Palm Beach County School District Reviews | Glassdoor

Palm Beach County School District Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 280 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Palm Beach County School District CEO Robert Avossa (no image)
Robert Avossa
57 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Principals do whatever they want(in 13 reviews)

  • "Low pay and benefits could be better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Food. Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cafeteria IS A Job I Love Doing I Have Did This Work Before for A&A in Jupiter, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palm Beach County School District part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have work for and agent working in the Cafeteria fixing breakfast and lunch for the kids

    Cons

    The downside is not working longer hours but that's ok that's good anyway

    Advice to Management

    Please hired me I'm a good and hard worker and reliable and trust worthy i would do my best to get the job done

    Palm Beach County School District2019-09-10
  2. "Your school decides your fate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructional Technology Support Assistant (ITSA) 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palm Beach County School District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job to get started in IT if you're good at figuring things out as you go along. Paid time off during holidays and school breaks.

    Cons

    The principal will make or break your experience. Some are hands off and others will micromanage you to the point where you aren't even doing the job you were hired for. The job was more about being an adult body to supervise the children than it was actual IT. You have to be good at figuring things out yourself because training is non-existent and support information is difficult to find at first.

    Advice to Management

    Let your employees do the job they're hired for rather than be at the whims of an overwhelmed principal

    Palm Beach County School District2019-08-27
  3. "Great district"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Palm Beach County School District full-time

    Pros

    Rewarding career with great flexibility

    Cons

    Coworker mindsets of resistance to change

    Palm Beach County School District2019-08-23
  4. "Choose Wisely"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher/Athletic Coach 

    I worked at Palm Beach County School District part-time

    Pros

    Building relationships with staff and kids

    Cons

    Administration support lacked in a lot of cases

    Palm Beach County School District2019-08-22
  5. "ELA teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palm Beach County School District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy and great work hours

    Cons

    not enough professional development activities that translate into actually being helpful in the classroom.

    Palm Beach County School District2019-08-12
  6. "HS Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - High School Spanish Teacher in West Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palm Beach County School District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Teacher appreciation day. Bonuses. Flexibility with what you teach.

    Cons

    Salary. Staff. Administration. Politics. Parents.

    Palm Beach County School District2019-08-21
  7. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Secondary School 

    I worked at Palm Beach County School District full-time

    Pros

    Training, benefit, salary, seminars, PDD

    Cons

    A lot of hours working

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Palm Beach County School District2019-07-12
  8. "Palm Beach Count School District Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palm Beach County School District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Availability for advancement. Good benefits and time off. Pension offered.

    Cons

    Pay scale does not match the job and work load. Some positions are unpaid.

    Palm Beach County School District2019-07-05
  9. "Teaching is Wonderful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palm Beach County School District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Teachers receive $10k per year for the next four years

    Cons

    One can become overwhelmed with the many responsibilities. One must learn balance.

    Advice to Management

    Give certificates, pens, plaques, bonus $ for every 10 Years of experience.

    Palm Beach County School District2019-06-28
  10. "Substitute teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Palm Beach County School District part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can work almost every day if you are flexible or as little as 15 days a year.

    Cons

    Have to drive far sometimes.

    Palm Beach County School District2019-06-22
Found 280 reviews