% off items per month and 30% off anything else. 4. Requesting time off is very accessable and not frown-upon, as long as you give them ample amount of time before they make the schedule 5. It's a really easy-going environment. Management honestly doesn't expect too much from associates since we're all mostly high school/college students.

    Cons

    1. You can get pretty long shifts sometimes. If you're doing a floorset where you reorganize the store and put out new merchandise, you can be there until 2am or have to come in at 5am. Black Friday can be long too! And depending on your mall, your closing shifts can be pretty late. 2. You don't get a lot of hours. It is a part-time job but there are weeks when you only get one 4 hour shift. Luckily, my store has a group chat and people are always giving away shifts so that's how I pick up some hours. I noticed that if your managers notice your a good worker, they will give you more hours too. 3. Bi-weekly pay. This is really annoying when you need money. Also, they give you a debit card and load money onto it (that's how you get paid) and the entire set-up process of it was super confusing. 4. Bad communication between upper management to lower. We are given these papers with how the store should look and has each merchandise in a specific place. But we never recieve the same merchandise that's on the papers so we have to improvise, and then upper management will come in and get mad that we don't have the same stuff that's on the paper. It's really not organized.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2019-01-02
  2. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Sunwear full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount is generous! If you follow current trends and have a love for fashion they have nice collabs and always stay on current styles.

    Cons

    Little to no hours given to support floor and have decent coverage. Pay could be better. Favoritism with upper management.

    Pacific Sunwear2019-12-14
  3. "Not enough."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Sunwear full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts on most items. Flexible PTO. Friendly team members.!Cafeteria on site.

    Cons

    Favoritism. Unstable work environment with impossible expectations from upper management. Last minute projects and deadlines are normal. No organization and planning. Toxic company culture that creates major distrust in employees.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2019-05-31
  4. "Upper management troubles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with schedule Office from home

    Cons

    Change in upper management. T regionals in 2 years.

    Pacific Sunwear2019-04-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Awful pay, and unappreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Sunwear full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Store staff, coworkers, and store manager are great. Discount is also pretty good too. PTO and benefits seem to be pretty nice too for a retail job.

    Cons

    Expectations are insanely high, and you'd better hope your DM likes you, or you'll be out of the company despite how long and hard you've worked. The pay is awful compared to other retailers, especially with associates and ASMs. Upper management tries to catch you off guard with insanely frequent surprise visits, and like to point fingers rather than offer a coaching moment. We are not allowed to do anything when it comes to loss prevention, and theft, yet are blamed for our shrink numbers. I've been with the company for years, and with the new direction it's headed in, I think I won't be here for very much longer.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2019-04-20
  6. "If you’re actually great at retail, then don’t waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun and flexible Great employee discount Trendy

    Cons

    No growth Upper management bypasses the real talent in stores, biased, and are not great at their job Unappreciative of employees No communication about your future Nearly impossible to get a raise you deserve Pay doesn’t match the amount of work you’re expected of

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2019-02-01
  7. "Seriously awful don’t do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount... kinda. Also the customers were cool.

    Cons

    Terrible upper management oh my goodness.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2019-01-11
  8. "To much work and not enought payroll or pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount on clothing. Management in store and all other associates ate great to work with! I had such a fun time working with them!

    Cons

    No life work balance. To much work with such little hours given. Upper management that I have meet are completely unprofessional! I mean who walks up to an associate and tells then that you don't like them or hear them yelling at your manager for something she can't control???.... They also like to keep promising promotions but never happens. $12 an hour? Im sorry but burger joints pay more then that!

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2018-07-26
  9. "Avoid at All Costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on product. Pay used to be good. That’s just about it.

    Cons

    Too much task, not enough hours. Upper management does not care about employee safety in high theft locations. High turnover in DMs, your expectations will change constantly. Lack of growth due to Company bankruptcy; terrible support to store staff, but able to put on huge concerts in the desert in California! Lack of inherent values to guide the business; HORRIBLE work/life balance. Operations take priority over helping customers.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2018-04-16
  10. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in White Plains, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Sunwear for more than 3 years

    Pros

    DISCOUNT! Advancement was easily obtainable, I learned so much in my position with the company. I loved my job.

    Cons

    Workload on such small amounts of staff was a bit much at times, but with such a transparent upper management they understood and set achievable goals.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Sunwear2018-01-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 87 reviews