Pala Casino Reviews | Glassdoor

Pala Casino Reviews

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Pala Casino CEO William Bembenek (no image)
William Bembenek
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free meal while at work and Snacks during breaks(in 15 reviews)

  • "Free food good benefits good bouns at the end of the year(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Employees are consistently exposed to toxic cigarette smoke(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low pay and compensation compared with similar companies(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Longevity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pala Casino full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pala is an ideal workplace.

    Cons

    Although the landscape is beautiful the commute is far from major highway .

    Advice to Management

    Take to account employees time and effort commuting to work maybe offer discounts on gas , oil change , auto insurance, tires

    Pala Casino2019-09-11
  2. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Pala Casino part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty decent pay for EMT in SD area. Friendly co-workers all around the casino. Free food. Some days can be really chill with little to no calls.

    Cons

    Management can be a little overbearing. Some of the tasks/duties they require EMTs to do are cumbersome.

    Advice to Management

    Less patrol duty for EMTs would eliminate the risk of EMTs being far away from an emergency call and taking longer to get there.

    Pala Casino2019-08-16
  3. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Supervisor 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pala Casino full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits for full time employees

    Cons

    Over worked and under paid

    Pala Casino2019-08-18
  4. "Ridiculous Rule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Hotel 

    I have been working at Pala Casino full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice Grounds. Excellent Amenities. Good Food. Lots of parking.

    Cons

    Poor communication. Pala will not hire you let alone interview you for that matter if you have earrings or are willing to take them out. (1 in each ear) Even though earrings originate from tribal peoplesand have been aound since 2300BCE. We are in 2019 now and they have an issue with it, LMAO. Do not waste your time...

    Advice to Management

    You will loose lots of potential career minded candidates because of silly rules which are outdated.

    Pala Casino2019-03-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience until 2018 lay-offs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Food Server in Pala, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pala Casino for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free meal Great benefits Decent pay Excellent co-workers, like a family

    Cons

    Upper management Bad financial foresight No longer a good company Terrible marketing

    Advice to Management

    Better training for managers and directors- many are promoted from entry level positions and have no idea what they're doing. Major layoffs in 2018 were rough- all of our managers were cut, and people with no management experience had to pick up the slack. It became pure chaos, and made the staff unhappy. I worked there while finishing my degree, and one thing that drove me insane was the grammar used in... marketing materials. There was a massive billboard off the 15 in Temecula for Pala that read "Smooth sailing to winning." I chuckled everytime I drove by; it should be "Sail smoothly to a win" or something in a similar tense. It just made the company look unprofessional. I work in marketing now, and I learned a lot from Pala's mistakes, even though I didn't work in marketing while I was there. I like that promotion is an attainable goal at the company, but you cannot promote people if they haven't had proper training or if they don't satisfy an education requirement. It's a company run by people without degrees or life experience, and it's going to continue to get worse unless they start to hire people from outside for management positions.

    Show More
    Pala Casino2019-01-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pala Pride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pala Casino part-time

    Pros

    Great family of people and fun place to work.

    Cons

    It is in the middle of no where.

    Pala Casino2018-11-15
  7. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pala Casino full-time

    Pros

    Great Work Environment, Health Benefits

    Cons

    Pay scale not comparable to other companies.

    Pala Casino2018-11-24
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Pala, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pala Casino full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really care about having a positive environment and providing excellent customer service.l

    Cons

    Bad traffic to get to the location

    Advice to Management

    Your policies on attendance are too strict considering the traffic situation

    Pala Casino2018-11-01
  9. "This is aGreat place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pala Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great support environment and really happy people. Medical benefits were top notch and management and HR department are kind.

    Cons

    No Cons I just didn’t want to work weekends.

    Pala Casino2018-10-29
  10. "Worst Job Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pala Casino full-time

    Pros

    They provide employees with one free meal everyday Ability to transfer from one department to another after 6 months

    Cons

    Set up to fail and when you do they come down hard on you Little to no management supervision They will contradict themselves at every turn No time off for aunt and cousins funerals

    Advice to Management

    Give all of your employees the same treatment that they deserve. Be available to support your employees and help them when it is needed and asked for. Do not make it seem like it is an inconvenience for the employees to ask for help.

    Pala Casino2018-10-22
Found 66 reviews