Palisades Mediagroup Reviews | Glassdoor

Palisades Mediagroup Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Palisades Mediagroup Owner/CEO Roger Schaffner (no image)
Roger Schaffner
6 Ratings
  1. "Learned so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Digital Intern 

    I worked at Palisades Mediagroup

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere in the office

    Cons

    Not always something for the interns to work on

    Palisades Mediagroup2019-08-22
  2. "Overall Good Culture, Overall Bad Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Const Manager/Supt in Los Angeles, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palisades Mediagroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Comparatively this company had good work/life balance and they implemented summer Fridays which is when you can use up to 4 Fridays to take off or leave early. They were also closed on bank holidays. For the most part, easy people to work with and connect with even outside the office.

    Cons

    I was originally hired as a trainee but I went through 3 different supervisors in less than a year so my training was either never really complete or abrupted on several occasions due to internal politics. This is why I will say that with my position and minimal experience, I felt a lot of pressure working with a very lean team. With that being said, they also rarely give title promotions or pay increases.

    Continue reading
    Palisades Mediagroup2020-01-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, and would recommend to anyone looking to get into Advertising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Media Planner 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palisades Mediagroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Environment. All the people that work there are trying to help you learn, and most importantly are patient in you getting up to speed with all the responsibilities that come with the position.

    Cons

    Industry as a whole doesn't pay much.

    Palisades Mediagroup2019-05-14
  4. "Went well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Media Planner 

    I worked at Palisades Mediagroup part-time

    Pros

    I loved Palisades Media Group, the people there are fantastic.

    Cons

    Nothing! I loved every second.

    Palisades Mediagroup2019-04-01
  5. "Good Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Media Director 

    I have been working at Palisades Mediagroup full-time

    Pros

    People, Culture, Nice Office Space

    Cons

    Small accounts, high turnover

    Palisades Mediagroup2019-03-17
  6. "Your Typical Media Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Palisades Mediagroup

    Pros

    Competitive salary, nice people. Upper management cares about their teams. Good client roster. Growth opps.

    Cons

    Per the title, typical agency; competitive, money driven, mismanaged groups based on inexperience and lack of creativity.

    Palisades Mediagroup2018-06-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "The BEST company I've worked for by far!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palisades Mediagroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having worked in the advertising business for over 25 years, I have truly seen it all! I'm happy to have spent the last 14 years of my career here at Palisades MediaGroup. In my experience Palisades has been the epitome of what a true boutique shop represents and values, employees of vast backgrounds showcasing unique perspectives as independent thinkers, visionaries, and fearless leaders. This essence of Palisades to utilize our talent as individuals and a team has allowed me to continue thinking outside the box; strengthened my growth within our community garnering valuable relationships and lasting partnerships. And lastly but certainly not least, having direct access to our CEO Roger Schaffner all of these years, has always been a phenomenon!

    Cons

    Is it a con to have too many talent individuals working for one company?

    Continue reading
    Palisades Mediagroup2017-05-05
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Do Not Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palisades Mediagroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the benefits are ok, the pay is decent, sometimes you get free lunches

    Cons

    The turnover rate is huge as clients don't get the results they are promised and end up leaving. During my tenure, I saw three major clients drop and at least seven people quite or get laid off. As a result, they are always short staffed and digital has to work over 8 hours per day on a regular basis, without any additional pay or benefits. They had to downsize their operation to a smaller office because of this as well. Decisions regarding clients are made based on internal company politics as opposed to numbers or ROI. As a result, the decisions made lack common sense. They spend client budgets just to make commissions, rather than to generate ROI. Upper management is shady and does not tell the full truth to employees. They are not open about how well the business is going.

    Continue reading
    Palisades Mediagroup2017-04-28
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Bad for digital and creative employees, good for traditional media employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Palisades Mediagroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Clients are worth putting on your resume. - Good opportunity to get traditional media agency experience. - The actual office itself is nice, the Water Garden building is very pleasant. - It's common and expected to have direct interactions with the owner and upper management at all employee levels. - A majority of the employees are very talented and give good opportunities for learning and personal skill growth.

    Cons

    - This agency is not "digital first", most of the revenue comes from traditional media, and as a result that's where most of the priorities go internally, often leaving digital employees scratching their heads. They sell digital because clients want digital, but are very hesitant to invest in building these teams. - They don't have a firm infrastructure to service important "new" digital channels for clients, the social media team and search marketing team have seen crazy turnover as a result, sometimes every quarter leading a new team. - They're very slow with raises and promotions, some people going 4+ years without upward movement.

    Palisades Mediagroup2017-03-12
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Potential Ruined by Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palisades Mediagroup full-time

    Pros

    - Great People ( at the non upper management level) - Cool office - Good culture (for non upper management and below)

    Cons

    - Horrible hours for digital folks - Treat you like robots not like humans with feelings and emotions - As it's a small agency, they don't give a hoot about you at all - it's all about the client - Upper-Management doesn't want to hear you out or listen to any complaints - No one cares about you on the Upper-Management level. You are disposable to them. They give not one care about you.

    Continue reading
    Palisades Mediagroup2016-11-08
Found 13 reviews