Palmetto GBA Reviews | Glassdoor

Palmetto GBA Reviews

Updated Oct 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Palmetto GBA CEO W. J. Johnson
W. J. Johnson
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay for IT professionals compared to other areas near by(in 6 reviews)

  • "Upper management knows how to promise things to CMS, but no idea how to do anything technically(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Medical Reviewer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PCC in Easley, SC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palmetto GBA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved my job. Worked at home it was my families dream job.

    Cons

    Reduction in Force laid off

    Palmetto GBA2018-04-27
  2. "Good food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant I in Columbia, SC

    I have been working at Palmetto GBA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cafeteria, basketball court, and corporate events

    Cons

    antiquated culture policies , inflexible structure

    Palmetto GBA2019-10-17
  3. "Medical Reviewer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palmetto GBA for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home Good benefits

    Cons

    Bad management Low pay high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to what your managers are doing to committed employees.

    Palmetto GBA2019-10-15
  4. "Meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Provider Relations Representative in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palmetto GBA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working from home was nice.

    Cons

    Senior managers treat employees as resources to be drained and discarded. Their preferred strategies to motivate employees are shaming and bullying, resulting in an atmosphere of fear and accusation. When senior managers consistently treat employees as if they were lazy morons, incapable of or unwilling to do their jobs, you have to wonder (1) why they don't hire better people and (2) why they don't train their... people better.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Empathy. You weren't born in a corner office. Try to remember what it was like when you had the job of the person you're treating poorly.

    Palmetto GBA2019-11-01
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palmetto GBA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunity for growth.

    Cons

    Lack of work from home opportunities.

    Palmetto GBA2019-09-05
  6. "Medical review nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palmetto GBA

    Pros

    Some positions can work from home

    Cons

    Low pay, lack of communication from management, poor benefits

    Advice to Management

    Look at your employees as a person instead of a number and keep them in the loop with updates

    Palmetto GBA2019-03-25
  7. "Auditor I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditor I in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Palmetto GBA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some work experience you won’t find anywhere else. Upper management have been there for 30+ years so there is a lot that can be learned.

    Cons

    Trainings are inadequate, expectations can sometimes be unfeasible, and pay is lowballed for the narrow line of work.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to give positive reinforcement. All my team does is work and work and work. There was never an email sent out from a manger to thank us for our hard work to meet their deadlines.

    Palmetto GBA2018-10-19
  8. "Medical Reviewer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Palmetto GBA full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth are great here

    Cons

    Some trainings can be unorganized at times.

    Palmetto GBA2018-10-13
  9. "PEA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palmetto GBA

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, nice facility and people

    Cons

    Contract work, unstable opportunity with frequent rifts

    Palmetto GBA2018-08-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Inefficient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Palmetto GBA full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, 26 pay periods

    Cons

    No time or resource efficiency that can become frustrating

    Palmetto GBA2018-07-30
Found 86 reviews