Pacific Western Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Pacific Western Bank Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
46%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Western Bank Chairman & CEO Matthew P. Wagner (no image)
Matthew P. Wagner
13 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President Applications Manager in Chevy Chase, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Western Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and grow, tele-work possible. There is a lot of control over how to develop the applications.

    Cons

    No cons really. I really enjoy my work.

    Pacific Western Bank2019-02-06
  2. "Underpaid; Overly Stressed;"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Western Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Great Benefits * Great Work Hours * Annual Bonuses * Clean, Organized Look * Multiple Locations in So Cal

    Cons

    * Very underpaid for the amount of work and stress. * A lot of politics and favoritism. * Minimal amount of help from colleagues. * Very individual oriented, even though they preach teamwork for success. * Not very accommodating. * Lack of empathy for staff workers.

    Advice to Management

    It is a hit or miss with management and usually depends on the branch, If management understood staff as people working with them and not working for them I think the morale at the branch would be a lot better. A good manager is there to help overcome difficulties at work and not punish them or get mad for doing something wrong.

    Pacific Western Bank2019-10-17
  3. "great place to work; underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Branch Operations Specialist 

    I have been working at Pacific Western Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great place and room to grow

    Cons

    low pay and bonuses can be low

    Pacific Western Bank2019-07-23
  4. "Alright Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Western Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is a good place to work, great office location, benefits and overall friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    My specific manager created a toxic work environment and lead by the department by shaming employees instead of building each other up.

    Pacific Western Bank2019-07-16
  5. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Western Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice clients, work load is small, close friends

    Cons

    No training, low pay, no appreciation, high turnover rate

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your employees and be patient.

    Pacific Western Bank2019-07-09
  6. "Decent company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Western Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits and Pay Generally friendly internal customers

    Cons

    Management loves to micro-manage, Environment is sometimes cut-throat based on metrics

    Advice to Management

    Don't rate all your workers using the same metrics, they each have their own working situations based on their locations.

    Pacific Western Bank2019-03-03
  7. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Western Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Theyre great at promoting within

    Cons

    Not so great at giving reasonable raises

    Pacific Western Bank2019-01-31
  8. "Ruining the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Venture Portfolio Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Western Bank full-time

    Pros

    The remnants from the old square 1 culture are still fun, but corporate has done their best to destroy the awesome culture. Still a good place to work.

    Cons

    Management does not understand the Square 1 venture banking unit, and sadly has destroyed a lot of value. They are so focused on the deposits, but don’t realize that this can go away if employees keep defecting to competitors.

    Pacific Western Bank2019-01-27
  9. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Western Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company that took care of it's employees

    Cons

    The business segment I was with, was fractured and sold to Bank of the Internet

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good fight!

    Pacific Western Bank2018-12-11
  10. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Western Bank full-time

    Pros

    It is a wonderful place to be!!!!!!

    Cons

    Want to get out of Banking

    Pacific Western Bank2018-10-27
Found 41 reviews