Palmetto GBA Reviews | Glassdoor

Palmetto GBA Reviews

Updated Oct 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Palmetto GBA President and Chief Operating Officer W. J. Johnson
W. J. Johnson
17 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palmetto GBA full-time

    Pros

    Salary, flexibility, opportunity for advancement, benefits, communication

    Cons

    There are not really any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Palmetto GBA2017-02-01
  2. "Flexible great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palmetto GBA full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility with holidays Competitive pay Great benefits Fun people to work with Challenging work Growth opportunity

    Cons

    Has slow periods Attention can be pulled many directions Can be hard for some to get promotions

    Advice to Management

    Continue to build inter company communication skills and encourage inter company team work.

    Palmetto GBA2016-12-06
  3. "Antiquated Policies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Statistical Programming Analyst I in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palmetto GBA

    Pros

    I really love my coworkers and people around the building are nice.

    Cons

    The company does the absolute bare minimum for you. I was docked on an annual increase because of my maternity leave. I also came back with a new baby and 0 PTO. Our "incentives" were docked because of high turnover and high vacancy rate. Irony much? The building is gross, the technology is outdated, and there is 0 flexibility. I had a great manager who lost people constantly because of how poor the pay is. The... higher ups could seem to care less about turnover since it does not directly affect them. The managers are the ones who suffer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try being at least somewhat competitive with salaries. Give team managers more autonomy. Try to catch up with the 21st century HR policies.

    Palmetto GBA2016-10-31
  4. "Good and interesting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palmetto GBA for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fast-paced, challenging, and innovative. Really trying to get ahead of the competition and starting to do so. Tries to take care of good employees.

    Cons

    Some corporate policies and HR practices are outdated. Fast-paced work can lead to burn out. Pace of change in industry is at times overwhelming.

    Advice to Management

    Try to take care of the good employees and eliminate bureaucracy.

    Palmetto GBA2016-09-26
  5. "Excellent Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palmetto GBA

    Pros

    Challenging career opportunities, outstanding leadership and competitive salary/ benefit packages.

    Cons

    Childcare is not available on site.

    Palmetto GBA2016-09-16
  6. "Claims processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Claims Processor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Palmetto GBA

    Pros

    Job security, room for growth, but you only get what you put in.

    Cons

    They employ uneducated employees and pay them very low wages. This causes a lot of work to be incorrect.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time selecting quality employees.

    Palmetto GBA2016-08-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "One of the worst companies to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Palmetto GBA full-time

    Pros

    There is nothing good about this company. The company employees can get jobs at BCBS, which is probably the best way to go.

    Cons

    Government contracts, employees get laid off, if the contract is not renewed. Government agents are very mean spirited and hostile towards the employees. Managers are treating their employees as slaves, and they don't really care. Employees who remain are the ones that are on retirement or on a long term pension.

    Advice to Management

    Scrap the management layer and start from scratch.

    Palmetto GBA2016-09-13
  8. "Provider Relations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Palmetto GBA full-time

    Pros

    Management does a great job of making sure staff are doing well not just in their day to day jobs, but in their individual skill developmento as well.

    Cons

    Not a con really, but it's a large company so if you want to stand out and advance your position you must be very proactive.

    Palmetto GBA2016-05-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Do not work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Palmetto GBA

    Pros

    I cannot thing of anything

    Cons

    The management is bad, no career opportunities, bad compensations

    Advice to Management

    The management needs to improve career opportunities, compensations, work conditions...

    Palmetto GBA2016-06-06
  10. "Provider Relations Representative/Liaison"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Provider Relations Representative/Liaison in Lexington, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Palmetto GBA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, great benefits, corporate culture

    Cons

    Contract work - always subject to renewal every three to five years.

    Advice to Management

    After investing in employees' education, find purposeful jobs for them instead of letting them leave.

    Palmetto GBA2016-04-12
Found 86 reviews