Palgrave Macmillan Reviews | Glassdoor

Palgrave Macmillan Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Palgrave Macmillan CEO Daniel Ropers
Daniel Ropers
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "great people work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Palgrave Macmillan full-time

      Pros

      Excellent community, surrounded by intelligent hard working people committed to academic publishing. Great location, good reputation, room to move up, supportive services, working with strong authors.

      Cons

      The recent merger with Springer has caused a bit of unsettlement, with new systems being introduced, but also provided new opportunities. Lots of turnaround, which seems common in the industry, workload can be quite intense, but also interesting.

      Palgrave Macmillan2016-04-08
    • "Boring, pretty basic job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Palgrave Macmillan full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Nice location and offices, good health benefits

      Cons

      Not a great salary, not enough diversity

      Palgrave Macmillan2018-03-20
    • "A lovely imprint destroyed by corporate greed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Palgrave Macmillan full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      -some colleagues are good -pay is decent

      Cons

      I started working here pre-Springer, and I loved my job. Now we are under Springer and it is terrible to come to work every day. Springer doesn’t care about authors, the books, quality, or anything except quantity and money. They cut cost wherever they can at the expense of the books. It’s been truly sad to watch Palgrave Macmillan be destroyed by another imprint. Don’t work here unless you’re looking for just a pay check...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Maybe care a little more about your reputation and your products than about factory producing thousands of books. Our authors hate us, and management doesn’t have to deal with authors so they don’t care.

      Palgrave Macmillan2018-02-12
    • Helpful (2)

      "Don't be another hamster in the wheel"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Editorial Assistant in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Palgrave Macmillan full-time

      Pros

      Amazingly talented and creative people. You'll have the opportunity to travel even at an entry level Editorial Assistant position. If you're desperate for an job after college and are fully prepared to settle... Palgrave is the place for you. They hire regardless of what you majored in. It's a mildly reputable company, especially if you're just starting.

      Cons

      If you would like to be tremendously underpaid and overworked, you've come to the right place. Most entry level assistants are working on 80-110 books a year and the starting salary is laughable. The quality of the books is poor and barely rigorous. I can recall multiple times where I read some of the material I was asked to submit to production and I thought to myself "How on earth are we publishing this? The workload...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please prioritize the mental health of your employees. There is no reason for teams and individuals to be taking the burden for vacancies that cannot be filled due to the convoluted practices of the company. Realize that Palgrave Macmillan is not Springer and the rapid decline of the imprint is directly correlated to the automated workflow that has been enforced as a result of the merger.

      Palgrave Macmillan2018-02-07
    • "Easy to get hired, but you'll regret it."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Palgrave Macmillan full-time

      Pros

      EAs don't have to work insane hours or on the weekends; if you like the anonymity of working for a big company it's nice. Your paycheck comes on time every two weeks; company is flexible about time off/sick time. Opportunities for international travel (mainly for editors).

      Cons

      The merger between Springer and Palgrave completely ruined the Palgrave working environment. Any kind of enjoyment anyone might have had in the work is long gone because of unrealistically high numbers for limited staff, innumerable torturous and exacting automated "workflows", and generally a "quality over quantity" approach. There are so many intelligent, interesting people who work here who are reduced to how quickly...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Value the books you publish, the people who write them, and the people who work for you.

      Palgrave Macmillan2017-11-30
    • Helpful (7)

      "Terrible work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Palgrave Macmillan full-time

      Pros

      The people are very nice (in the NY office).

      Cons

      There is no direction with the company. It has become increasingly UK run who seem to possess little empathy and understanding of their US co-workers. Rather than look for solutions to make sure everyone is happy, they continue to be baffled as to why people continue to quit.

      Advice to Management

      Communicate with your employees. They are people too. Not just cogs in a machine that have to put up with your bad decisions.

      Palgrave Macmillan2016-02-22
    • "Nice place to learn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Palgrave Macmillan

      Pros

      Everybody is very smart and willing to help share their input on various projects

      Cons

      industry is a little shaky right now

      Palgrave Macmillan2015-11-05
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good place to work - pay is low"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Palgrave Macmillan full-time

      Pros

      People there are really smart, but it's changed a lot since I was working there. Really organized and dedicated group at the time, though.

      Cons

      Pay is low, work expectations are high - as with pretty much all publishing jobs, they expect you to be able to do everything and then some, and do it thankfully for half the normal salary.

      Advice to Management

      From what I hear, there's a lot of changes happening, so I think good communication and expectations would be the best course of forward.

      Palgrave Macmillan2015-09-08
    • Helpful (4)

      "Great People Constantly Shifting Management Though"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marketing Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Palgrave Macmillan full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The people and the products produced. Some great cutting edge material

      Cons

      Management was all over the place. I don't know what it is currently like though.

      Palgrave Macmillan2015-08-16
    • Helpful (5)

      "Very Underpaid Publishing House"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marketing Assistant in Brooklyn, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Palgrave Macmillan for more than a year

      Pros

      Marketing jobs at Palgrave are relatively low stress and you do get summer fridays which is nice.

      Cons

      This is one of the lowest paid publishing houses in NYC. At least for entry level positions, there is no negotiating salaries at all.

      Advice to Management

      Make the salaries more competitive so your employees feel like their work is being valued!

      Palgrave Macmillan2015-08-05
    Found 26 reviews